What Does Hive Mean To Me?

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

Hello, to my fellow Hive users!


I wasn't very well known (if at all) on Steemit. As I was a relatively new user of the platform compared to most of you, who have transitioned over to Hive.

I joined Steemit in August 2019 with the intention of documenting my recovery from near financial ruin. My (near) financial ruin was closely followed by what can only be described as a steep decline in mental well-being, and consequently, some of my subsequent posts discuss my state of mind as I worked through the various things that occur when your life comes crashing down around you.

I was very saddened to see that Steemit went through an incredibly tumultuous period following the Tron takeover. And while I don't fully grasp what took place, I could see the severe impact that it had on the community. So I was very pleased to see the community transition to this new platform, where hopefully we can find some stability and a shared success.

My purpose on this platforms is very simple. I want to write.

Writing is very cathartic to me. It helps me properly digest and come to terms with complex issues. And when my wife discovers where I am documenting my thoughts she will often read my creations and grow to understand me better.

Writing can help a person with many aspects of their lives. It can help to heal someone who has suffered a damaging experience, it can help a person learn new skills and knowledge, and it can simply be an enjoyable experience, especially for those who have a knack for creative writing (which I sadly don't).

So, I really only have one reason for being here on the Hive platform.

I want to write.


I don't have any grandiose visions with my writing, I don't expect to make millions of dollars from my creations. I don't even have any particular vision for what I want this platform to be or represent. I simply want to write.

And if you will have me here, that is what I will do.

I don't have a writing schedule. In fact I've been trying to write this post for over a week now.

If I'm really honest, I don't even know how frequently I will engage with the other users of this platform. I would love to build strong relationships here but I honestly cannot even promise that I will have time to do so. Please don't hold this against me, it's just a symptom of working 60 hours a week in my day job while attempting to live a normal life with my wife.

I simply write when I have the time and energy to do so. And that is all.

So if you choose to follow me, please don't expect scheduled posts. Or even posts of a similar format or formula. My writing is random, varied, and often just a close resemblance of whatever it may be that is running through my mind at the time. I try to keep things interesting and informative, but I make no promises at all.

@debtfreein2