Why Celebrating Birthdays is an Important Part of Homeschooling

in Home Edderslast year

We had the honor of celebrating my son's fourth birthday today. 'Little Man' is the youngest of six and the only boy. What a wild combination!

Before I explain why I believe celebrating birthdays is an important part of homeschooling, there are two highlights worth sharing.

First, Little Man was asked, "How does it feel to be four years old?" He promptly replied. "I am not four yet. I have not had any birthday cake." Where does he come up with this stuff?

Second, Little Man had four important guests at his birthday party. When we asked who he wanted at his party, he said, "I want all of my grandparents." The last time all the grandparents were in the same room was at my wife's and my wedding. That was over 20 years ago.

2022-10-29_17-42-03.png
Image Source: Pexels By Pixabay

So, why is celebrating birthdays an important part of homeschooling?

Learning is not bound to a specific age.

Everyone reading this article knows this truth already, but it is good
to be reminded. All of my kids are like sponges. They are soaking up so much information, so much life, each and every day.

My wife and I have never held the position that education and learning are reserved for those five years old and older. We were pouring into our kiddos when they were infants and toddlers. We pour into them now, meeting them where they are at. We hope we continue to have the privilege and honor of pouring into them as they grow older and move out.

Learning is no respecter of age. From 4 to 104, there are still lessons to be learned. A fifth birthday might signify when a child is eligible for "traditional school," but it should not be the starting line of the educational race. Homeschooling families know that!

Home should be a safe place to learn.

My wife is amazing! She does so much to nurture and protect our family. One of the many amazing things she does is create a safe space for learning.

We have a room (a rather large one) in our home that is dedicated to homeschooling. But learning is not reserved for just that one room. The learning that takes place in our home is not bound or limited to a single location or specific space.

Learning pours outside of our front door as our kiddos rescue worms after a gentle rain. Learning is expressed in our living room by my children when they show off their choreography or most recent musical. And don't forget the kitchen, where life lessons are transferred from one generation to another, and the dining room, where we play games and have deep conversations.

The dining table where Little Man blew out his candies is a tribute to knowledge and stories that have been shared already and many more to come.

Learning is a team event.

Three generations of our family celebrated Little Man's life today. That was a fantastic blessing for me. Life and learning should be done with others. I will be the first to admit that I do not excel when separated and isolated from others.

And I would be arrogant to claim that I am the man I am today without the patience and outpouring of other people in my life. A birthday party is not only a celebration of life but also a reminder of the wisdom that others have poured into our lives. My four-year-old can not fully grasp this concept yet, but I hope he will someday.

Being with and learning with others is part of the journey! He should not learn in isolation. He should welcome others to help inform him and challenge him.

As our family celebrated today, we testified of our commitment to share life and knowledge each and every day, not just birthdays.

As parents, we have been given a great responsibility.

The number of themed birthdays I have left with my kiddos is limited. I can't imagine Little Man wanting a PJ Mask or Paw Patrol-themed birthday in 20 more years.

The time to impart knowledge and promote learning is now. What a great responsibility! I don't take it lightly that I am helping shape my children's minds and hearts.

I can either embrace the journey with all my flaws or freeze up. I choose to take action.

Dear parent or guardian, you can do this. You have value to give and knowledge to impart.

  • Don't give up! The future rewards outweigh the present struggles.
  • Don't doubt yourself! It is okay that you don't know everything. No one does.
  • Don't downplay your role! No one in your kids' life can do what you do.
  • Don't forget to apologize! Ask your children for forgiveness when you make mistakes (because you will). It might just be the best lesson you could ever teach your kiddos.

I want to hear from you.

  1. Tell me about a birthday tradition you share as a family.
  2. Are birthdays a family event? Or do your children prefer to celebrate with friends?
  3. Tell me about your favorite birthday cake.

Thanks for stopping by!
@sumatranate

Sort:  

We take off every birthday from school around here. We typically go to our favorite pizza place for lunch or dinner. The birthday kid gets to pick what everyone has for breakfast and we usually go to a bakery for a snack. We sometimes have a party with friends which usually involves cake. I usually make it because mine taste more "American" than the cakes around here. Ha! Whoever's birthday it is gets the red "You Are Special Today" plate to have breakfast on as well. I usually have to wrap the presents, so we usually open in the afternoon when nothing else is going on. Happy birthday to your little guy!

It has been fun to hear from both you and your child lately.

Family traditions can be a great bonding experience. I am glad that you all celebrate the special birthday person well.

My wife makes our cakes. It has been our tradition since we lived overseas. We found that local desserts did not feel like "home." And my wife always said, "If I am going to eat the calories, I really want to enjoy them.:

Homeschooling is a great responsibility of parents, yeah, and your wise should be a real magician to make it succesful:) I try to be her too;))

Birthdays are a family holiday for us. Friends can be invited another day later.
Cakes...no...we like quests! My son adores them, and he always asks us to create an adventure for him, he is 7 now, and since 6 he had quests as a gift, as one of the, and in the end of the quest he finds the main gift as well;)

Thanks for sharing about how you celebrate birthdays. It is nice that you spend time as a family first.

Having quests is a neat traditional. I hope you can have many more quests as a family.

Yes birthday is not just a celebration of life but it is also another step of learning for the kids.

When i was young, we don't celebrate birthdays with a lot of food because our parents can't afford it but still we are thankful that even they don't have a lot of money but they have a big heart to love us and teach us to be a good person.

You're right @sumatranate thats teaching kids the basic skills in life should be taught at home.

Yes birthday is not just a celebration of life but it is also another step of learning for the kids.

I completely agree. Thanks for sharing about your experience as a child. I am sure it was hard at times. But it sounds like your parents taught you to focus on the most important things - family and love.

Yes, food during birthday celebration is just a bonus of you were blessed in financial aspects and can afford it. But the most important gift during birthday is the good health and life that we have plus the supportive and loving family.

Agree with you! this we In this way we teach them customs and traditions, we also create memories with them that they will remember all their lives.

This type of celebration also helps them to strengthen their relationship with their relatives.

Making memories is such an important part of life. I have my children continue to make many memories with my parents thorough different celebrations and holidays.

Thanks for the comment!

Happy birthday to your boy!!!

Here is some !PIZZA and !CTP for him.

Thanks for the birthday wishes!

Happy 4th birthday to your son (^_^)

Thanks for the birthday wishes!

You're welcome (^_^)

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@dkid14(2/20) tipped @sumatranate (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Happy birthday to your son! We take the day off from school if anyone has a birthday and we get to eat pizza at our favorite place. We also get to pick what mom makes for breakfast - I picked waffles on my last birthday.

Thanks, @apanamakid. It was fun to learn how your family celebrates birthdays.

We usually do not take off school for birthdays, but we always try to make meals on that day special. Usually, the birthday person gets to pick what food is served for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

I appreciate you leaving comments on my post. Have a great day!