You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lack of engagement is hampering Hive adoption

in #hive4 years ago

Genuine engagement truly makes me happy in a special way. My post may make good rewards but I always still long for comments especially on my medical posts. Most times, I feel no one actually reads them and that gets discouraging even though rewards are fair. Also, the fact that upvotes associated with most of the posts are from a similar source and trail makes it feel just like clockwork.

We speak about the need for engagement everyday on hive but I still don't think we are making any serious progress in that regard.

Do not over-sell the earning potential to avoid disappointment.

This right here I think is one of the ideas we need to kill completely. The rewards should be secondary.

Sort:  

If it were all just automated then what's the point of putting effort into posts? I would like to see Hive reach the respect that sites like Medium have, but everyone should have the chance to be seen. There is that pressure to keep posting regardless to keep the rewards coming in.

Exactly... there's a special feeling that comes with even a handful of regular followers that comment on your post. There are a lot of quality content out there on hive that dies unseen.
Another big problem is the fact that after the 7-day post time frame, a post literally dies, basically because rewards can no longer come in I suppose. Even some authors might not reply comments once their post is past seven days. The reward system unconsciously makes us "kill-off" old posts.

I believe though that with more popularity for hive, old posts will start to get revisited. On Quora for instance, most of the posts I even read are posts that are years old. Hive I think should be more Quora-like and less Instagram-like (short term post engagement that dies off in a couple of days)

I've even gone the extra mile by attempting to reward commenters for sharing my posts on other platforms and still, no kind of interaction for a few HIVE tokens.
I wonder what it's really going to take to get folks to focus on building community with their voices and not just vote percentages.