UNSCHOOLING BOTANICS: DYEING FLOWERS EXPERIENCE

in Home Edders3 years ago (edited)

Have you ever seen a BLUE narcissus, guys?
Me - yes! And we've made it by ourselves with my son!:)

Some days ago we were talking about plants with him. He wanted to pick a flower to take it home, and I explained him that it would die there because it needed water and soil like people needed food and water to live.

  • How do they drink? - he asked.

Well...a nice question;) I tried to explain with words, but then I decided to show it and make a great experiment.
USeful and nice at the same time.

We bought some dyes and made colourful water for some narcissuses.
I explained that flowers would absorb water through their stem, and thus the water was colourful, it would dye white petals, and it would mean water went there into this part of the flower. It would "drink" it in such a way.

My boy was so excited to see it! He likes experiments we make at home so much;)

So we started.
We took blue, red and mixed blue+red to get black (a mixing colors lesson too).

image.png

The flowers were white, as usual;)
image.png

The results had to be only in 24 hours, but first results appeared already in 1 hour!
It was first blue results.

JlMBOuSQq9k.jpg

But the complete picture was done the next day.

A blue flower was amazing!

tmHy-tu53rQ.jpg

qplC6xFkWW0.jpg

KyV5lLgECLI.jpg

Don't know why but red dyeing didn't work. I guess we had to make the color more saturated.
We saw results but very few.

jnjChOKfw-I.jpg

Black didn't work at all.

But this blue flower showed the process well, and my boy was very satisfied that he could dye flowers by himself so easy;)

Blue narcissuses don't exist...but we have made them!;)

Btw it's a great example that any kid of chemical substances are harmful for anything alive (nature or humans).

Flowers wilted very fast (you can see it, they felt bad), much faster than with clear water. It were eatable dyes but no matter, they killed flowers fast.

A good way to think what we eat. A good way to my son to see why his mom doesn't buy all these colourful and tasty things in markets;)

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @melbourneswest.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Ahh I remember doing this one, except with some flowers that had fallen from a bush (because I don't like picking flowers, feels like pulling hair) and it was interesting as they didn't always have the longest stems so we had to use some short containers XD

And we only had blue food colouring to use at the time from memory. It's a great one :D

(because I don't like picking flowers, feels like pulling hair) - exactly! I feel the same, uncomfortable feeling.
a great experiment yeah;) It seems to me it will work better with roses, or...maybe the same, amn't sure:)

One way to find out ;D

I wonder why the mixed colour didn't work. Perhaps it would work better with flowers only just opening. Maybe they weren't drinking as much because they were already dying. Another experiment needed, perhaps. 😁

Good though about them already dying, though it looks like she put them in the 3 different colors at the same time.

I was thinking that perhaps the colorant in the red dye is a longer or heavier molecule. It's also possible that it's getting absorbed in some way as it's drawn up that makes it not reach the petals.

Maybe, but the mixed colour was both blue and red and the blue worked really well, but the mixed not at all. 🤔 I guess the combination could have changed the molecules. Wishing I had a good kind of flower for some experiments myself, now. 😆

When I was a kid I did this with celery, no flowers to turn color but it will show up in streaks on the celery stalk.

I've never heard of that being used before. That's pretty cool. It's probably the only thing my husband would do with celery. 😆

Beautiful experiment and a beautiful way to explain the absorption of the liquid. Congratulations

thank you!

Aha ha! I love this and totally forgot about this awesome trick. We used to do it with celery sticks for fun.

I will have to do it with little miss she will love it and it's a great way to teach the kids about how plants drink water.

thank you!
I can say more - it's nice fun for adults too, personally for me - yes!;)
Now I wanna dye roses too:))
it's a great present btw!

What a lovely experience to do with the kids it is funny how black didn't color the flower

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

WOW - that's super cool!! What a great experiment!

Great read, this brought me back to my childhood, when I did the same experiment often with celery.