This Feels Just Like 2017 - But That’s Good

in #hive4 years ago

Hive-and-Steem.png

This Feels Just Like 2017 - But That’s Good

It’s been a bit of time, blockchain. It’s been 10 months since I last posted. Time flies so damn fast. At first, I felt guilty for not posting. Once you invest a lot in something, and then you disappear, you do feel guilty, you feel fake. Then, I started focusing on life, on work, on other things and this simply started becoming a smaller part of my world. But it was always a living thing, in the back of my mind.

The longer the time between articles, the easier it is to forget about everything. One, week, one month, six months, and then you realize it’s been a year. You postpone it from one day to another, and the last thing you remember is that time has passed.

I know, I haven’t really been around lately - most of you probably don’t know me. I thought it has been less time but when I look back at my activity, something strikes me more than I’d like to. It’s guilt, it’s shame, it’s whatever. Truth to be told, I would have liked to have spent more time here.

Work

I’m a dickhead. It’s been 1 year and 6 months since the last SteemFest I attended. Since then, I probably wrote over 350 articles for my job, clients, and other bullshit. That’s almost one article a day. But I wrote nothing for this community.

I got a job right after SteemFest3 - good times. I learned Search Engine Optimization and marketing. I started building the foundation of a business and I managed to get some clients. I’m earning a nice sum of money but it never feels fulfilling enough. Something’s always missing.

I was never a writer. For as back as I can remember, I never really liked writing. I was tremendously bad at this. It always felt awkward to me, especially when it came to creative writing - which I still hate. But, at the same time, I always had ideas, opinions, views about the things surrounding me.

To be honest, that’s what this chain (Steem when I started, Hive now), represented to me. An environment where I can exchange ideas freely and have a decent audience. But, a lot of things changed since I joined back in 2017.

When I joined, everything felt full of hope. It felt like something big was coming our way and we were the few lucky basterds that noticed it. We felt special. It was a rather small community. Everybody knew everybody.

Then it came. It got us from behind, nobody fucking expected this. The Steem Backed Dollars (SBD) reached a high of about $13 on the 19th of December. Now, that’s a currency meant to be at $1 but it reached $13. We were all pretty happy, and rather rich.

A lot of us didn’t cash out the money. Sooner rather than later, a currency crash occurred. Bitcoin, the blessed token went from $20K to $8K in less than 3 weeks. And a lot lower afterward but y’all know the story already.

That’s when I realized that I need a fucking job, I need to make some money through means other than crypto to maintain my lifestyle.

The Fucking Future

It’s been a lot of time since then and now. I’m still the same fuck that likes to drink and swear. I still hate authority and I like to do things my way. But the more I get myself involved in other things, other businesses, the more I miss the community aspect of this shit.

If you never attended a SteemFest, you will never truly understand how nice it is to meet up with some strangers from the internet and feel like they are your family. It’s a feeling you can’t understand through the internet.

However, the more I look at the current situation, the more this feels like 2017 when I joined. This feels like you’re part of a small community of people and you are all working towards the same goal. It feels rather nice.

Now, I’ll try to spend more time around this shit if I can. And, I can, probably. So, to put it simply for those that still remember me, I’m fucking back ya’ll bastards.

May your beers always be cool.

Sort:  

Welcome back :).

It had to happen, it had to happen. :)

Welcome back, good to see you're still swearing!

Of course I still am, it's in my blood, in my DNA. How you doing? Did you manage to retire and stop teaching? :)

Well I've quit the full time job... still do a bit of training part-time but I'll hopefully be giving that the axe in a few months too!

Brilliant! I'm glad to hear that. What's planned next that you're retired now?

Nice to see all the old members coming back.
This feels like steemit has just reborn.
I too left steemit last year, but a lot of my old friends are back on hive, so I too jumped back in.
And It's been fun hanging in discord channel with some of my old friends.
Hope you enjoy your time here!

fuck steemit. :)
steem is great, now hive,
Hopefully we can move forward and learn from the mistakes of the past (probably said by many people in the past). I hope the honeymoon period isn't the only thing people come for, as @whatamidoing said in one of his posts, and something I hope we have mostly realised, rewards are great, but they could throw a wrench in your works, and money can't fix all problems, let alone provide community and understanding, well maybe fest culture and such retreats are the good parts of the grind.

Cheers :)

ps. this was linked by a friend in discord, gave me some old hope back :D

Gerry Cinnamon TRNSMT 2018 FULL SET

Money 100% can't fix everything. If you look back at when SBD was at over $10, I'd even go as far as saying that money created even more problems. We'll see what happens now. :)

Totally agree. It feels a lot like the old days, which is quite a lot of fun. Glad to hear more people are back!

Too many comments or what?
Anyways, glad you replied...
Have a good day bro.

Haha, yeah. I saw the comments but it just took me a bit longer to reply to them. :))

I know bro....

Welcome back!

I thought the Pálinka had royally fucked you up and you were still hungover :D

It did, it did. I've beem hangover for the last two years but I'm back now!

How you been my friend?

Good stuff.

After the fest I went back to Mallorca, but last summer I came back to the UK for work. Missed the SF in Thailand, although not too gutted about that now after what has happened.

Looking for that escape again, will see how Hive goes!

I missed the Thai Smiles too! But, we still got Hive 1 or SF 5, right? Whatever they gonna call it next.

Have fun in the UK mate, hope to see you again (whenever the next fest happens).

Yeah I think we'll get a Hivefest at some point - Corona has ruined this year though I think.

Will see you again for more beer - you and @celestal best look older than 18 this time though :P

Ya, covid really fucked things over.

18? I'm 34 you motherfucker! :)))

LOL :D

Time flies :D

I cannot guarantee anything :D

We miss your swearing! From what I remember, you got so drunk you forgot about us completely. 😏

Hive feels a lot more adult than steem did. A lot more civil and decent and focused. The only thing we are missing is the numbers, I’m doing my best on that end and we have to cause there is not company to rely on now

One can put the problem as such too. :))

I think when it comes to numbers, expectations are what matters a lot for any platform. If people expect to get thousands of $$ or likes (in case of FB, IG) and don't get any fame, they will leave. But if they expect nothing but get a dollar or a like, they are more likely to stay. Expectations, and community, ofc.

Enjoy your new found hive :)

I will, I will. Thank you :)

Congratulations @guyfawkes4-20! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2750 replies. Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!