Our Reading Lessons: Breaking It Down

in Home Edders3 years ago (edited)

Reading.png

Big Boy Books

I grew up loving to read books, and that's what I hope my kids would be that is why I am so thrilled whenever I see my kids sitting and spending their time reading books.

Little Man has been enjoying reading time and our nightly storytime. We shared one of his videos we call D.E.A.R. Time here before as well. Now it seems like Little Man is progressing to big boy books! He now reads comics like Big Nate. :)

IMG_20210716_124059.jpg

The Importance of Syllables

One of the things I notice with Little Man's reading is that he stops and does not want to proceed reading big words sometimes. It's like he gets overwhelmed.

Several times I remind him to stop and "break down" the words into syllables to make the long words easier to read.

IMG_20210716_124148.jpg
con-vey-or

We would cover the rest of the word and read it by the syllables once then read it over again.

Thankfully this works most of the time and his confidence level also rises with the feat of being able to read longer words.

IMG_20210716_130119.jpg

The higher confidence level also gets him to read the book over so he reads faster each time too.

Compound Words

Compound words are other longer words that are easier for him to read but the same trick applies - we break down the words. Compound words also used to intimidate him but once we learned how to break them down as two small words, it becomes easier for him.

IMG_20210716_124826.jpg

Okay. It's bed time and Little Man wants to read now. LOL. So I really got to go now.

I'll see you again next time! Remember, when the tasks get too overwhelming, break them down into smaller tasks. You'll be done before you know it. wink!

arrliinn footer.gif

Sort:  

I recall doing that with my girls when they were younger. It gives them that confidence back.

The confidence really matters. It makes them want to try harder ones next. 😀

Aww it's so nice when you can see them making progress and nailing things that they were having trouble with XD

Yes. Gives me extra conviction too that we're doing something right.

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

Thank you. ❤️