Home Edders | Memory | Brain Training & Art Class

in Home Edders3 years ago

I played "Memory" a lot when I was a child

You probably remember this game from your childhood as well, a bunch of cards, where you have to find the matching one by remembering what cards have been turned around. The one with the most sets, wins. Simple.

I always won from my mother, that's what I also remember. I liked the game a lot and I don't know if it contributed to my great memory that I still have, but suddenly I realized that we have this game in the house as well. It didn't occur to me sooner, because we bought this game a few years ago when our daughter was not old enough to play it. She seems to forget things quite often and that's why I told myself to start training her memory every day from now on.

Memory is a fun way to train the brain

I never found it boring myself, and was always determined to do better, and win. I can tell you that I've seen the same in my daughter's behavior when we play. I started playing this with her a few days ago, I won the first round, but not with that many more pairs than she had. I just won. I noticed her concentration was improving with every game! And guess what, right now she has won more rounds than I have!

Yes, that's right: My 5 year old kicks my ass at memory while I have a great memory myself. DANG! Just kidding, I'm proud of her, as I enjoy seeing her glow when she beats me again. I didn't let her win btw, she actually kicked my ass big time!

Great practice and quality time in one

She really enjoys playing memory with me, which is a plus on top of the fact that she's actually training her memory every day by doing so. I love how simple we can teach our children something without them even realizing it's good for their brain!

I'm super curious to see where her memory is at a month from now, if I actually notice that she remembers other stuff better than before we started doing this as well. I assume so, but I can always add some other games to the routine as well because I can imagine this will get boring for me when I have to do it on a daily basis for a longer time, haha.

Our memory training class inspired her

The little lady was so fond of the game, that it inspired her to start an artsy class in the early morning. The first thing she did when she woke up today was get creative. I was up later than my boyfriend and daughter, and heard her mention that she wanted to show something she made. I was curious to see what she created so I decided to get up and check. She came to me showing a few handmade memory cards.

Without having the time to wake up properly, she smoothly pulled into doing an art class with her. There are worse things waking up, right?

I was amazed by her creativity

Last week, I used cardboard (you see a the blue box from cardboard?) to make my own bead box, but in the end, I cut the cardboard too short and it was unusable for me. I gave it to her, and said maybe you can use it for something. I love to just give her something and see what she comes up with on her own.

She stared cutting the cardboard parts into little cards like memory, I can totally see how she thought of that. Pretty smart! She started to draw stuff on it, and most were actually quite identical. A few are a bit different, but I think she did quite an amazing job. And honestly, she thought about it herself, I just gave her a few tips and watched how she nailed this herself.

I love when she just starts creating something and it turns out quite cool. Sometimes she needs more guidance, but today she was doing such a great job herself. I'm also very proud that she automatically copies my behavior of recycling/upcycling things as well. I tried to use cardboard from an unused box to pimp my bead box, which failed, but I didn't want to throw it away. Now she's having fun with it. That's great!

Do you play memory games? Any other tips than this one I shared above? Feel free to leave a comment below..

Sort:  

The memory game is really an excellent way to exercise our brain and the flexibility of our neural networks, it is very good at any age, I really like the memory cards that your daughter has designed are beautiful that confirms that she certainly likes it very much and that it is something she shares with you. Excellent experience. Congratulations

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

Thank you for the support and have a great weekend :)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you for the support!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I was never any good at that game not even as a child 🤣 the hand made memory cards are great!