You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive x Ledger: Support for Ledger Hardware Wallets

in #hive2 years ago

An awesome achievement!

I wanna do it as I have some Ledgers but IMO some of the writeups are still too technical. What would be useful is an ELI5 from a basic user perspective on what's happening here.

Assuming the user hasn't really thought about key stuff since they signed up (probably most people):

  • Does using this change how Hive Keychain works? HK (or similar extensions) are critical to my UX right now. I need to know how that UX may change. I suspect it will change, as AFAIK HK is acting as a hot wallet ala Metamask right now.
  • This whole futzing with my keys things makes me nervous. I'm not technical enough to fully grok what's happening so my instinct is avoidance, lest I mess it up and lock myself out forever, etc. The wording Step 3 of the 'How to article says' — "Click Request new key to find new, unused public key that could be used to replace your current owner key."
    • "Could be used" is confusing and scary. What do you mean by could be used? Will be? Might be?
  • Ditto Step 9: "Select all the key roles you want to replace" — The idea of replacing I feel needs some more handholdy ELI5 explanation. I logically know that nothing nefarious is going on, but some patient re-explanation of how all this works would be useful here I think. A chance for much needed education in this space, at a critical moment when a user is tinkering with the elemental stuff that makes up their web3 ownership.

Thank you again for all this hard work! Happy to help craft more user friendly guides if need be 😃

Sort:  

Thanks for the feedback. I tried to design the wallet to be easy to use and understandable for everyone. Some aspects are non-trivial and it's hard to explain what's going on if the user has no technical knowledge about the keys, hierarchy, etc. I will try to rewrite it to be a bit more user-friendly.

To answer your specific questions:

  1. If you replace the active and posting keys then yes, you won't be able to use anything else than hiveledger.io online wallet (because it's the only wallet that supports ledger devices for now). If you want your account to be protected, I recommend replacing the owner key, leaving active and posting untouched.

  2. I will rewrite it to that will replace your owner key. The onboarding process is quite simple, it's just matter of replacing your old keys with those derived from the ledger device. Due to technical solutions, an online wallet needs to generate a new set of keys on your device and check if they are not used anywhere else. When it finds an appropriate candidate, you will be asked to confirm the key and it will replace your current owner key. The same applies to other roles as well.

  3. That's hard to explain everything on the wallet because we have limited space there and I believe people should get familiar with keys yet before they decide to play with it. But as I already said - ledger keeps your private keys. Online wallet generates a new set and replaces your current keys with those from the device.

The best way to start is to use the FAKENET version available at https://fakenet.hiveledger.io. This way you will be able to play around, check how it's working and you won't interact with the mainnet. On fakenet, your assets are useless and have no value.

Thank you for the in depth reply! This helps :) I also appreciate the challenge of communicating some of this stuff to us dang non-super-technical folk!

Another good piece of advice I heard is to create a brand new Hive wallet exclusively for cold storage—this would remove some of the puzzlement around changing some/all of your keys. The cold account could easily (I assume) delegate stored HP to your "main" if you wanted to retain curation rewards and the like. There'd be some futzing with transferring the HP from a substantial main of course, so always pros and cons!