You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal: On-going Hive chain development; new features, testing, and developer support

in #hive4 years ago

Will this encompass and replace your existing Vessel proposal as well? If not, how do you see your division of time between the two proposals?

Sort:  

I usually spend 6-8 hours on my day job, and 2-4 hours on my personal work.

With Vessel development, which I am continuing as I have already released Vessel working for Hive and will continue to add new features, I plan to spend roughly 5-10 hours per week on that and 10-15 hours per week on blockchain development.

I also frequently work on the weekend and at night (I just can't quit).

In reality, I am asking for far less for the combination of Vessel and blockchain development than I could get with the same amount of time at a normal job. I am dedicated to Hive and its future so I am putting some of my risk into receiving tokens that may or may not have value in the future as compensation.


If stakeholders wish to fund one or the other of my proposals they can definitely do so with their votes. I am at the mercy of the community for receiving compensation from the Hive Fund.

Thanks for the reply and the breakdown. I hope the Hive token is incredibly successful and bolsters the development fund so I can look at it from less of a scarcity perspective! I have no doubt you’d be working under market rate with a highly speculative form of payment to boot! But combined it is a size able 10% of current DAO capacity and I’m interested to see what other developers and marketers submit proposals in the days to come. These are going to be some more difficult choices to make than even witness voting.

It is only 10% of the currently daily pay based on the current HBD amount in the DAO.

Soon, all of the HIVE in the DAO will be converted to HBD and will be made available for proposals as well! Plenty of development work will be able to get funded by the token amount in the DAO.

At the current price of HIVE/HBD, the @steem.dao has 15,006,636.9 HBD to be converted from the HIVE balance. This will happen slowly overtime in a coming hard fork.

OT

Soon, all of the HIVE in the DAO will be converted to HBD

Is that decided already? That’s a lot of debt.

Yes it will happen slowly over a period of time.

Also, there is discussion to have the @steem.dao HBD balance not be processed during the debt calculation.

Cool, thanks for the info. And good news on the debt calculation discussion as daily printing of HBD for DAO in itself already represents a massive amount of debt.

So only the HBD that is in circulation would count for the debt ratio?

That's a possible implementation, yes. Still needs to be discussed and modeled.

Excellent. I’d noticed the increased “balance sheet” already, but knew it wasn’t enough to account for all the Steemit Inc. stake I’d heard had been moved to the DAO. Thanks for the explanation!

Me parece interesante toda la propuesta.