You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it 'Sharing Is Caring' or is it 'Caring Is Sharing'?

in #hive3 years ago

Its a dead cert fact. People have to consume, engage and share. The problem half the time is that people only pretend to consume to earn. Sometimes in fact I think that the whole earning setup is flawed. But no one wants to hear that jazz!

Sort:  

Well. It's like a knife. One can call the knife broken or they can turn it over and start using the sharp side. I can see how some votes serve different purposes. Large whale votes, those individuals are acting more like promoters. So they position an act in front of eyes, and get paid, just like agents or promoters do in life. So that's reasonable. Reach the trending page. Progress basically stalls because of lack of consumers. With these changes, getting rid of that stupid five minute window, maybe now once folks manage to climb their way up, that visibility will actually mean something more, attract more eyes, then maybe things will spread out easier, hopefully, once it's more appealing to actually be a consumer.

And of course you and I have both, for nearly five years now, have talked about the annoying inward facing content. It's such an odd occurrence, yet common. Even when a new community springs up, rather than creating content, it's just post after post about how great their community or token is, with a few instances of actual content mixed in. So many pretend to be unique, yet the contributors use multiple community tags for the sole purpose of maximizing rewards, so in reality, most communities are nearly identical. So that's kind of weird. Especially considering the fact one could make an entire community go viral if it was something great, unique, and appealed to the outside. Without consumers, that won't happen. I don't even see those communities try to attract consumers. They just ask for more content creators every time and fill up those shelves for nobody to browse. It's so weird.

I do have high hopes for the getting rid of the five minute vote window as getting more organically voted content. It should or at least has the potential to do that.

I think one of the big problems related to what you say above is that fact that payouts and autovotes encourage people to post every day. Every single day. Jsut to pull in the rewards. Very few people can maintain good content every day. We have both done it and know it is hard and I am not saying my content has ever been perfect but I have never resorted to the announcement about announcement posts or the actifit posts or the random shit posts about fucking nothing that people will put up to get their daily allocation of the rewards pool. I am not necessarily saying its bad but I have heard people say they are putting up a post just to collect their autovotes.

It dilutes the content when people are rattling out any old content just to collect. And all those content creators they are asking for see what they think is required to hit the jackpot and then they join in, posting every day. This hardfork is gonna be awesome or Why bitcoin is only just beginning to go up/down or why community x is awesome

Ah, same old same old. I better stop before I go full on rant, lol :O)

LOL! I don't really want to go in the direction of full on rant either. Just kind of chilling, talking business.

I did make a brief statement in my post here saying my content isn't just some placeholder for rewards. The daily grind I used to do was really hard on my system, because I wasn't just shooting for the easy money post. Didn't want to ruin my blog by making hard for consumers to flip through the pages. Each page was important to me. And yes, I bombed plenty of times. Sounded better in my head, should have kept it there. But you live and learn. I've been enjoying the one episode per week approach. I'm certain if I was posting daily, people would just get mad, as I'm trying to write jokes or something and make people happy. Was bad enough back in the day people would complain over me earning 20 yet only 10 bucks is mine, for a short post, with art that took all day to make. Now I'm posting full length articles, then browse around and I see people complaining about others and their long form content earning. Dedicated consumer types wouldn't be complaining about who's earning what and why. They want to see their favorites succeed and that's all. Some content creators around here form an unhealthy sense of competition in their minds, and can't stand success if it's not them. That silly attitude has been around since day one as well. Sometimes that negative beacon gets more attention than the success stories around here. Reward disputes lead to talk of removing rewards, which is just bad parenting. If there's two kids fighting over a toy, you take it away, then everyone loses. Simply tell the one asshole kid to shut the fuck up and go to their room. LOL!

Oh yeah, that's definitely a thing. The envy from content creators to content creators and I think has to come back to the lack of consumers. When everyone creates content they want what the others have! It's like the snake eating it's tail. Or something. :0D

I feel quite relaxed now about posting less. If anything it's probably a blessing because you feel more free.

Still good to stir the pot occasionally!

It's kind of funny. Some of the folks who could benefit from realizing the platform isn't broken, it's just missing one important element, or learning the fact a quality post is appreciated and could also contribute to extending our reach, free of charge... well... they're not reading this because it's on the trending page and all the content on the trending page is crap and yadda yadda yadda the usual set of excuses.

This is the lowest amount of views and engagement I've received in a long while. And that really helps prove my point about how the entertaining stuff appeals to more people naturally. Way more fun, too.

This post actually stems from a bit of a conversation I was having with a witness here. They were talking about how this inward facing preaching to the choir content about how great Hive is is somewhat pointless within our echo chamber, so that content should be written on other platforms as well to extend reach. I kind of got triggered and was like thinking the reasons those positive about Hive posts aren't helping attract people is because they're boring. All Youtube needed was a gopher yelling Steve! Damn I'm rambling but that's how this works and it should be obvious to more people. Nobody bought Netflix because people shared articles about Netflix. The content on Netflix is what made it a success. Nobody turns on Netflix to listen to people talk about Netflix. Ay yi yi...

That age old Conundrum. I joke about it all the time. People on hive love to talk about hive. Who gives a fuck? The posts are usually the most inane too. Yet another 'guide' or another cheerleading post. Worse yet is when a new tribe crops up, you go have a look and what do you see, the new tribe is full of how amazing the new tribe is posts

You couldn't make it up.

On YouTube, where I spend a lot of time, I would never watch anything about YouTube itself. I watch music, funnies and guitar stuff. Show me a video where someone is wah wah'ing about the platform and I will switch off. But they don't. And rightfully so.

I just finished having a look at my results in LEO and POB; looking to see if it was curated/consumed. This is actually my first LEO post since Hive became a thing. Only recently started using POB. Not sure if placing this in those two communities made much of a difference when it comes to views. I checked POB trending and oh boy. Still on a honeymoon with itself. Just noticed Palnet isn't really even paying people anymore; not sure what happened there. Not sure if throwing it in Neoxian's City helps with visibility any more. LEO isn't as full of itself as it used to be but I think the cheerleading hops from one community to the next when it's new. Then they fizzle out, or something new comes along. Still not much incentive to purchase those tokens in order to achieve the goal of supporting content since there's not much actual content to choose from unless you dig. Hive still offers the flexibility and can dig in one place. Can support a little bit of everything and not have to feel tied down.