Sort:  

LoL XD the sticky date pudding was so good, will be quite happy if he wants to make more at any stage XD He has currently gone on a bartending binge though which is a bit difficult seeing as he can't drink yet. He's trying to get us to buy a bartending set which would be fine if he wouldn't then nag us to buy the alcohol as well (which he wants to make for us but I'm the only one that might drink cocktails and I don't drink much).Have managed to somewhat steer him towards mocktails at least x_x

He generally enjoys the archery, not sure if he's keen on the class size though (quite big). I was going to see if I could get him moved to the later class which is smaller but I d on't know if it's still smaller and then he started chatting with some other kids so I'm leaving it for now and hoping he'll make more local friends (lost his last friend group due to the homeschool group breaking up and never recovering thanks to the panpanic, the one friend he managed to stay in touch with lives 40min drive away and teeing up is hard work).

Have you done archery too? :D

I think it's nice that he has interests that don't revolve around being on a gaming console, rude and surly or recalcitrant as is so often the case with kids these days. But yeah, maybe hold off on the booze for a little while. 😂

It's a shame his friends group broke up like that but I guess it's part of life as it happens to adults too. He'll bounce back and with a few activities, some involvement, he'll find a new posse.

I have done some archery, bow hunting, to be precise. Not a long mind you, and I'd not say I'm anywhere near an expert. I'm basically proficient at best. It's something I'd like to build on, but there's always so little time to get everything done.

My kids were generally rude, surly, recalcitrant and hyperfocused on their devices between 13 and 15 (15yo has pretty much come good, 13yo has his moments, 17yo was the same at that age), I don't think I do good 13-15yos XD

they're great kids and most other people tell me how mature and polite they are and how well they carry a conversation, so they really only do it for me XD

Both the boys want to try bow hunting. Told them they have to git gud first because it's super important they kill their prey as immediately as possible. Due to financial constraints that does mean that eldest won't have much opportunity to practise as the only safe place outside of the centre (ie somewhere we could train for free) is a property belonging to one of J's relatives that's a 4hr drive away.

I hear you on the so little time x_x

If everything could be taken care of somehow, what would you drop and what would you pick up? :D

It sounds like you did a good job with them and they have a solid foundation for the future.

Bow hunting is something I liked slot, but yes, one needs to know a thing or two as stalking the prey is required, getting close, and that isn't always the easiest. Then taking the shit needs to be done knowing one has a high probability of a kill shot so the animal doesn't suffer long. It's not for everyone.

Hmm, I don't think I'd like to give anything up to be honest, all the things I do are enjoyable. I guess the easy answer is giving up work though as I spend more time doing that than my hobbies. I'm not able to do so just yet though. I hope soon, but hope alone doesn't bring reality.

Aaaahhh I hope so.

I probably should have said it as "if money wasn't a problem" or something like that, I think a lot of people would drop their day jobs in a heartbeat.

Oh yeah, if money wasn't a problem things would be much different indeed.