You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Carnivals and Carnivores - Hive Finland Meetup

in #hive4 years ago

Didn’t F1 die like 5 years ago already, too much regulation and not enough action. I didn’t think anyone really followed it anymore. Rally is where its at! Sadly the best rally, Jyväskylä, also home for Gazoo Racing, was cancelled due to Covid.

Sort:  

Didn’t F1 die like 5 years ago

No one sent me this memo and so I'll keep watching. I think what died 5 years ago was the career of Kimi Räikkönen, no one told him either, so he's still there bringing up the rear each week.

Aye, I've been following Alfa Romeo Sauber, since I like Alfa's road cars. But I will say, I don't think they've had a proper crack at top 10 places yet. They really need to do something with their cars, since Kimi and Antonio are pretty great drivers.

Let's see how they go...But regardless of the car issues, Kimi is at the end of his F1 career. I like him, but wish he had pulled the pin a little earlier, back when he was getting good results. Maybe he likes it so much he is happy to run at the back though.

That's probably true, he's perhaps lost a bit of that magic since his early days. Never too late to retire though, like that other legendary Finn who battled Schumacher like a god who's name I can't remember. Hopefully, we'll get to see a bit more awesome racing from him before he leaves for good, though.

Mika Hakkinen.

Ah, yes! The Flying Finn... What a legend!

Yep...I was at the track in Adelaide when he crashed and had an emergency tracheotomy trackside. He was in the Royal Adelaide Hospital for ages recovering. Great driver, good chap too.

1995 (I was 25)

Watch it all the way.

I will agree to that, mostly. It's still a fun sport to watch, though you're right, a lot of the increased rules and regulations really hamper the fun. I've just been watching clips of old F1 races on YouTube, and that's wasted a lot of my time. Rally is pretty great, though I'd love to see more manufacturers join in 🙃