You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why the next bull-run will matter for Hive

in #hive4 years ago

I'm serious.

Is Hive a shit coin? I don't think so, not even close, but I've been investing in Hive and studying it for over 2.5 years.

Whats ur blind, no research definition of a shit coin?

If you are not in top 100, you are probably a shitcoin by most people's definitions.

People won't stumble across Hive when checking the top 100 amd they will assume the worst.

It's a terrible psychological barrier.

Who cares about the bottom 8000 cryptocurrencies? Only the top 100 matter.

Sort:  

Where do you think the new coins in the top 100 came from?

Hive is not a new coin, Hive is a 4-year old coin. Hive is a Steem fork representing by far the best part of what Steem was. It dropped out of the top 100 - not immediately after the fork, but months after - weeks after everyone powered down.

If this isn't a bad sign, I don't know what you think is. The fork volatility and excitement is over. The power-downs are done. The largest exchanges we can buy listings on have listed hive.

Sure Hive can get back in the top 100. Hey, I'm confident it can. However, I see the slump as a vote from the market about what Hive is currently doing.

We can't ask Hive users why Hive sucks, they are biased. We have to ask people who don't use Hive why they don't use it. Why don't crypto investors and people interested in blockchain and social media use Hive? Especially the people who answer 'yes I know what it is.'

No need to get hysterical.

I have the Coingecko app on my phone. There is no paging on the list. You can just scroll down the list. Suddenly we're not doomed?

100 is just an arbitrary number. It's downright silly to get your panties in a bunch over being below 100 rather than above 100 as if the difference between, say, the 95th position and the 105th was a make or break thing. Please do realize that there are almost 8000 coins now as opposed to 2-3 thousand at best the last time around when the bull cycle began. There's a huge deal more money in crypto as well given the stage of the cycle we're at.

I don't know if you were around in the fall of 2017. STEEM had gone from 7 cents in March to 2 dollars in June. Then it slowly and gradually came down to about 80 cents in November all the while Bitcoin and the rest of the top market cap coins had all the attention on them. Suddenly, the smaller cap coins including STEEM EXPLODED. In the space of less than two months, STEEM went from 80 cents to over 8 dollars. Smaller cap coins are like that. That's how the market works.

I know exactly how the market works. I've been a member of Steem since Nov 2017, an investor in crypto since mid-2014 and Have been an investor in Steem/Hive since mid-2018.

In any case, 100 is a psychological barrier. Let's think ETFs, the ones I know for crypto are top 10, top 20, and top 30. They all drop anything that reaches top 50. Waiting for an ETF that takes top 100 is a dream, nevermind, top 200.

It's a psychological barrier, that is my point. Our goal must be to get back into the top 100 and stay there. I don't give a damn about 99% of coins, it's often said that many will fail. Coincidentally, the 1% are now the top 80.

I understand being in the top 1.5% is not really a bad thing. But then again, I can make a token on Hive-engine for 100 Bee. Soon I will be able to make a token on Hive for 3 HBD. Most tokens are meaningless. I don't want Hive to be meaningless. Price is important. It's not irrelevant.

I too want Hive's market cap to reach the top 100, 50 and 20 or whatever but not because I think it's some kind of a devastating blow to fall below 100.

Cheers to agreeing with that. In any case, this conversation has helped calm my nerves and reassured me a bit.