CHANGE YOUR VESTING WITHDRAW ROUTE ON STEEM IMMEDIATELY (how to included)

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

image.png


I am rushing this post as quickly as possible to try and help as many people as I can so sorry if it's not up to snuff. Due to this post popping up on STEEM with the declaration of freezing stake from accounts that voted or proxied community witnesses at the time of the 23.0 hardfork, I highly advise you to set a withdraw route to an account that has never voted for witnesses and start a power down immediately. Once a powerdown is started it cannot be stopped by a fork. If code is ready, and from looking at the picture above it seems to be, then time is extremely limited.

If you have another account already great, if note use one of the services available to get one pronto so that it's a clean account, if steem ninja is still working it's super easy and cheap, if not please recommend a site to use below. Then go to https://steemworld.org/ and click Balances here:
image.png

Then you will click Outgoing Routes here:
image.png

When the box pops up click Add route:
image.png

You will then enter your new account name in the 'To Account' box, leave the percentage set to 100.00 and DO NOT check receive vest box as that will make the funds powered up.
image.png

I was able to do this with my already active power down, so I didn't even have to stop powering down and start over. Some people may say I'm overreacting here, but I'd rather be safe than sorry. Do not let them lock you out of your funds. The entire premises of them taking over the blockchain with custodial stake was to stop this from happening and now they want to do it to us because HIVE IS ALIVE. Resist! Much love.

EDIT: Do not forget to delegate your new account a couple of SP to make sure it has resource credits to send your funds.


Sort:  

It won't matter much, they are tracking withdrawal routes and adding them if they want your stake. A few of those final names are the withdrawal routes of some of the bigger accounts.

Sometimes it pays to be a nobody ;-}

Damn, hopefully we can make a big enough stink about this that they back down.

It's happening in 6 hours. Likely not.

@good-karma found the repo, so we now have some idea who is being targetted:

https://github.com/steem-witnesses/steem/branches

And if they push another softfork that freezes more accounts?
Isn't this the obvious play?
Sun is tired of defending 17 cents with his own bankroll

My thoughts are if they're going to go for everyone that voted the witnesses they aren't going to manually go through and check everyone'a accounts. I guess at this point I'm just hoping they're too stupid to write a script to check everyone's vesting routes.

we need an exchange to let us send the money directly to them just like ned was testing when all the shit was going down.

That would be amazing, I think without having a memo though, it would require a lot of manual sorting of transactions on their end and finding an exchange with that kind of patience might be hard. I mean someone like Ionomy or Bittrex could step up huge here and help, but it's a big ask.

All you'd have to do is link your Steem account to the exchange account. They really already have all the info they need as long as you haven't transferred money from your Steem account to more than one exchange account (on the same exchange). That's gotta be less than 1% of users who have created this kind of ambiguity.

You have a good point @ionomy any thoughts on possibly allowing us to withdraw STEEM directly to our Ionomy accounts to help fight this attack?

but yeah this little sidestep certainly has a chance of outmaneuvering them... at least for a time.

We are small fish. We barely move the price.

You underestimate Justin's pettiness.

Thanks for the update it looks like they're targeting withdraw routes too, so I guess this might not help anyway. I guess it is what it is.

But if your route is already set up, you're good to go. The softfork only censors new routes being established.

And even if the softfork is running on some witnesses, there's still a good chance of being able to broadcast new routes.

I think the estimate is 11 top witnesses running a softfork makes it significantly difficult to broadcast censored ops.

After that, there's a diminishing chance. But as long as two witnesses from two different shuffle rounds are not running 0.22.888 (or the same witness getting two blocks in a row, in two different rounds), there's a possibility of censored ops being accepted. In the worst scenario, the block formation needs to be a) the last block in the first shuffle round and b) the first block in the second round, so it might be rare, but it's still a non-zero chance.

... I think.

They can apply the rules to your withdrawal route account and freeze those ops there as well.

That would be a hardfork, though.

Just another soft fork with more names.

Got it, I misread. Yes, that's true. And they could add accounts with very little coordination and no need to change to the version being signaled.

Looks like our Steem has gone😟

Good to know, I hope they back down off of this.

I've done this - hopefully it won't matter that I've set the funds to go to an account I created via claiming with my main account?

That new claimed account doesn't witness vote.

I did actually try the Steem Ninja route, and if that's easy I can see why no one ever uses it!

Splinterlands would be an easier route if you need a clean account!

So just to check, now all of my vesting withdrawals (my 2K/ week) will go to my other account automatically?

I had no idea one could do this!

It's something I had hoped I would never have to use. I'm hoping we can get an exchange to let us withdraw automatically to it. I bet they don't have the balls to censor an exchanges transactions.

No I doubt that very much!

I'll look into getting my Brave Wallet set up later and open a new clean account to transfer to just in case, I notice that post said 12 hours, and it was written 6 hours ago!

I've got some Eth to buy a new account in a ether wallet kicking about somewhere, but keys stored on an encrypted USB in a safe, shit can I be bothered?!?

I never use ETH, just the thought of GAS gives me 'stress shoulders' urrgh.

I'm out and about... damn I won't have time!!!! Do you think it will really matter?

I think they're just targeting a handful of accounts for now so you should be OK

No fear about GAS, Its STEEM that burns ;>)

Good man @clayboyn, this is much appreciated.

This shit is crazy but I am not surprised coming from that piece of shit. Smaller accounts don’t really have to worry at the moment do we? If we voted for witnesses.

Honestly we have no way to know unfortunately. If they'll do this to anyone they could do it to everyone. I'd rather do whatever I can to try to protect myself and others so I'm putting the info out there.

You will then enter your new account name in the 'To Account' box

So basically we'll have to create a new account?

I already have quite a few laying around for "just in case" scenarios like this. I would highly advise having some accounts that are in no way tied to your account for stuff just like this. It may work or it may not but at this point I'm just trying anything I can to help.

Oh alright then. My Q now : can I still make anon account or have they blocked the route to sign up for an account?

Thanks for the info. I started my powerdown of steem before the HF. Hopefully it will go smoothly

Little steem and reputation that I made on that chain is now on path of drain.(power down).

Will tokens on steem-engine can be affected?
What is the easiest way to take out hivep from steem-engine?

If they make your account unable to process transactions then you won't be able to do anything at all on the chain. You still have to be able to sign custom jsons to use steem engine.

Thank you very much Clayboyn. Resteemed to get the word out. Appreciate your warning everyone.

I just hope it isn't too little too late. Time will tell.

Thanks for getting the word out. I did not know about this feature until now. I changed mine. Like you said, it might not better but better safe than sorry I guess.

Maybe so should add an outgoing account to my second account? Can that be done? I can’t image they would do two accounts removed from the original account.

I think the ideal option would be able to withdraw directly to an exchange, but I don't know any that will allow us to do that. I don't know of a way to continually move funds like a chain of events thoughts. I would say just power down to a safe account and then try to get funds off ASAP. That's my current goal.

That is my plan as well. I have always used blocktrades so I will need to learn another way. I have only ever invested. Never had to withdraw before.

This feels just like the crash JP MOrgan buy silver campaign we should be testing that 17 buy wall with all we’ve got lol, will be classic to see how daddy big bucks handles it or will CZ come in and save the day?

This is going to be another PR storm

LOL I think it's safe to save HIVE won the first PR battle, I can't imagine any way they can defend this. Freezing user accounts for going to another chain? It's almost fucking comical...

Thank you for this notice @clayboyn, I would like someone to explain to me in Spanish how to bring my steem to hive.

@victoriabsb use your magical Spanish powers to help Isabel!

@isabelpena hola!!! Te ayudo con gusto 🤔 sabes hacer power down tienes el steem liquido? En que cosa en particular tienes dudas? Pegame un grito por aqui o por discord en http://minnowpond.org/ me tagueas en el canal #espanol-chat y te ayudo!

you need to learn spanish @clayboyn

Gracias @victoriabsb te busco en discord. Cualquier cosa te escribo.

Ein jeengervote für dich von @novum

This Justing though, ugly piece of shit. Along with that Eli bitch

Sickening

"all your steem are belong to us..."
😂😂😂

Curated for #informationwar (by @truthforce)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation, and Liberty. We are a peaceful and non-violent movement that sees information as being held back by corrupt forces in the private sector and government. Our Mission.
  • Discord, website, youtube channel links here.

Delegate to the @informationwar! project and get rewarded

Thank you very much for the tip and your instructions. I just did that with the !jeenger curate account! It went smoothly!

Thanks for this info - like you said, better safe than sorry!