The vote is not free.

in #hive2 years ago (edited)

This post is a continuation to Yesterday's post For those who are confused over the payouts on Hive.

When you create an account on Hive, you will have very little power to either create content, be it comments or posts, or even vote. On low HP accounts, the RC will dry out pretty quickly, so you might have to ask someone for a delegation to get you started.


A new account

At the start, even the vote value for a low HP account is 0, so for most of us, the next thing is to try to collect, and grow that power. This is where the eventual cost lies. Either you use your money to invest (that is use your already existing work to pay for it), or you work by producing content to improve your worth.

This is how you pay for any actions you will be doing in the future on Hive.

So if you see voting this way, you'll start seeing that it is not completely free. We are constantly doing the work to pay for the vote, even if it is seemingly free to push that button.

Now, if you appreciate your own work of producing knowledge, art or entertainment, would you give those hard-earned rewards away for free?

Would you pay for the work from your own pocket? Yes, the vote might be "free", but consider the implication. You are actually validating what the other person is doing. You are saying "This is Okay, I approve, please continue doing it".

If there was no effort behind that post, you might be rewarding someone who doesn't deserve and earn it.

Now turn the scales over and evaluate your own worth. If you are willing to vote (=pay) for someones non-work, you will in-fact be devaluing your own work.

Rephrased:

Do you appreciate what you have personally accomplished enough, to appreciate others' efforts similarly. Would you indeed pay others the same you are getting from your own work.

And if you flip that question around, do you appreciate your own worth enough to understand that whenever someones content gets hugely over-voted without actually going the extra mile, it will diminish the worth of your own.


So, what I am trying to say is, the vote is actually not free. It only seems like it is, but in reality, you have already paid for that vote. And if you give it out for free, it will become worthless, and it can have negative effect on the worth of your own accomplishments.


Writing this post has forced me to re-think about my position on curation trails and autovotes. I am not completely against them, but – while I personally already appreciate organic voting immensely more than autovotes – I think now that organic votes are even more important than I originally thought they were.

Sort:  

I personally already appreciate organic voting immensely

I can proudly say I have only manually curated content for the last 4 years with Steem and Hive

Wow! That's great. The question of "Autovotes" is one I ask any top top hiver that comes to my show. It is however complicated and stressful to curate manually.

@gamer00
Well said my friend!

Me as you said I have to start appreciating my own vote and trying to see where is going and why is going there.

Currently I’m working on a growth of a Bulgarian network(community) so my votes are going to people that are just starting.
And hopefully they can see and appreciate what is going on around here…

Namaste 🙏

how's the Bulgarian networking coming along?

Slowly but growing!
Thanks for asking!

Namaste 🙏
!BEER

I sure do miss Bulgaria. Last time i was there was during my hitchiking journey across Europe, from England to Istanbul (took me 10 months). Your country and people are beautiful man...but your language is strange as fuck lol!

Please keep me posted on your network. I support anything grassroots!

Yep country is beautiful...
Language is complicated...

Namaste 🙏


Hey @jin-out, here is a little bit of BEER from @iliyan90 for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

beer? what is this? I'm new to this stuffs? Is it a token? @iliyan90

Yep it is...
Hive blockchain is very big with multiple tokens on hive-engine…

I’m actually focused more on showing to people a personal account growing and how my followers can earn just by commenting on my posts.
Looking for a network effect!
Namaste 🙏

This reminds me of this quote: if you give your kisses out like pretzels, then that is all they will be worth.
I try to scroll through and find posts that interest me and I appreciate and vote and comment. I rarely vote without commenting. I do have a lot to learn as I am about a month old here. I also try to put out heartfelt blogs that would want to read or in the case of my fitness post-it put them up for accountability with fitness peeps.

There should be only organic upvotes, and no automatic votes. Some people earn more than $100 with a single post one or two hours after posting just because they are getting automatic upvotes.

They did not really earn those $100 yet, not until the payout.

Don't get me wrong here. I think automatic votes do have their place as they work basically like subscription fees.

It's only a bit harder to adjust an autovoter for the fluctuations of the price, and that is mostly what can lead to surprisingly high rewards. Which is exactly why downvotes have their place too.

It might actually be helpful, if there was a tool to automatically lower or raise the vote of an autovoter in the event of price fluctuations. I wonder if anyone has made one. Last time I checked, hive.vote didn't have any.

Other than that, the one using an autovoter should set the vote percentage considerably less than what they would organically vote. They can always correct the vote upwards later if they so wish.

And how does one get automatic upvotes?

That is a good question. I currently do not know. But I also would like to know. Maybe someone else will answer the question. @gamer00 perhaps.

Hive.vote search on google

@svanbo, @xplosive

Automatic upvotes happen if someone goes to a site like hive.vote and clicks the Fanbase menu item, and sets his own account to follow someone as a fan, setting the automatic upvote percentage.

That's how it basically works.

I know that. I also do automatic upvotes (above 90% voting power). But I thought that the question was how can we get (receive) automatic upvotes?

The answer should be simple enough: Publish quality content. (That is content other people will want to support.)

Hihi trying to do that...

You are right, I think some get it because of relationships. So there are more factors to be considered.

A very valuable perspective. Thanks for this. I am a newbie myself, and I am certainly trying to build my own profile and hive power by creating good, wholesome real and original content. I do find it disheartening when I see absolute nonsense earning votes, while organic and original content sometimes (not always) is overlooked. I am very careful with my votes, just like I would hope that those who vote on my posts would be. I want genuine engagement to help me create content that will genuinely be enjoyed by others.

I see you! I feel the same way. ♥️♥️

I tend to agree with your point about auto-voting and curation trails. However, I only auto-vote people I know produce quality content. I don't give those out willy-nilly. The curation trails are another story. I have joined a few, but I notice my power diminishes quite quickly, especially if I am engaging organically as well. Another issue I have found is that I end up self voting just because I get up voted by one of the trails I am on. I'm not a huge fan of self voting, so this irks me a bit.

I must add that I am not completely against self-voting either. I used to be completely against it, before I realized that sometimes it is necessary. So if I've put considerable effort into a post, and it doesn't get upvotes, I don't see why I should not help the post.

After all, if you are willing to pay $2 for someone elses post, you should apply the same principle to your own work.

If you do not appreciate your own work, why should others?

I saw self votes akin to dividends on a stock. IOW I am earning on my stake. In the very early days of Steemit, there was considerable debate about self voting your own posts AND even comments. I thought back then it was more or less resolved that self voting posts was ok but not self voting comments...kind of a compromise. Sadly many people from back then are no longer even active anymore. Anyways, it seems currently the whales have decided against self voting period.

Likely depends on how large your vote is. Not in percentage, but in actual reward size.

That's a good point. I haven't thought of it that way.

You can tell Hive.vote not to self-vote, I believe.

Good to see you posting.

It is funny to me how many accounts rack up votes over 200 250 300 on a daily basis. I understand everyone is able to vote as they see fit. However it also seems to me that perhaps spreading just a bit of that around to deserving accounts might be more long term beneficial to the coin.

I think it would be interesting to think about a correlation between the vote and the comments. For example the vote should systematically be followed by a commentare to be validated. In this case, it would correlate the power of the vote with the quality of the comment.

That is certainly a well made point. I agree, that there probably should be some sort of requirement for vote validation to counter excessive downvoting especially since it affects both visibility and reputation.

I feel at times, when some people are already on a trail they tend to relax a bit at times, thinking "I'll probably get this if it's not so good anyway".

I would actually recommend taking a breather every now and then. Just so you can push that extra push.

Yeah. Before, I did my best to post everyday. But I've come to realize that at the moment I'm not capable of doing it while maintaining such high levels.

Taking little breaks help me clear my mind.

Another excellent written article on the mechanics of this blockchain. Still new to all this and am learning as i go along.

Thanks for taking the time to write this!

Everything is so confusing to me!😕

Votes are not free buy quality contents are always encourage free upvotes.

This is a beautiful article... everyone needs to see this

Nothing is free, if we paid and put into our efforts here and there then its turned some value with the help of others. Your payout from posting is divided by half each you get fifty others fifty to the curators. Then Your earning is divided into fifty-fifty of the pay out rules. Hive power is obtained by the value of current market price. So, up your power is twenty five percent (assumptions) or totally fifty (if selected full power up) percent of your post payout. Or buy HP for your resource credits.