Our Homeschooling Journey: We are Officially Enrolled!

in Home Edders3 years ago

0001-18997268150_20210418_145345_0000.png

Yes, we are! All I need to do now is to submit that commitment paper and wait for the workbooks and we're good to go!

The search is over!

Last year, I attended a homeschooling seminar with one of the leading homeschooling providers in our country. I was actually planning on having her enrolled right after it. I already have the checklist and all, and I thought we are right on track, my daughter is ready and I am ready. Let's do this! But I was turned down when they learned she was only 3 years old at that time. That wa such a bummer. I really wanted to have us officially enrolled.

So while we were waiting, literally just waiting for her to be of right age to be accepted for enrollment, my husband and I teamed up. He looked online for a curriculum I could follow while I list down all our options for our homeschooling provider. And he did find a curriculum! That's the one we are using as a guideline now on our unofficial, freestyle homeschooling program.

0001-18997435518_20210418_150257_0000.png

I actually thought of not enrolling her at all. Since we already found the curriculum we could use until the more advanced grade levels, why the need for a provider still? First reason is that everyone in the family both my husband's side and mine have no background in homeschooling at all. We don't know a single thing about this stuff. All we know is that homeschooling fits perfectly for my daughter's personality and learning style. Another reason we still need a provider is because we wanted to make sure her LRN will be secured right away. As I've said, we don't know much about homeschooling so processing that needs to be done by the experts.

Lastly, I may be way over my head if I think that we can take on homeschooling on our own right away. I knew that we would need guidance amd direction at least on the first few years. I am thinking of going freestyle someday but I have to know the ins and outs first. I need to test the waters, as they say, before diving to the deep end. But Iam pretty sure we would want to homeschool all the way. At least that's the plan.

And so, using the subject matter outline that my husband found, I devised a daily study time schedule for me andy daughter to follow. It's a pretty flexible schedule with lots of activities and playing and cuddling time but I slowly incorporated serious lessons time. It took a while but as of writing, said schedule is working pretty well for us.

While that's happening, I went on and searched for the homeschooling provider that's perfect for us. It's a quick and easy search on the internet to find the homeschool provider that's most suited for your family.

Compared to last year, the list of homeschooling providers increased this year. Owing to the current predicament of the world today, I would suppose the families that are looking to homeschool their kids increased. A lot of regular schools added homeschooling to their programs. More options, more fun!

Things to consider

0001-18997326699_20210418_145657_0000.png

There are a lot of factors I needed to consider before we selected the homeschool provider we chose.

One of the things we needed to make sure is if the school has proper accreditation. The provider we selected is formerly a face to face regular school which means they already are accredited. Furthermore, we have a relative that sent their kid to that regular school so we somehow have a solid proof that they are legit.

We also needed to check if the provider will assist us fully in our homeschooling journey. That meant that there is an adviser who I as the mom-teacher can consult with regarding my child's progress. I know my child, but the adviser knows the system. And together, I and the adviser will be able to work together to ensure that my kid and I will have the best learning experience, thus producing positive outcomes. There was a homeschooling provider that has a very limited number of hours of consultation with the adviser. That's not gonna work for a first timer like me. And so we chose the provider with unlimited log hours. Of course I will not abuse the unlimited hours, but it's just reassuring that there's someone out there that will surely help me should I need assistance.

Books and learning resources are also deal breakers. There are homeschooling providers that charges extra for books and online seminars. I understand the logic behind it but if there's an option where we can get it with lesser cost, then why not? Soon, once I learn the nitty gritty of homeschooling, I'll feel a lot more confident in looking for our own resources. By then, this will no longer be part of our considerations when enrolling.

Is it worth our money's cost? I would like to think so. As soon as I paid the down payment, the adviser assigned to us immediately emailed me a welcome letter along with files that are extremely helpful with my daughter's learning development. They sent me a checklist to see where my kid is at when it comes to her learning milestones - she aced it by the way. They also included the syllabus which gives me and my daughter a headstart. But right now, since we're on nother curriculum, I'd like to stay the course but slowly add the syllabus they gave into my lesson plan. Yes, I have a notebook that says Lesson Plan at the front.

We will rock this official homeschooling! I hope so. Now that the search is over, we are sitting tight and are continuing with our homeschooling journey.


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

Sort:  

Wow! Even at age 3, your daughter can't be enrolled? Here in Nigeria, once the child has stopped sucking her mother's breast, the next thing is to enrol such kid into a pre-nursery school.
You have taken a good decision to educate her at home even before she attains the age the school requires of her and by then, she would have gained some things and also be perfect in some ways.

The preschools are closed due to the current situation and the providers we found doesn't offer preschool. They start right away at Kindergarten. But it's fine, preschool mostly consists of playtime and a little bit of study so we just did what we could at home.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for the tokens

Congrats mamsh! I know you're gonna rock this. ❤️

What's good about having a provider is that there's support in terms of accreditation and record keeping at the same time you feel more accountable because you know that there will be periodic assessments and submissions of outputs.

Anong curriculum nyo? Nag US ka or depEd?

Nag depEd kami. Mas pricey ang US curriculum eh. Kayo ba?

US. Umiiwas sa Filipino at Social Studies eh. huhu.

Challenge nga sa amin ang Filipino. Pero kailangan matuto ito siya magtagalog kaya ok na din na may Filipino kami. Pahirapan din ako nito sa Social Studies pagdating ng araw. Hehe

Very interesting post I didn't know you have to register with a provider to homeschool but it does make sense. I thought about homeschooling but my partner isn't for it and I wasn't too sure so it made the choice easier. Next year is my daughter first year at school we will see how it goes:)

It is important to have your partner onboard with homeschooling because it's a painful process especially when starting up. But it gets easier as time goes by.

i wish you good best of luck with it I'm sure it will be lots of fun:)

no background in homeschooling at all.

That's not uncommon at all! 😆 In fact I think a majority of us were in the same position.

What is LRN?

Homeschooling in the Philippines seems very different to what I'm used to seeing and hearing about here. It sounds like there are a lot of homeschool providers. We have some distance education providers here, but not many. I wonder if they are similar.

A new chapter is starting for you. Looking forward to reading how things go.

LRN is the Learner's Reference Number. Kinda like their ID number until they get to college.

I was actually surprised to see a lot of homeschool providers here. Our initial list had 8 choices which we narrowed down to 3 but then comw 2021, there were more options so we opened up the list again.

My daughter and I are both excited. I am nervous but at least I see my husband's 100% support on this journey. Can't wait to share all the experiences here.

Hello @romeskie, Your publication has been voted by Edu-venezuela. Your post will carry over to other curation projects for more voting support. Keep up the good work!