You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five Years on Hive - I'm Not Sure I'll be Around Much Longer

in #hive2 years ago

Ok, I'm back. Unfortunately after having my brain scattered by the day, I don't remember exactly what I wanted to say. le sigh That's how it goes, I suppose. At least my kids are leaving me alone this evening. Though They should be getting to bed soon, so I have that struggle ahead of me.

Just a few thoughts then.

I don't know much about how student loan debt works in the UK. In the US it is bad enough these days that even when people pay it off every month, it still balloons higher and higher. I hope the situation is a little better there.

If freedom turned out to be Ned or Dan, that would be something. And yeah, if Hive did explode into the mainstream, those in power here would be just as ruthless as those in power in other places. All the talk of freedom and so on on Leo seems no different that the lies other charismatic figures of the past used to gain the support of the masses. Like Lenin. And we know what usually happens as soon as these figures get the power they want. Hive propaganda is no different than other propaganda. Ok, that's an extreme comparison. Better to compare to Zuck, et al, like you do. But anyway, yeah, Hive, home of the free ;)

I completely understand the desire to focus on your writing. I sometimes wonder the same: if I am wasting my time here, distracting myself with shit posts that make pennies when I could be crafting a haiku book. Well haiku is niche so any book I published probably wouldn't sell much even if it got good reviews from well-known figures, but at least I would be able to say I had a book.

But anyway, I will miss your poems and other posts here, but I completely understand where you are coming from. I wish you the best of luck with your trilogy and other magazine short stories. I'll look forward to buying a copy when you finish!

Sort:  

Hive propaganda is no different than other propaganda. Ok, that's an extreme comparison. Better to compare to Zuck, et al, like you do.

Lol, well I absolutely believe that to be true because when I was all over twitter shouting about how great steem was, fully aware that the truth was far more complex than the message I was shouting with Nathan and the rest of them, I suddenly got support from certain larger accounts... go figure.

But hive is completely different, bullshit! I was lobbied with bigger votes for shilling and the reason why it is exactly the same as lobbying is when I finally got pissed off and actually expressed my true opinion 💩

But anyway, nuff of that crap I got out of even commenting on hive politics posts years ago because of the chaotic madhouse that I found it to be.

I responded to your other comment with most of what I wanted to say, but I'll repeat... thank you for being a genuine fellow poet who read and commented on my work, and shared fantastic work that I enjoyed reading and commenting on.

Hive is not all bad, I completely recognise the value of friendships I've made on here, it just destroys my focus and distracts me soooo much that I have to either leave or take a long break.

@dbooster if I ever make it to Japan I'll msg you on Discord and see if you've any spare time to show a scouser where to get really good foodstuffs 🙂