Back to School Themes

in Home Edders3 years ago


IMG_4902.JPG

I have very recently started preschooling my toddler at home. Mostly as a way to try to get in the habit of more playtime and less screentime as we hopefully head out the other side of this pandemic. But also to help build some basic letter recognition and fine motor skills.

I made myself a curriculum of sorts, based around weekly themes. Our first week was a back to school theme. We started with a basic colouring page of a schoolbus and added stickers for the passengers. My picture is shown above. My sons picture was a little more outside the lines then mine, but he had an entire story for all of his stickers.

IMG_4904.JPG

Some of the faces were sad, so he gave them donuts and tacos to chear them up and then added happy faces because they felt better. Some of them were "riding on the tires!" because going round and round is fun! It was neat to listen to him explain why he was putting which stickers where.

He's only three so I was actually very impressed with his reasoning, and he did a great job of placing his stickers.

We also read some books about back to school and worked on the colour yellow this week. The shape we worked on was a square. for our colour and shape work we played with yellow playdough. My little dude hasn't had much interest in colouring lately so we have been doing a lot more playdough and stickers. We also spent an afternoon playing with his little people school which was really fun.

IMG_4915.JPG

I have found that most of our homeschool time is spent just playing and making crafts while I talk to him about colours and numbers and letters. It is surprising how much he actually picks up on though.

I've learned a lot about his imagination and interests through this process. We take a much more tactile approach right now as he is more interested in things he can manipulate than he is in reading or colouring. I didn't realize when I began this, how much it would help me get to know my son. It's been a great experience so far.

I was impressed by how well he did with everything, but we did start off with his favourite colour so that may have made it easier! I have really enjoyed starting this with my son.

Our next theme was Apples. We did a few more crafts for this theme. I will make a new post for that one, hopefully soon!

Sort:  

That smileys on the school makes it cute. Your must have enjoyed sticking those smileys on the school bus.

It was a very fun activity! lol. I always find it easier to keep my son's focus if we are both doing the same thing!

Indeed (^_^)

Toddlers really like to play with sticking small paper cuts to objects like that and they will request for another round the next day. Thanks for sharing and God bless to your whole family.

The activities you prepared were totally amazing especially when you had the activity about those emojis which can help your child to know different facial expressions and to hear his reasoning is a key that your child truly understand and absorb whatever he learned.

Thank you! It was a lot of fun, and a very encouraging way to begin this whole journey!

Congratulations @near-mrs! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP