You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Surviving the teen years

My daughters were a little slow on the hormone development, so this came a bit later for me. My eldest was extreme. From that girl who always needed my attention and hugs to accusations of being the worst mother ever. She's 20 now and finally settled. I even got an apology of sorts and an explanation that it wouldn't have mattered if I'd been perfect, she would still have picked out the worst thing I might have said or done and used it against me. She was angry at the world, not just me.

My youngest is more like me and apart from the occasional mild sulk, her teen years haven't been turned on me. She's so over education, but gets it done. Her final years are getting her certificate of education via online schooling, so she has a teacher for that and I get to be in a support role. She realised one day that the being nagged about school work wasn't actually coming from me so much as her teacher and has taken more responsibility on herself for it now, instead of rebelling against me.

Sort:  

I have to say, that I have been around a lot of teenagers over the past several decades and mine are much easier to deal with than many I have seen or experienced. That being said, I believe nature knew what she was doing with the human growth cycle. When our children are tiny and young we hold them close as can be. As they get older, the time of puberty and teen years makes everything awkward for them, that they want to leave the nest, and we want them to leave as well!

That's what I was thinking myself when she was at her worst. It certainly helps you to let them go. 😅

From that girl who always needed my attention and hugs to accusations of being the worst mother ever.

I frequently encounter this.

When I was young, I thought I am living a peaceful world, but as I get old and learn how things are going through and learning our history it makes me concerned that the generations to come will still experience the bad things that we gone through.