Playdough Rainbow Fish 🐠

in Home Edders β€’ 2 years ago

Hello everyone!

We still don't have a program or a plan to guide our learning time, so we do things randomly depending the time we have available or my child's mood (and why not admit it, my mood too 😁).


These days have been quiet, we didn't feel so well and plus, in the last two weeks, the temperatures in West Romania were insanely hot 33-40Β°C (they still are). We have AC and maybe that's one of reasons we weren't feeling good but still, we weren't able to go outside and play, having our routine and time spent outdoors. The air is almost unbearable. β˜€οΈπŸ”₯


Here's an activity you may want to try at home with kids, it's so fun!
It's perfect for this season and you know that when playdough is involved, kids go crazyyyyyyyy!

20210906_101538.jpg


SUMMER TIME 🐠


Besides having something to work on with your child, this is a great activity to develop:

  • fine motor skills
  • dexterity
  • hand-eye coordination
  • creativity
  • concentration.

AND you don't need a lot of things.
You only need one peace of paper (with a free printable fish), a round cookie cutter (or something else like a bottle cap) and playdough.


20210906_094724.jpg


If you don't have a printer, than draw a fish yourself. You don't need to have high level drawing skills for this:D or even better, show your kid how to draw a fish and this is one more thing to add to the row.

By the way, @melbourneswest just shared in the community a few days ago a cool thing that maybe it's useful for you too. You can check his post here,in a few words they found a few YouTube art classes where the drawer person teaches people how to draw images. SO maybe you can use that to show your kid how to draw a fish. Win win!





We had some books as well on the table about the topic: oceans and marine animals. Fish.

We talked about where the fish live, what they eat, how they breath. Normally easy stuff small kids can learn and understand.



20210906_100424.jpg


My kid did all the work. He spread the playdough, do the cutting, used the cookie round cutters and than put them on the paper.

Fine motor skills power!

They can get creative, let them put those circles whatever they want. My kid chose to put the colors in the order you see in the pictures, didn't want to put them in order to have a really rainbow fish like ROYGBVIV sorted colors.

Let them be kids! Let them explore and learn!

They can make their own combinations of colors with playdough.


20210906_100933.jpg

20210906_100444.jpg

20210906_101349.jpg


20210906_100939.jpg

20210906_101457.jpg

20210906_101547.jpg

20210906_101553.jpg


So what do you say? Would you try it?

Or maybe do you have another ideas? I'd like to hear them!

Thank you for reading

love, Missdeli

Sort: Β 

Hey @missdeli. How are you doing ?. This is really beautiful. I love what you're doing with your kid. I can tell that you guys bond so well.
This is actually a good way to learn. You know how kids love activities like this. They love play and adventure so using such strategy in their learning is always very effective.

Thanks alot. This is good

Hello there! Thank you very much, I try my best here, considering my time and other things I'm responsable for. But I do put love in my time spent with my little one and our homeschooling journey.
Yes, we have a special bonding, as I like to think myself hehe. :D

This looks like a really fun activity to do with the little ones. Teaches them about texture and colours and anything that supports fine tuning motor skills is fantastic especially as their little hands grow they need more practice.

It was kind of fun, in the way that all those colors were really attractive, even for me:D so I almost wanted to do it myself πŸ˜πŸ˜†
And yes, playdough activities are sensorial activities which are more than perfect for the little ones. You said it much better than me.

I love the colors! They're so lively and bright. If kids don't get attracted to this activity, I don't know what will.

The molding activity plus the discussion part is a great learning experience. Too bad, outdoor activities are not too pleasing these days. Beach would have been fun. I didn't realize it could get that hot in Romania? Where we are(UAE) is scorching hot so we also mostly stay indoors.

Thank you!

QuoteThey're so lively and bright.

They kinda are, don't they? I loved this activity myself, almost wanted to print a fish for me too 🀣

And YES, BEACH WOULD HAVE BEEN FUN! But we don't have a beach in this part of the country 😩πŸ˜ͺ and yes, Romania has always been hot in summer but this year the temperatures were something out of the extraordinary. But still, since I was little I remember being hot in summer, at least July-August.

It's a bit harsh to stay indoors because of the heat...I LOVE SUMMER but my fav time period is Spring and Early Summer and Late Summer/Early September. Convenient right? πŸ˜‚

Indeed, when playdough is involved kids go. I love this activity. My son will surely love it. With that being said, I am going to this with my son tomorrow. Good evening!

Ohhh how nice to hear this. πŸ’™πŸ’›

Did you try it already or is it in progress? Definitely I'm waiting for a feedback in case you decide doing it. Have a good day!

Sad to say, I need to schedule it for another day, I can't find my son's playdough.

Ohh how unlucky! 😌

And I am still for the playdough until today (^_^), maybe I am just going to buy online.

well, thats a very good option..

Omg! My son loves molding clays and I think he gonna like creating some of these. I recall also the moment he asked for a playdough but it is hard to find some playdough here in our are that is why I just purchased some airclays..

Here's Haggy waggy that he created few days ago. πŸ€—

IMG_20220722_132309.jpg

Ohh how cute! I think it's very well done.

Airclay is something my child loves as well, not just playdough and definetely you can try this activity using it. It's almost the same.

And btw, did you know that there are some DIY playdough recipes you can actually try at home? You can google it or maybe you can try one of these recipes:

DIY Playdough | Easy, Cheap & Safe for small children - by @thisismylife

or

PHILOSOPHICAL PLAY | natural colourant playdough by @buckaroobaby

Ah thank you so much for the shoutout @missdeli <3

I appreciate it <3

Ooh don't worry about it. I just remembered it because it's still on my list to do it (probably one day when we run out of playdough or just because we want make it from the scratch with my little one). We didn't have time yet to try it, but I'll surely do!

πŸ€—

Oh yeah I tried to do some of this months ago. Loving one really loves it. Definitely would try again. I just have to buy some food colours once I go shopping.

How about those slimes and sand? Does your kids play it too?

Felicidades su publicaciΓ³n ha Sido elegida entre las mejores del dΓ­a.

SIGA CREANDO BUEN CONTENIDO.

image.png

Thank you very much! What an honour!

What a cute and cute activity, your son sure enjoyed it a lot. In addition, that the plasticine has so many benefits in the motor skills of the little ones.

Cheers

Thank you! We enjoyed it quite a lot and the talk behind it was excellent! Maybe you can try it with your girls, you only need plasticine and I think you already have that.

cheers cheers

That is too cute and creative πŸ₯°

Thank you Jane!! Appreciate you stopping by! πŸ˜‡