You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Homeschooling Journey: Lessons I Learned as a Homeschool Educator

in Home Edders2 years ago

Thanks for the curie mention! I love this post! I used to use the CM approach as well. Once I was homeschooling 5, I figured it was too hard to read so many stories at different levels and have narration told back to me. This introvert's ears were ringing at the end of the day! I love the approach though! We were using Ambleside Online and I had almost all the books up through level 8. I just love homeschooling and getting to spend time with my kids. I feel like I don't miss much in their lives. My two oldest went to camp in June with our church and I felt kinda crazy because I didn't know what was going on the whole time! Ha! You have some great advice. I love seeing another homeschool mama. I'm following you!

Sort:  

It's so nice to see another homeschooling mama who uses CM approach too! Yes, it could be too tasking to hear several narrations in one day. And if you're like me, we homeschool whole year round (simply because the kiddo doesn't feel the need for a long break because, CM) it could get too overwhelming. I am condisering using Ambleside next year because I've been hearing a lot of good reviews about that.

I thought I was overplanning now that I am thinking about stacking up the books for my kid's Year 2 (we're currently in Year 1) but you got up to level 8! I think I better gear up on those books now. haha

Yes, AO is really good. I loved that it was free and well organized. I even went to an AO conference years ago when they had it in my state. All of the founders spoke at it. It was really interesting and motivating. Those books only get more expensive! Better to stock up now or plan to check out some from your local library if they are available! We do year round as well, but we take off every Friday because life is too crazy on Fridays around here!