You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive: Why I am Considering Leaving After One Week

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

If you feel the best thing for you is to leave then you need to listen to yourself and make it happen. I'll wish you all the best as you leave and hope you find a place where you feel more comfortable.

If you feel there may be a few here and there who are worth engaging with and who make you feel like staying around then do that. I'm sure, even after an initial setback, you'll find something to enjoy here, people that add value rather than take it, but only you can decide for you.

Either way, all the best; it was fun to engage with you in my #weekend-engagement post last week so there's a positive I can take away.

All the best.

Sort:  

Thank you, @galenkp for your kind words. I also enjoyed the weekend engagement. As a result of all this unexpected support, I will most likely stick around for at least a little while longer.

I felt very slapped down, but now I see that there is a wonderful sense of community here. I appreciate the way you phrase things -- that it is my decision. Clearly, you value individuality and autonomy. I do as well. Thanks again.

As a Community founder I will usually give someone a warning if they post in my communities outside of the guidelines I set - It's my community after all. If they do so again I will mute it without warning and 100% downvote also because I see the repeat occurrence as willful and disrespectful. The guidelines are on the front page and clear to see. I even have a posting guide pinned.

I think one warning notification is ample and I have zero care factor whether a person is new or not; the warning should be enough. I feel that that's quite fair. It keeps the Community on-point and on-topic which is what the Communities are all about.


I've seen posts like this over the four years I've been around, you know, the I'm going to quit posts. A lot who have written them are still here though, still posting and still posting I'm going to quit posts too. I'll admit I don't really get it and I don't know why people just don't disappear if they want to quit.

The thing is, it's a community of individuals who can all do as they please so being overly sensitive about someone else's actions isn't very productive and will probably make a person feel even worse than usual. A person needs to control what they can control and let the rest go. There little point wasting energy on things outside ones sphere of influence.

So, that's what was behind my comment. Want to quit? Ok, do so. Want to stay? Ok, do so. Either way it's your decision and the blockchain will go on.

My suggestion is to find people you like to engage with and do that. It shouldn't be too hard. If it doesn't add value to you then do yourself a favour and leave.

Maybe I'll see you around if you decide to stay and engage with me and if not I wish you all the best.