Today's comment turned post.

in #hive3 years ago

image.png

The following quoted text is only not mine where it has a double inset.
It is a comment from this post.
Jeebus.
Grammar nazis.

Thanks for taking the time to respond.
I was not aware that the curation snipers could impact rewards that much, but I've been asking for a long time, just not the right people, apparently.

If we could get some light shed on these various curves it would alleviate some of the speculations occurring.
This is the only comprehensive post on curation I am aware of, and, as you can see, it is woefully outdated.
I do have this one however, and it shows the impact of large votes on the rest of us.

There has been an ongoing reluctance by the folks in the know to spread the math out so that all can grok it.
If you know somebody that can do that, or just supply me with numbers to my questions and I can do it, that would be a big help to alot of people that have been run off by bumping into the same walls I have.

I was here when you said that you would do maximizing, too, because allowing only 'them' to do it would be worse, that has been a burr in my saddle blanket this whole time.
I hope I'm reading the winds right when I say that that time has passed.
The one who's name we don't speak has abandoned ship, to whatever degree he is actually gone.
Now can we have rational, adult conversations about how to manage this less than 10k people we have here?

if you've checked some front-runners and maximizers, you'll notice that most will vote with very tiny percentages on popular posts they know will get past the threshold

How is that stopped dead in it's tracks?
(Mark me as strongly opposed to any maximizers getting any rewards, that leave the system.)

but then you have the bigger accounts who'll try to vote first on posts with very low rewards if they themselves (or with the accounts in their possession) can get the post to just pas the threshold

So, shouldn't they be voting mostly comments?

, I'll know that if I cast it a say 100 hive ~31hbd vote, most of that 84 hive ~26hbd will not be giving me great returns than say if I had cast 5x 20 hive ~6.25hbd votes instead.

Did I do that math right?

Am I the only one that sees the glaringness of what is being complained of here?

This, above all else, imo, is what is holding Hive back.
Instead of valuing authors with your curation, you, and many others apparently, only care about yourself.
If that isn't recognized as an issue, we need to shed some light on it, iyam.

Maybe if you fellas, and gals, concentrated on rewarding commenters you could mitigate some of what you take from our whole, while stiffing the other maximizers.
Am I the only one seeing this?

Is it not true that the value being scraped from our less than 31hbd votes, and <6hbd posts, goes mostly to the folks with 31 hbd votes, and the people they vote on?
Oh, and the scavengers that front run them?
Is this math still correct?

Where are @abit and @smooth and their experiment, when we need it?
Oh,yeah, we decided to reward the top instead of go viral, that's right.

It should be clear at this point that maximum millionaires are not interested, perhaps we should try to be more attractive to the people that actually do give us a try?

I didn't want you to miss that, dear reader, it's not like I can tag it with !drama, though, if you follow !popcorn's comments you will find some things somewhat salaciously tabloidal.

Did you check out that @statsmonkey post?

Below is a screencap from it.

image.png

33.12% of the daily pool taken by 10 votes.

Let that sink in for a while.

You know what made them stop self voting?
Those folks that were here complained.

Does this, and a couple other things, make you question being here at all?
It does many of those that left.
Who buys into a con like that?

Our only way out is time and buying more hive, kinda depressing, iyam.

We are having a membership drive in these discords.
If you want a voice in the consensus join them, and be one.

HiveDownvoteRewards: https://discord.gg/yfd95Sy
hivewatchers: https://discord.gg/QqyrCCf
Hive General: https://discord.gg/SUwJ2s2

These are public rooms managed by private people for the benefit of everybody using the blockchain.
What they do is voluntary, but openly public.
Don't abuse their willingness to work for the collective for what little we give them, eh?

image.png

Sort:  

Hmm...I wasn't aware dtube is still such a big voter. I remember some complaints back when they lost the mrdelegation delegation, but I guess they bounced back.

@statsmonkey was a wonderful resource, they ran him off when his data in my posts started to get questions asked.

I never was a fan of dtube, their creator was pretty abrasive.

So is your screenshot back from when they still had their big delegation?

I never found dtube very workable, to be honest.

Yes, that is Mar '18.

I haven't been impressed with any of them, yet.
I haven't really used vimm.tv because I don't stream, but watching those assortments of folks reap the pool, and we got bupkiss for it, kinda chaps my hide, too.
All hail, stinc!

How is that myopia walk back working?

I keep meaning to do an update. I've got some new weaker glasses on the way and I've gotten rid of the astigmatism, so just standard steps down now. It's a slow process, probably not helped by too much computer time. I notice a big difference when I've been out all day and driving a lot.

!ENGAGE 30

So, it is true that glasses make things worse.
I always wondered.
I keep hoping one day I wake up and forget to put them on and don't notice the difference.

As long as there isn't any underlying issue and it's just the muscles, then yes, glasses only compound the issue. Unfortunately, unless your myopia is low, just stopping wearing them isn't a good idea. Although some days I do wake up and forget to put mine on, then wonder why my eyes aren't working. 😆

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Our only way out is time and buying more hive,

No, it's not...

Other than quitting.

I've never come across a war, where there's been no casualties.

War tends to end when the pain endured, is more, than the perceived rewards of continuing the action.
People that aren't prepared to stand up and be shot at, are not prepared to fight - it's just hot air.
War costs , it doesn't matter if you're on the winning , or the losing, side.

The only question becomes - are you willing to pay the cost for the potential win?
The answer (in terms of a social media site and not as a financial cryptocurrency product) , is glaringly simple - and devastatingly effective.

I'll head it up if I get the support. (support = $400 a month for six months - that, I think, would be more than enough time to snap some egg shelled ego's into submission)
I'm not here for 'the collective', I'm here for me.(as you know.lol)
I'll head up 'the collective' in this regards - why? Because I'm being paid to do it (and probably one of the 'better people' suited for this type of the job).
Incentives work, and if my financial goals also aligned with 'the collectives' ambitions, so be it.

You know I like the scrap! lol

You can't make an omelette without breaking eggs - and TBTB like the eggs just as they are - and they have no incentive to break any.

You can't risk upsetting the status quo, without expecting some conflict. Harping on about it, on here, is like voting.
If it made any difference, it would be illegal.
(my head still has the bruises from trying that naive strategy).

I'd give it to you if I had it to spare, but this is a shoestring operation in need of being bootstrapped.

I know you have stayed away from some of the more social aspects of this ecosystem, but we really need you to help ride herd on some of the autocrats around here.

You have to do it because you think it ups the value of your stake, though.
Or because you want to demonstrate your superior logical rhetoric.
https://discord.gg/QqyrCCf

I agree that it will take a community effort to free us from the people that think like hivewatchers do, I hope you join us.
The way we get that is drawing attention to their excesses.

Now, if you know where I can get the data to replicate @statsmonkey's reports, and this one, I would send some ducats for that.

I m not asking you to give it me. thast the opposite actually...
The hint was in '4 or 5 hundred people' subscribing - (@ 1 a month for six months ?)
If it comes through upvotes, that's fine to - commitment is what matters..(I doubt that my upvotes will be very high, somehow - if we do this...lol)

You have to do it because you think it ups the value of your stake, though.

I'm not here for the stake size reason, and don't have to do anything - it's because I want to do it.

Or because you want to demonstrate your superior logical rhetoric.

Appealing to ego is a very poor strategy with me.

The way we get that is drawing attention to their excesses.

No it's not.

Ok, I'm listening.

But I'm not saying anything - yet...so how does that work? lol

Go recruit the army...

Their autocracy will end.

Help me by bringing attention to it.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

I'm looking at appealing to their better instincts.
If I can demonstrate how a poor attitude inflicts damage on their roi, the changes would look automatic.

We have to show that these 'f**k the poor' policies cost them in the end.

If I can get something beta tested here, we can branch out and maybe find our own utopias in real life.
Tptb's, too, if they weren't so dense.

Rule by force is the disease, peacefully ceding power is the elegant solution.

But, good luck with talking a bully into that.
They likely couldn't spell elegant, if they knew what it meant.

Yes, but while it is forced upon us there is no reason to not profit where we can.
If this chain is gonna pay us to spout brain droppings, that is pretty amazing, if you ask me.

We can also remind folks that we only work this hard because the banksters they support make it this way, we could be living in full luxury communism.
Instead we are forced to grovel for our gruel.

If you look around on that guy's blog, he has some good architecture of how a world without money looks.

Take it easy on the commies, they differ from the socialusts, which need pushback, because they use force.
A 'real' communist, one that has read more than marx, won't use force.
If the ideas presented are not freely chosen, get better ideas.

What you should be looking at is surviving the coming micro nova.
That will be much more important over the next 20 years than convincing people using violence to control others is bad.

When our star spits out planet size masses, and some fragments of that hit us, while flipping the poles and sending the oceans running to the new low spots, we will not care that a few schmoes on the interwebz couldn't escape their mind controlled prisons.

https://invidious.kavin.rocks/watch?v=B_zfMyzXqfI&list=PLHSoxioQtwZfY2ISsNBzJ-aOZ3APVS8br&index=2&t=0s&local=true&dark_mode=true&autoplay=0

@jang does the daily news report.