Sorry, don't know how to call this post

in #hive2 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer

  • This is not about conspiracy theories, it's all in the Hive Blockchain
  • Nothing moves me against all users mentioned in this post
  • This is all about transparency, Hive thoughts, the confidence and future of Hive in the crypto world and what image do we want to pass on to outsiders

Invite everyone to comment if you have anything to say, of course it can be an opinion completely different from mine, I even don't know if my point of view about some points I will talk, is the correct and I have a lot of questions!
Because of that I'm doing this post, and honestly, believe it or not, I'd rather not be right!


Valueplan

Valueplan is a Hive account created by @guiltyparties and have as keyholders (owners), @blocktrades, @theycallmedan, @smooth, @crimsonclad and @guiltyparties

Valueplan Description: "The @valueplan account is an account to hold funds that will be distributed for medium-sized initiatives aimed at getting Hive visibility" (from @valueplan post)

How the Valueplan funds are obtained?

Valueplan keyholders submit to DHF proposals, to be approved
Till today, Valueplan have received from DHF 400K $HBD

What it means?

It means that the 5 keyholders already got 400K $HBD to distributed for medium-sized initiatives, they decide alone which initiatives, how much is distributed and how many times funds are distributed
Summarizing, they have decided and will decide everything about the 400k

What's wrong with that?

Apparently nothing is wrong! Hive is running a DPOS, they have their stake and have the right to vote on DHF proposals
But let's see how proposals are approved and you decide if there is something wrong or not

Total support to a proposal be funded (today) - 28,739,552 HP
Total HP from 3 out of 5 Valueplan's owners - 29,240,778 HP
@blocktrades - 20,117,028 HP
@theycallmedan - 4,792,152 HP
@smooth - 4,331,598 HP
This means that Valueplan's DHF Proposals just need the vote of 3 of Valueplan's owners to be approved


Today I will not talk about the initiatives supported by Valueplan, if you want take a look here: https://peakd.com/dhf/@doze/you-can-ignore-this-post-or-you-can-read-it-till-the-end-its-up-to-you, I already talk a little about some of that initiatives


I will finish with 2 question, and a theme that can be related or not, don't know... with Hive and Hive DHF

The questions

  • How much will Valueplan take from DHF in the future without a single community feedback on how funds should be spent?
  • Is Hive DHF decentralized?

The Theme that can be related or not, with Hive and Hive DHF

Screenshot from CoinDesk article
This is an image from CoinDesk article (https://www.coindesk.com/policy/2022/11/23/3-things-we-learned-at-tornado-cash-dev-alexey-pertsevs-trial/)
Boerlage is a Dutch prosecutor, Pertsev, Semenov and Storm are the devs of Tornado Cash.

One of the Boerlage's arguments against the Tornado Cash devs, is basically that the devs reportedly owns most of the governance tokens, can decide for themselves how DAO works and make community votes just cosmetic.
1588511876842.png
That's all for now. Thank's for reading me!
You might take more 5 minutes, read all again and take your conclusions and opinions.

Like I said, I have a lot of questions about these topics!

JOIN THE REVOLUTION!

Sort:  

My part is a voucher for the funds, and I help with ideas. I have been more hands-off than I would have liked lately for personal reasons, but I trust those involved. I, too, agree that we can learn and be more efficient with the funds. I rather build 5 water boreholes in Ghanna for 30k that seems like a great bang for the buck. All the events in Venezuela are also paying great dividends with the teams. The DHF is dynamic, and based on where the HBD stabilizer is, is where the funding goes and that is not set in stone. As both BT and I were voting for the HBD stabalizer at the time, our votes were off set by that.

The funds are going to events and things to help Hive, no one is taking any funds for themselves and making free money. There is a team behind this, and larger stakeholders that would not let that happen.

ALso, I know the team from value plan are open to all kinds of ideas. we have been having people contribute with ideas and ask more to do so. if you see a event or know a place the funds can have long legs, let us know. I am not sure where you got the idea that the team behind VP did not want any advice from the community, quite the opposite!

That funds, or you look at as: "well we have this money, let's spend it" or you want to use it for real propose of marketing, but professional marketing, make a couple of graphics, build a WordPress site talking about Hive or print a couple of shirts to offer, is not marketing at all.
If you want to just spend it, ok, do it, distribute it as you wish, to who come with an idea, no matter if it is just a experiment and people with no experience, it's an opinion, and if it is explained and transparent, I guess you are not cheating community.
If you want to spend it with criterium, on marketing, take a bit of time and search a professional with a CV that can impact.
In my opinion, option with criterium is the best one.
I have some commun sense ideias about marketing but I'm not a pro, so I have no valid ideas to solve Hive marketing lack that worth to be payed.

Hi Dan! Thanks for comment!

I rather build 5 water boreholes in Ghanna for 30k

I rather build 50 water boreholes in Ghana, or any other place, this really help people and improve their lives instead of giving people the illusion that Hive can solve their lives and maybe get a job in Hive or make some money to food, medicine, etc. If they can get some money, if it solves their lives, it's ok, awesome! (no irony). But Hive is not McDonald's or World Food Programme! We don't have to give the idea that they don't need to "fight" to thrive and Hive is the father of everyone! And it seems to me that this happening in the Venezuelan events, they come and already know who is Dan, Appreciator, ocdb, etc. But we will be all here in the future to see if I'm wrong or right.
It can be exaggerated but it seems to me that we are feeding a "monster". Hope I'm wrong!

All the events in Venezuela are also paying great dividends with the teams.

I don't understand if you want to fund an event you don't centralize the fund distribution in one person or account and you are spreading funds by 6 or 7 guys.

no one is taking any funds for themselves and making free money

Sorry.. I'm not sure if that. How can an event in Venezuela cost almost the same of an event in Netherlands? Or a rally car, "now I need new tires", here is money to tires, "now I need money to fuel" here is money to fuel, etc etc. I really think that this is not really transparent, sorry! If you want help people, feed them, wear them, let me know and I also help as I can, but say you are helping people, don't do it behind an event sponsorship. But once again, let's see where we will arrive with that and if I'm wrong I will be happy to be wrong and sorry.

Honestly? I like it. Not everything needs to be decentralised. There is value in centralised entities when utilised for good. All of them engage with the smallest of hivers, and I'm positively sure they'd give each project good scrutiny.

I created The Dragons Den in my cave which has been sorely under-utilised - so more power to these guys if they can do better than I did :)

Sometimes you need a little centralisation to kickstart creativity.

Thanks for your opinion. It's another way of seeing what going on.
Do you think Hive should put centralized word on the generic description of Hive or it's better keep the decentralized word, just in case..?

Hive is decentralised though. Having a large concentration of funds in one place doesn't mean centralization. Anyone is free to buy up the rest :)

Seems like a Putin Democracy. 🤪

Pudim é bom! Se for Abade de Priscos melhor ainda!

Thanks for the “insights”.

No problem 👍

is that HP that they own or is it together with proxy votes? how many accounts are in those proxy votes and are they connected to the main account.

I think big part of proxy are secondary accounts, relatives, etc but not sure! Better ask to the accounts mentioned.
Anyway, do you think it makes difference in the way proposals are approved?

for me a big difference. if those are real accounts of people that decided to trust someone with a proxy vote then you can't say that 3 people can do that. because it is not a stake of 3 people.

You right! But I guess is not the case of this 3 account

i suspect blocktrades and dan have a lot of proxies from the time of the of the fork, because most people were following them. i could be wrong, but i don't know how to check and don't have time to learn :D

Hum.. don't think so..
Dan have 3speak and other related with him. Blocktrades have alpha and blocktrades.com.
But I don't want to individualize this, this is not about one or two people, is about how things are done and if it is correct and transparent or not, if it can be improved or not, etc etc

Here it is, HP + proxy

IMG_20221128_022727.jpg
1669602503325-01.jpeg