Hive Graphics For The Community!

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

While working on a draft for another post, I thought it might be nice to have a sort of border between sections. The line created in markdown code with three asterisks just doesn't have the visual punch I want.


See? Not much to it, at least in this browser and frontend. So I dabbled in my obsolete laptop's graphics editing software and made something using the branding assets and colors. I even seem to have succeeded in maintaining transparency! Consider these three images open source, since that is how @roelandp is treating the logo according to his recent post.. Use, modify, or mock as you see fit. I know that I am no graphic designer, I do not know my way around mtPaint, and I am terrible at thinking up good file names after midnight when artistic inspiration strikes.

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Nonetheless, that has some of the visual punch I wanted! This image is 512x32. I also made one without the Hive text, in case something more subtle is desired:

Hive Divider Bar.png

And last, I made one with a smaller icon and a simple line design for a much more modest splash of color at just 128x16 pixels.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Remember, give some thanks to @roelandp for the original logo work. I dig it, and I hope my meagre efforts built on his foundation are worthwhile to some of you!

If you wish to use these, you can save these images to your device with a file name that works for you, or just copy/paste the clumsy markdown text I generated into your post on its own line.

Hive Text

<center>![Hive Divider Bar Text.png](https://files.peakd.com/file/peakd-hive/jacobtothe/rnRexgKt-Hive20Divider20Bar20Text.png)</center>

No Text

<center>![Hive Divider Bar.png](https://files.peakd.com/file/peakd-hive/jacobtothe/a5kEdJdk-Hive20Divider20Bar.png)</center>

Small Center Logo

<center>![Hive Divider Bar Centered.png](https://files.peakd.com/file/peakd-hive/jacobtothe/SzfvUD8g-Hive20Divider20Bar20Centered.png)</center>

Addendum

You're also welcome to make these images into an old-school forum signature bar by adding your choice of text in your preferred image editor. I tried to emulate the Hive and PeakD fonts, but you are under no such obligation.

Hive Signature Bar.png

PeakD Signature Bar.png

Sort:  

Hey cheers, nice additions to any posts I'm sure!

Nice!! Saved to my phone for future posts.

Thanks JT! I stuck these little beauties in a file for future posts!

Have fun! If you dabble in image manipulation, feel free to customize them however you see fit.

These files are hosted on peakd.com

Is that ok? Are they hosting other pictures?
Is bandwidth an issue?

And who is hosting the photos i see on hive.blog?

It shouldn't matter where the images are hosted if you use the embed code I generated. I haven't been able to upload directly to hive.blog, so I cheated and copied the embed code from Steemit uploads on my last post.

It matters where the images are hosted because

  • What is the chance that they disappear
  • Hive is in its infancy, and too much server load and bandwidth usage can really hurt

i really wish the block-chain could store SVGs and could embed them in the text.

And yes, your little graphics would be even smaller as an SVG. It would be about two paragraphs long.

I think @roelandp owns the domain for hive.blog, and presumably intends to maintain hosting. The SteemPeak team runs PeakD. Both are as reliable as we are likely to be able to expect.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @tibfox and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

I appreciate the support for the community, no matter how little in number the pixels. :)

my sincere thanks