You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Brit List - September 2021

in #hive3 years ago

I think so too. Still amazing how few active (and known about) UK accounts there are. I have brought a fair few people here but all of them left/ignored/got confused after a very short time. I wonder what needs to happen to get them back. I fear money and price isn’t a sure fire way. It seems to be convenience and learning something new.

Anyway, good stuff! Keep on with it, we appreciated what you’re doing in place of Pennsif

Sort:  

It's a shame @pennsif doesn't want to use Hive. I don't know what drove him away. The apps have improved and I think Hive is easier to use than when it started. It is different to other platforms, but many non-techie people manage to use it. I think engagement matters as people need to see feedback. We need to reach some critical mass where that improves.

!PIZZA

I am still about. Just watching and learning.
Busy on a couple of new IRL eco-projects at the moment.

Good to hear it. Hope all is well. We miss you.

I think what really happened is he also fell pray to down voting and decided to leave. You can see from the last post by him exactly what happened pretty much.

He still made more than most people on that post. I know he is active on 'the other site' and that will not make him friends here. Don't seem to be many active Brits over there, but it's his choice. Hope you are well.

You say that as someone with a very well paid full time job. I doubt it’s possible to live off 18 dollar posts every few days. His life is these sites from what I see he is a very active member of discord, he runs radio shows, interviews people ( thars how I interacted with him), researches the sites and posts. You have never been down voted either I don’t think.

I don’t think you understand the psychological affect when someone works really hard on a post, gets good rewards and has them snatched away st the last minute just because someone who has more stake than most on the site, personally doesn’t like them. We will never agree on this I don’t think and I will never engage with anyone who downvotes others and takes away their livelihoods. To me it is morally repulsive. Each to their own of course I can’t stop someone from doing it but I will not engage with anyone who does it.

Well I have downvoted lots of people on Hive, but that is because they are actively abusing the platform with plagiarism or excessive self votes. I do not generally do it for differences of opinion.

The community have to moderate the platform as nobody else is going to do it. That is how it was designed. There are finite rewards to share out each day and we want them to go where they are deserved. Of course opinions will vary on what deserves rewards and we have lots of people with strong/radical opinions. Your case of losing big rewards was down to someone thinking that rancho/haejin is not serving Hive well with their votes. I know that hurt, but I can see you are doing much better than most people.

You can argue about what deserves rewards, but it is not necessarily about how hard you work or what it cost to create something. I'm sure you can sell your art anyway. Hive is something new and radical. It is bound to have issues along the way. Why not just enjoy this extra income you would not have otherwise?

I don't think the downvote mechanism will radically change despite some people crying for change. Many of them will be like you and got the odd big DV after getting some big upvotes. I just saw someone complaining when they still made over $100 on the post.

Stay well.

You have never been down voted either I don’t think.

We both get downvoted daily, if you only knew.

It's rare that someone is downvoted due to being disliked, especially by an account with a large stake.

As Steve says, daily rewards/inflation is finite and it's generally a disagreement over payout.

Posting multiple times a day can easily be seen as being greedy, as could posting on Hive and Steem (many large accounts had all their Steem stolen so you can see why they don't like this).

Downvotes are essential, but those who haven't spent days tracking circle-jerks and crazy self-voting don't really understand this.

Never downvoted? LOL! I bet I've had it more than you, but other people support me because I contribute to the community. Yes, I have other income, but I have put a lot of effort into Hive because I give a shit about it. Some people retaliate when I act against their abuse. Complaining about the system that has given you $300 on a post seems a bit ungrateful.

Screenshot_20180424-082006.png

I will keep tuning in...

Yeah I wonder sometimes. I occasionally peak over on Steem to see what’s going on. Seems not very much. He still runs updates over there but I’m not sure who for. He doesn’t get much real engagement - mainly random looking Chinese bot accounts and the occasional real comment, it seems.

His posts seem well rewarded by whales. Other than that I don’t see the appeal, personally.

Would be great to see him back here 😀
Maybe one day.

You’re right, things are getting easier to use.
But I find that the idea of keys and long strings on random characters puts people off from logging in. Even though there are many log in options (like Ecency passcode and PeakD browser extension) they just don’t like the unfamiliarity.

I love Hive. It’s exciting to be a part of and the basics can be picked up if you just simply try. Facebook and Twitter have set the standard for convenience, and Hive needs to match that somehow.

The keys are not really avoidable with blockchain, but I rarely see them after setting up Keychain. That makes it really easy to use the various dapps, but I do think there should be more branding of Hive as a platform as people can be using something like Splinterlands without realising they could log into the others.

We need good tutorials to get people started and those need to be easy to find. I'm sure the community could put something together. Hive.blog and peakd do have some of that already.

Bear in mind that the developer teams are tiny compared to the big sites. They have to focus their efforts on what matters most. I know peakd are looking into usability.

Absolutely, keys are fundamental but to new people they are definitely intimidating and a bit of a pain.

Totally agree and understand that these are far far smaller teams that are developing everything than the big social networks.
It’s all a matter of time before things have evolved nicely enough to scale up. Great to hear PeakD are considering the UX elements. They will be unstoppably powerful if they get it right!

Cut out the jargon, make it look pretty and tell people only what they need to know and see to be able to contribute to all the amazing communities on hive

@ashtv! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Did you know you can trade $PIZZA on Hive-Engine, Tribaldex, or LeoDex? (3/10)