Education Debate Challenge #4

in Home Edders3 years ago

It's been a while since we did a challenge and as we have an abundance of liquid Hive to gift the community, it seems an opportune time to do one.

IMG_20200802_130352.jpg

This time I thought we could have a selection of topics to choose from, so that hopefully everyone can find something that sparks their interest. So the topics to choose from are:

  • Do you believe the way in which your child is being educated is preparing them for the future?
  • What traditional frameworks in education are holding it back?
  • Is the way in which you homeschool the same as you thought it would be when you first started?
  • What is your favourite teaching/learning moment?
  • How do we learn?

Everyone is invited to take part in this challenge, you don't have to be a homeschooler and hopefully there is a topic for everyone here. Just leave the link to your entry in the comments, so we can find it easily. The entry window will be a week from this post going up.

We've got 200 Hive in the pot up for grabs, with 50-100 Hive for the top pick, depending on the amount of entries we get. We look forward to reading your entries and hope to see lots of people joining in the conversion on the posts, because we know not everyone wants to write a full post, but still enjoy joining in.

- @minismallholding


10% beneficiary of this post each goes to @mattclarke and @canadian-coconut for their delegation support.
HomeEdders image created by @minismallholding, logo created by @ryivhnn's sister.

~○♤♡◇♧○~

Supporting home education and educational content. If you’re a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we’re about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

Sort:  

The answer to the first question is potentially very short XD

Though I think most people would be smart enough to default to a long answer ;D

Would that be a yes or no answer by any chance? 🤔

You could always bullet point and answer them all here. I feel like it would be might more your style anyway. The addendum at the end was made with you in mind after all. 😁

!ENGAGE 15

It could also be maybe ;D

you do realise mentioning "challenge" or "debate" is one of the most effective and reliable ways to make me run away very fast right XD

I actually have nothing for this one (just a lot of partially formed ideas) as I'm thinking of a lot of other things ^_^;

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Loving this challenge and the selection of questions, will be getting involved for sure xxxx

Looking forward to it! 😁

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I'd like to answer this as a teacher, but don't know if I have time as it would end up really long. I'm probably reasonably placed to answer it given I raised a child and am a teacher, although I'm not home educator...

The transferable skills is a super interesting one in light of all the neuroscience.

I love that we're getting perspectives from all different view points. Wouldn't want it to be an echo chamber, after all. Started reading your post last night before bed, but was so tired, so I'm going to go back to that today.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

This is my entry for this week's challenge:
https://peakd.com/hive-199420/@sumatranate/education-debate-challenge-4-sumatranate-s-entry

I enjoyed this one. It was a nice way to start writing again. Sorry that I have been away for a little while.

It's great to see so many responses. I'm just reading through them now with my dinner.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Looking forward to writing a post for this! Thanks for the contest and I can see that there are already quite a few posts in the community I need to visit so that's awesome! :D

It's been a while since we were this active! In fact, this might be the most active we've ever been!! Have fun catching up.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Glad you could add to the debate. 😊

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Goodnight. Here is my participation in such a beautiful initiative. I hope I am not late. It is 7:28 p.m. in Venezuela.

Buenas noches. He aquí mi participación en tan hermosa iniciativa. Espero no llegar tarde. Son las 19:28 horas en Venezuela.

https://peakd.com/hive-199420/@tarot911/esp-engl-the-key-to-learning-and-teaching

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I've had a mental breakdown and I don't remember having posted my entry, so I'll leave it here since I didn't see it when I checked the comments... I'm sorry
https://peakd.com/hive-199420/@rafabvr/eng-spn-education-debate-challenge-4

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Feliz y bendecida tarde mi entrada:
PARTICIPACION

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Nice questions! I'll surely share my thoughts here soon. :D

Looking forward to it!

!ENGAGE 10

Hello, HomeEdders fam!

I can't believe it's been a week I almost missed the challenge! Since I just posted an article to the community, let me just put some of my points here at the comments:

  • Do you believe the way in which your child is being educated is preparing them for the future?

This is the very reason we educate our children - to prepare them for the future. Most of our approach is geared towards practical life applications like chores, character development, academics, skills (sports, arts, music, etc). Homeschool lets them find more about their interests and hone them hopefully to their advantage in the future.

  • What traditional frameworks in education are holding it back?

I'd say a lot of paper tests could be redirected as practical tests; how well are they going to execute things they learn and how they will be able to use these learnings in the real world. Personally speaking, there are a lot of things that we studied at school that I never really practiced at work.

  • Is the way in which you homeschool the same as you thought it would be when you first started?

We homeschooled to get more freedom especially in terms of schedule. We wanted to explore more and really "freestyle" our learning method. I knew it would not be easy to put our children's education in our hands, but being intentional at and make it an "extension" of our parenting I'd say we are are geared towards where we want to be.

  • What is your favourite teaching/learning moment?

At first, I doubted if I could really be the main educator of our children. Can I really teach them to read, write, do arithmetic and solve problems? To see my two smaller children's progress, especially that they never really experienced "formal" schooling, makes me feel so proud!

  • How do we learn?
    We learn my experience, by putting our hands to work and engaging the children to encourage the learning. We let them ask questions and we find the answers together. We adapt and adjust to the methods that work well with each individual learner in our little homeschool.

!ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @homeedders! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hi wonderful community and thank you for your valuable contribution to all our lives with so much of your content.

I may have missed the window to enter but I still wanted to share a little after finding this amazing community.

https://peakd.com/homeed/@lionmom/my-entry-into-education-debate-challenge-4-from-homeedders

take care