You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Core development proposal year 2

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

Great work so far, appreciate everything you doing.
Looking forward for recurring payments and rc delegations feature that will hopefully help us onboard more users easily.

I think, work on communities should be done by front-ends, shouldn't be part of core development work. We have 3 or 4 dapps really need those but vast majority of other dapps doesn't need them. Why not work on hived and help blocktrades team where possible or explore core functionalities that will help to create dozen more dapps? For example, there was request like potentially adding hbd stabilizer as core feature and making foundation for 2nd layer smart contracts easier, explore private transfers, internal market/exchange improvements, light accounts, etc. etc. Just my opinion but having some of the neat core features will help us open doors for more diverse dapp development, not just social.

What do you think?

Supported proposal! https://ecency.com/proposals/167

Sort:  

Well I agree, but in the end work on hivemind still falls upon the "core dev" umbrella as it's closely tied to hived, I mean front ends (as I'm sure you're aware :p) are already very busy working on things like improving user experience etc. In the end I think hivemind/communities should be treated as a backend, where the front end teams ask for features and the back end team (core dev) work on them to expose the apis.

Ultimately I think it's a worthy tradeoff in terms of "time spent vs new features" for me as I can quickly churn out a lot of new things for the front ends who can then focus on implementing them in their respective front ends instead of spending time implementing them in hivemind.
There's also the fact that nobody is really stepping up to work on communities so someone has to do it as one point.

The way I see it, things moved out to hivemind for that exact same reason, because that's not core of Hive, it could be much more and now under hivemind it is in python which many developers are familiar with, anyone could contribute. I just wish we could focus on core code so more use cases could be explored like the one with recurring transfers. Economic experiments, light tokens perhaps (not smt but lighter with just token creation parts), etc.. I completely agree with frontend workload 😅 and many frontend already have backend, there is always enough things to do.

It is just my opinion, but going back to experimenting new things on core is much more beneficial in long term, we have good and growing userbase on social side. Slowly expanding into other areas what makes blockchains best is key to bring Hive into next levels.

There's also the fact that nobody is really stepping up to work on communities so someone has to do it as one point.

That's correct, beside blocktrades team not much contributors but also because it has been in refactor/active mode for past few months, now looks like we will have stable release cycle so more devs could join. Our team has a lot of work right now with all rewrites, but once we have some bandwidth, we will allocate some time to hivemind. There will always be some work on hivemind side though, regardless, how you decide I am all for it. 😉

Well to be fair things moved out of hived for many reasons, one of them being that one.

I just feel like experiments are great but it can often lead to having a solution in search of a problem whereas communities is something that we know will have tangible benefits.

I'm not saying I will stop working on hived altogether, I'm saying I may put in a month or two of work to add a ton of features to communities before I resume my usual hived work.

That's correct, beside blocktrades team not much contributors but also because it has been in refactor/active mode for past few months, now looks like we will have stable release cycle so more devs could join. Our team has a lot of work right now with all rewrites, but once we have some bandwidth, we will allocate some time to hivemind. There will always be some work on hivemind side though, regardless, how you decide I am all for it.

I really don't think it has to be an "or" as in "either I work on hivemind or you work on hivemind" there is definitely room for more people to work on hivemind, you could be focusing on creating new sorting mechanism / statistics while I work on "pay only communities" etc :)

I agree as well, it is under core dev umbrella but $100 per hour for python development is absurd even in EU based developers.

It's more than python development as there are a lot of complexity added in order to keep performance under control (indexing 500gb of data and querying it is not trivial).

But that's a fair point. And by all means I would love if someone were to work on hivemind instead so I can focus on hived as I mentioned above and to other devs.

It's more than python development as there are a lot of complexity added in order to keep performance under control (indexing 500gb of data and querying it is not trivial).

Might be if you are new python and postgres dev but for python devs like @holger80 if he is familiar with postgres would be super simple.

Yes, I did read other comments... would make sense to spend time on hived since you learned it with DHF funds for testing smts, etc. Now spending extra time to learn python and postgres, just doesn't seem fair and effective use of funds. Anyway, up to you and your motives I guess... good luck with development 😉

I'm not new to python nor postgres lol, I wouldn't dare to ask to get paid for learning a new language on the fly.

Nothing is ever "super simple" at this scale. Your comment probably indicates that you're not a dev yourself, there is a reason blocktrades and team have been hacking at it for a year to optimize hivemind and are still not done.

I didn't say you are new, but new to learning hivemind and postgres stack right?! Because I don't remember seeing your contributions to hivemind before, as you noted it has changed a lot and even for blocktrades team it took close to a year to familiarize themselves and optimize