You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive: Why I am Considering Leaving After One Week

in #hive3 years ago

People have got things going in real life, so I don't take any offense when they don't respond to comments once in a while, as long as it is not a habit. A late response has never been an issue with me either. I really appreciate that you eventually are able to respond.

Hive is a blessing to many, including myself. I have never tried to hide this fact from anyone. I don't even pretend for a second like the rewards don't matter. But I don't throw tantrums if I don't get rewarded and I've never also tried to game the system in any way. I'm a firm believer in giving as much value as possible back to the platform as I get from it. I want the chain to grow so that I can also grow with it, so I'm always conscious of everything I post.

Much as we've got people surviving on hive, there are also bad actors looking to profit from the opportunity that the blockchain has got to offer. Hence, the evolution of downvotes. A thief remains a thief, even if he does it to survive. Disagreeing with a post is never enough a reason to downvote though, to be honest. I reserve my downvotes for blatant (emphasis on blatant) case of plagiarism or abuse. At worst, I will rather not upvote.

On your writings, perhaps you just limit your posts to a particular length. The attention span of an average hiver doesn't exceed 5 minutes by my own estimation. In other words, if you want genuine engagement on your contents, don't make them too long. Build your own audience around your niche and ignore every other dramas that could be going on on the chain.

Sort:  

Thank you for your insights. I think you are wise.