My take on the CryptoFinally saga

in #hive4 years ago

Hi @cryptofinally and @innerhive,

Just thought I tag you both, because, if you care about the platform, I think you should know that there is always more than one side to a story. In the end, Hive will benefit for contributions from the both of you (even though you both seem to disagree on that).

So, I'm just sharing what's going through my mind. Whether you agree or not, I'm ok with it, but I at least want to point it out, because A) there is a general issue worth addressing and B) there are some useful tips for newbees in this story.

So first of @innerhive:

Hi,
Bernie, if we may still call you Bernie. It is true, a lot of users are scared of you. But that's fine. There is nothing wrong with that. You've always been some kind of subconscious of the ecosystem. For good and for bad. I was also afraid of you 2 years ago when you were torturing people on Steem and had the lowest negative reputation score possible. Then you decided to turn face and showed that you have a caring side as well. I think you do actually care about Hive. Nobody who doesn't care would change their name from Berniesanders to Innerhive. But, sometimes, words hurt. I know I have no right telling you what to do, but, I just want to say, @cryptofinally wasn't really hurting the ecosystem, or being a bad influence (or a Haejin). It is very clear that you weren't alone in thinking that she didn't always follow etiquette. No one can tell you not to downvote, but the words were pretty harsh. Again you are free to do as you please, but it does scare away potential Hive users and in that sense she is right. The community is not as big as when Steem was at its peak, so, the impact could be bigger than you intent it to be. If your response is, "I prefer quality over quantity", I'll agree to disagree, but if you care about growing the user base exponentially, she does have a point. We don't want to the same Steem feeling of Whale-fear. To be clear, I totally agree on downvoting terrible content, even understand downvoting to cancel out certain upvotes. But you know what really scares of people that are just getting started? Downvotes combined with mean comments.

Secondly, @cryptofinally:
I think there are a couple of important things to discus a couple of things:
There is indeed a downfall to a decentralized world. Because if it really is decentralized, there is no higher order. No one you who can protect you. When you are attacked, you completely rely on the good intentions of others. I think what might be a surprise to you is that not everyone jumped in to defend you. Some people gave you some good quality feedback, but you took it on as being unfair and maybe a bit hateful as well. Let's break it down:

  1. The footer: I personally never bothered to check it out, but it sometimes is indeed longer than the actually post. It also is indeed not really Hive focused. But honestly, I really don't care for the footer (I don't even have one currently)
  2. The rewards: If you get $40 worth of upvotes and $25 worth of downvotes, it still is a $15 payout. The payout is in general what is deserved. I can imagine the disappointment if 40 drops to 15, but basically, it comes down to a user saying, in this case, I feel this is not worth the current payout. That also tends to happen when people don't agree with you on a topic. If it really seems unfair, always listen to the why. If it is for no reason, people will come to your defense. I've seen people getting downvoted by whales/witnesses, other members getting upset and seen the downvoter apologize.
  3. While I don't think my opinion matters to wether or not you have been robbed of your earnings or that @innerhive is right about your content. What I do want to tell you is that might not have worked in your favor, is that for the past months, you've rarely responded to your comments on Hive. A lot of people have commented on your post without a response. Considering how engaged you are on Twitter, I found it somewhat disappointing that the actual engagement on Hive was 0. Matter of fact, you haven't upvoted anyone in the past month (probably longer) and only started responding to comments again after the downvoting started. I can understand you might be busy, but just posting and no engagement doesn't help the community either. If you're not using your HP, why not delegate it to someone you find qualified to grow the community. Or at least upvote good content. You even rehived a post without upvoting it, that just confuses me.

I hope that I given my perspective to both sides of the story. What we need is more love. On one side, I'm really against bullying of whales, especially if it just because downvotes and mean comments. On the other hand, if someone downvotes you, it doesn't mean the whole world is against you. I wonder if it would be the same on Twitter or YouTube. Leave the platform because someone keeps Trolling you on Twitter or Downvoting your YouTube videos. Or is really just about the money? Is it? Screw it. I'm declining payout for this post. Just to make a point.

Again... love is always the answer. Listen to feedback, even if it is packaged in the meanest tone of voice possible. On the other side, be nice to each other. We don't need fights that scare newbees away.

#lobi
@jeanlucsr

Sort:  

Throwing out posts with expectation of rewards without engaging with the community is likely to piss some people off. Lots of people would p love to make $15 on a post. Bernie seems to enjoy trolling people, especially if they rise to the bait. I've been flagged by big accounts, but come through it. Hive is the wild west and outlaws are part of the scene.

Totally agree, that's the thing with decentralization. There is no institution who decides what is right or wrong. The community decides. And if part of the community disagrees with your take, it won't hurt you to listen instead of going full defense mode (which is human nature, I mean, I tend to do that as well). I remember how people would run to Ned and even Dan (who wasn't even active) to complain against unfair abuse. It's not that I agree with unfair abuse, if it is clearly unfair, people will revolt. But like you said. Lots of people would love to make $15 a post. Even $1.50 a post. People just starting out would love $0.15 a post. That's the risk of promoting Hive as a Social Media platform that pays, I don't think it should be the sole focus or main USP.

And yeah.. the not commenting and upvoting is really a big fu to the community.

Then again... She really did promote the Hive community. Bashing her is not right. When you have access to certain media platform to get Hive noticed at places where others don't, there is value to that. This basically is a lose-lose for us.

I'm just pointing out where she might has lost touch with the community, but bullying her of the platform, that's not the right way to deal with this. In her defense, she did try to talk about it, but at that point, there was already too much shade and trolling, and things were just to heated up for a logical debate. Which I do feel we should have.

Also, from what I'm gathering, there was already more beef than what is visible on the surface.

Hive is a small pond and it has some predators. If it can grow to millions then they will have less impact, but then it will be harder to get noticed. We should enjoy it for what it is now and work to make it better in whatever way we see fit. Moaning is not a solution.

well said

Thanks @hivepeople. Do you think this is an issue we should address in the tweetchat at some point?

you can decide to have any topic you want. Avoiding problems won't do anyone any good. I think we all know that what happened was wrong.

Ok. Good. Will discord you the set up on Sunday.

Congratulations @jeanlucsr! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks @hivebuzz!

Liever te laat dan ...later? :) Alsnog van harte gefeliciteerd HHB! Guess this one: LLH

Hahaha..Thanks... LLH? Nah, why don't you just tell me XD...

Long Live Hive tok :)

You're welcome @jeanlucsr
BTW, it would be very appreciated if you could support our proposal so we can keep up the good work!

Done 👍

Thank you for your support @jeanlucsr, really appreciated!

Happy Hive Birthday @jeanlucsr
🎉🎈🎂🎉🎈

Thanks @arcange!

Need some help on Discord. Let me know if you can help.

#lobi

Very well stated, @jeanlucsr and I even upvoted it because my brain was slower than my finger...lol to make a point! 😂

Also, I see from @Hivebuzz's comment that it's your big day...

!tip hive

Haha... thanks. 3 years feels like a pretty long time 😅.

Thanks for the tip 🙏

🎁 Hi @jeanlucsr! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @traciyork!

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.