You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A list of active Hive/Steem accounts where the corresponding Steem account is voting for sham witnesses running 0.22.8888

in #hive4 years ago

TL;DR, is it too much to ask for people on the list to clarify what they are doing still voting for a hostile soft fork?

I think a lot were caught off guard (myself included) with the sudden, unannounced U-turn from steemchiller on that list so a little unfair to tarnish us all with the same brush in your original comment. For those who are aware then only they can tell you and it's up to you if you believe them.

I've removed all witness votes I had on Steem now after this post - I was only voting 2 other witnesses, one was running v0.0 (?) and the other was disabled so no more pitchforks needed here 😃

they don't care about some of our best Hive developers and most loyal supporter whales losing funds.

I can't comment on others but if people speak out on Steem then they are going to get shut down and I've seen threats of people having their accounts frozen by witnesses and people supported with steemit stake so understandable that no-one is being vocal.

I still post on Steem

I have to disagree with this stance though. If you're still posting on steem then you are indirectly supporting the platform you are insinuating you hate by giving it transactions (posts, replies to comments, comments etc) to use for its marketing purposes. It may not be a lot of posting, sure, but everyone else who is anti-steem is still posting over there and in my opinion, should just focus on posting Hive.

Some people on the list are unclear on what side they are on.

I was one of those when all this happened 2-3 months ago and prefer seeing things objectively for myself to find out what was going on. It's hard to keep on top of things and stay in the loop given that there was a global pandemic and life changing situation happening outside of Steem/Hive (even other offline activities are enough for casual users).

After two months of using both sites and finding out more information, I've just spent the best part of two days pruning my Steem profile (every post is now just a .) and all I'm doing is waiting for powerdown to complete and I'll be done with Steem.

Do they agree that these people should have funds stolen? Do they like their votes being used for the centralization of blockchains? Do they want to further antagonize the situation?

I can't answer for them, you'll have to reach out individually.

Sort:  

I agree with most of what you said here. Trying to provike people to change is my strategy given the fork is over a month old now.

You are right about an individual approach. I suppose a new list should be generated after payout of this one. People on the next list will probably be contacted individually.

I disagree about still using Steem. A lot of people still have a lot of value on Steem. Most of us are only just over half way through our powerdown period. Do we really want to see value evaporate?
I'm sure you and everyone else still cares about the value of Steem while they are selling it. If witness voting drops, no one will care. If user activity (posts votes comments) drops, this could affect the price. Our community stands to lose millions of dollar which could be used to buy Hive or whatever.
We should definitely be civil, but we shouldbcare a out Steem (price) until mid to late June.