Hive Related Stuff, Getting To Dolphin

in #hive3 years ago

Hello, hivers!

This post is about some of the things happening with me and Hive. First a bit of background about my time on this blockchain.

I've been writing on this blockchain for about 4 years and 2 months now. I started my steem account in about the middle of May of 2017. I first heard about the blockchain from a couple of people I was following on youtube at the time. I find it a bit interesting that 4 years later, I'm still here writing posts, and those people are long gone from the blockchain. They were among the many people who left steem when the price crashed. I'm still here for several reasons, some easy to explain, some not so easy to explain. One reason is that it's an outlet for me to write about my gardening and my various hobbies. Another is the challenge of trying to build up my account here on hive.

It took me a long time to get to what is now considered minnow status. I never had much fiat available to invest in steem, and now hive, so I had to build my account the hard way, by writing a post almost every day. I've almost never written more than 1 post in a day, I just didn't have enough to write about to make that happen. I was quite pleased to get to 500sp, because that meant I could use the slider for curation voting.

There was one period of time that I almost quit the blockchain, that was during the hostile takeover of the steem blockchain. For a month or so, it seemed like a waste of time to bother with the blockchain. When hive was announced, I moved over to it fairly quickly. I've been writing posts here on hive since then. I think I average 3-5 posts per week now, more or less. There are evenings when I just don't feel up to writing a post, and sometimes I just don't have anything to write about.

It's taken me about a week and a half to get around to writing this particular post. On the night of July 4, I powered up 15 hive to push my account over 10,000 hp. It took me 4 years of posting, plus converting my steem to hive to get to this point. Without powering down my steem and converting it to hive, I'd still be well below 10,000 hp. I think I had somewhere around 2500-3000 sp when the hostile takeover happened, and converting that to hive made a big difference in my account total. So, here I am, finally above the dolphin threshold. At this point, I'm thinking about holding onto some of the hive I make to use for trading on Tribaldex. At the current price in fiat, there's no point in cashing any of it out. I'll sit on it until the price is a lot more favorable before I consider trading for fiat. I have no intention of powering down any of my HP, that would just be moving backward.

As for other things I've been doing on hive beside writing posts, I've been trying to curate in a couple of my favorite communities. The first is the #catphotos community. This community has been around since before the start of Hive. It doesn't see much use, but for the past several months, I've been making sure that anyone who posts a decent cat post on there gets a good upvote from me. I don't really know if I'm the only one who is curating that community, but I check it every time I'm on the blockchain.

Another community that I've been spending time on is the #hivegarden community. This is a fairly new community on hive. This community is a good fit for me because much of what I post is about my gardens. I also curate that community every time I'm on the blockchain. I don't think I've seen any shit posts on their yet, so that's a good thing. There's a fair amount of food garden posts on there, and also a fair amount of cannabis related posts. One of the vote trails that I follow is for the cannabis community, so I usually already have that subject pretty well covered. I have that vote trail set to a straight 20% vote, so I know that anyone who gets that vote will get at least 3 cents from my account. I manually curate the other garden posts, usually with a 50% vote. I don't do a lot of curating on average, so a good vote doesn't run my account down too badly. I know what it's like to just get dust votes, so I try to be more giving than that.

One of the other communities that I've been interested in is the #musicforlife community. It's hard for me to curate in that community because so many of the posts there are Spanish language, and I don't understand the language. I'm sure that a lot of the posts are good, but I have no way of knowing. Some of the other posts are related to the Rockstar game, but I'm not a gamer, so I don't spend much time with them.
I have noticed that there's a lot of low upvoted posts there, for whatever reason. Perhaps it's just a lack of curation, I don't really know.
I could be wrong about this, but from my perspective at least, music related posts just don't seem to bee all that popular on hive...

I only have 4 or 5 people on my favorites list. Those people are on my favorites list because they don't post very often and I don't want to miss a post from them. I don't curate every day, so that's a real possibility if someone is not posting regularly.

Well, that's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to read it!

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

You arrived a couple of months before me, then. I've always known you as a gardener/homesteader here and feel like you are one of the few early people from that community still around. I'm glad you stuck around, we've had many come and go.

Are you contemplating the next step to orca, or is that too far off?

Yeah, orca feels like it's way off in the distance right now. I'll keep on working at it though, perhaps I'll get there eventually.

I started in January 2018 and had set up a schedule with topics to post once a day. Then when we started construction in 2019, I made 2 posts usually, one on farm stuff and a construction update. There were days when a lot happened or I had a lot of photos, and would make up to 4 posts in a day.

I also was unhappy about the whole steem thing and was an early mover to hive. I made dolphin a year ago. I'd made it to minnow in a couple months in 2018, but I never put anything into steem, just earned all that's there. I took out a couple hundred dollars early in 2018 and have not taken anything out since then.

I use the blog to keep friends and family updated about the farm, etc. I was on FB but they were blocking people from seeing the posts, so I left. The blog will also serve as a memory for me, as mine is ruined by Lyme disease.

Yeah, FB is a real shit show these days. I'm only still there because of the hobby groups that I follow. So far, I haven't found any hobby groups on hive for my hobbies, such as model railroading. I thought about starting one, but I might end up being the only one participating, not much point in that.

I started my steem account in about the middle of May of 2017.

Me too. On 2017.05.17. Nowadays I am getting close to minnow status.

I first heard about the blockchain from a couple of people I was following on youtube at the time. I find it a bit interesting that 4 years later, I'm still here writing posts, and those people are long gone from the blockchain. They were among the many people who left steem when the price crashed.

I have similar experience. I have found the Steem blockchain by searching for a GPU related thing on the Google, and I found an article on Steemit. I realized that it is Steemit only after reading the post. Seeing the money earning opportunity, I immediately registered. Nowadays I have more than 1300 followers, but most of them are inactive nowadays. They left the platform long months/years ago.

I just didn't have enough to write about to make that happen. I was quite pleased to get to 500sp, because that meant I could use the slider for curation voting.

There were interfaces, where you could use the slider even below 500 Steem power. For example busy.org and eSteem (nowadays the latter is still working under the name of Ecency, which uses the Hive blockchain).

There was one period of time that I almost quit the blockchain, that was during the hostile takeover of the steem blockchain.

I had many periods like that. Even nowadays. But not because of the price crash, nor because of the hostile takeover of the Steem blockchain. Because of the lack of visibility and interaction. And this affects not just/only me, but most of the users. Probably this is also a huge reason why many people are leaving and already left the Steem/Hive blockchain.

Yes, I think that gaining visibility is one of the hardest things to do on hive as it was on steem. I really don't have any ideas about how to make that easier for the people just starting on this platform.
I think that communities may be one of the better ways to get your posts seen, especially the specialty communities. A general community such as proof of brain tends to be clogged with posts, where a community like hive garden community currently gets relatively few posts per day. It's easier to curate 10 posts a day in a community rather than 100 posts a day, so it's easier to get seen in a specialty community.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations! Everything becomes exponential at a certain point when it comes to HP growth. I also remember the 500sp milestone with my own account years ago.
Im so glad I took a year and a half off steem/hive. I went way too hard from Dec. 2017-2019. Of course my health issues didn't help either.
Way to stick with something like an investment and grow it exponentially the way a smaller stake owner is intended on doing...
But yeah the steem hardfork is currently helping me grow my account as I am choosing to double my HBI shares with the power downs in doing. It will make my past investments not as stupid when buying in at such high prices.
Keep on leading the way and growing your investment tree into a forest!

Thank you!
I really should get more shares of HBI myself...

Your name is on our list for shares if im voting on ya😉
But since your a big baller dolphin it would hurt to go heavy on your own accord with HP via delegation😄
untitled.gif

Actually, I've thought about delegating some of my HP to a couple of places, but I haven't decided to yet. One reason is that if I delegate, I lose that percentage in my personal upvote power. Following a vote trail seems to make more sense financially. Probably after I add a couple hundred more HP to my total, I'll be able to make some delegations and still stay above 10 thousand for my on upvote use.
If I remember correctly, I think delegating to HBI offers certain small rewards, I should check into that again.

You get bonus shares. Talking to @josephsavage at @steembasicincome can be confusing because its such a dynamic program with all these key levels of investment/membership and % of weighted upvotes given for each level etc.

Basically, a 1,100 HP deli to @steembasicincome gives me 638 shares of HBI.

As opposed to buying 1 hbi share at the cost of 1 Hive and that 1 hbi share includes the bonus hbi share you give to a friend.

That's a big chunk of shares for sure!

Yeah if you have the HP to tie up, than delegation makes a lot of sense. That way you can take back your deli of your not happy😀

Happy belated Hiversary! I am almost there, both to the dolphin mark and the 4 year mark. Though our votes may be some cents now, if the price ever goes up us dolphins will be able to drop nice votes on people, which I will super enjoy. :D

Yes, it would be awesome to be able to drop a 50 cent vote on a post and not even be a 100% vote!