The importance of celebrating milestones - 45k HP reached

in #hive2 years ago

While I don't make too much out of seeing numbers, it's still always a bit fun to see one's Hive Power grow steadily over time and reach new round numbers. It makes claiming those rewards or hitting that Power Up button feel even more satisfying than normal. As I see many of you do weekly posts about the status of your progress towards whatever goals that you have on Hive, I figured I could at least show some positivity and share some thoughts on why it's important to celebrate milestones and goals reached today as I just hit 45,000 Hive Power (again).

Celebrating milestones reaching 45 hive power fredrikaa peakd.png

It's important to celebrate milestones and goals that are reached, as feeling grateful and fulfilled is necessary to be able to sustainably hustle towards greater heights.


My own failure to feel grateful for what I have

One thing I've never been good at is taking time and attention off to truly celebrate and feel grateful for milestones that I reach. For some reason, I have just never truly felt proud or happy about things that many others around seem to have considered as big deals.

Completed a master's degree? Whatever, most people should get that these days anyway. Landed a new job? Well, it's not as if I was going to not be working. Got a significant pay raise or promotion? Probably was about time, IMO I should be way further ahead by now if only I didn't slack as much! Made a few hundred K's off a good crypto investment? I should have made millions instead if I had only bought or held this or that instead…

Having high expectations of oneself is, in my opinion, better than not having them. But there's still a fine balance to be made between continuously pushing oneself towards improvements and better results on one side, and being able to feel grateful and satisfied on the other. But here I've usually come down too heavily on the first side, failing to pause and appreciate what I've accomplished.

Therefore, I'm trying to become more mindful of this and remind myself of how many of my recent accomplishments have put me way ahead of my previous goals. I believe this is important not only in order to be happy, but also to fuel ourselves towards greater heights. We only ever live in the present, so if we never manage to feel grateful for what we've got, but always insist on pursuing more, then we'll never actually get anything out of our efforts.

Becoming more grateful

So looking at my current stake and comparing it to my stated goals at the beginning of the year, I can see that I'm doing better than planned. I will continue to hustle in more posts and make monthly Power-ups of 1000 HIVE on top of keeping everything I make from author rewards, meaning I will Power up to 46k already on Friday for #Hivepud (Hive Power Up Day).

And while there's nothing impressive about my stake, I will continue to be grateful for the fact that most people have 1. Never come across Hive and thus earned something for their voice online while I have 2. Most will not have put in the effort that I have to build good connections and a good reputation here allowing for my posts to give good payouts, and 3. That I keep on reaching and surpassing the goals that I set for myself on Hive.

Thank you all for being part of my journey here :).

Sort:  

And thank you for what you and @howo do for Hive through @exxpio.

Congratulations on this not insignificant milestone 👏

Congratulations, you truly should be proud. If you don't enjoy life, what are the struggles worth?

Well said!

Congrats Fred! What is your next milestone, out of curiosity?

Thanks! I guess you'll hear from me again at 50k around mid summer ;).

Then, if I am around as I may take a couple of offline weeks :)

It's great man, keep betting on the Blockchain and keep supporting users, many here thank you infinitely

We can all support each other in a meaningful way here! That's one thing that makes Hive so unique

congratulations for your achievement. wish you many more good things to come

Congratulations @fredrikaa! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!