First Power Up in Hive and the Story Behind It

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

It's about a year ago when I started on Steem, then I went MIA for almost a year.

IMG_20200619_040933_387.jpg
Originally posted in https://instagram.com/loy.bukid
(I also do WebComic, visit https://tapas.io/series/after-4pm and checkout the life of an introvert with Nico's Daily Misadventures!)

I'm frequently watching a lot of YT videos about farming and permaculture, which led me to @siloe on his channel suburban homestead.

I was intrigued with this blockchain blogging platform that I totally don't understand—well not yet.

When I stumble back again on Steemit this year, last May 27th, I just continued posting, but really still don't understand what's going on with the numbers.

I stalked around and found jargons after jargons, then saw dollars going in and out of other's accounts.

I work in the IT sector so I know a bit of blockchain and cryptocurrency and even opened an account too, but didn't actively trade with crypto.

By June, while reading on various posts on my feed, I got bombarded with chaos—I mean, I just started and why everyone's already leaving?

I traced all possible sources, and stumbled upon news, rants, and friendly notes, which eventually lead me to moving to SteemPeak.

To my surprise, everyone on the site are also moving too. Even the site has an opt-in link to move. I explored again what's behind the commotion.

I learned that PeakD is SteemPeak but with Hive. I started packing slowly and jumped another ship, now to Hive. June 15, I posted my first blog post on Hive. I began using PeakD and Esteem onwards.

It felt like having a crash course about everything, overnight!

With satisfaction with Hive and the aggreeable platform, I invited @dzawn and @rosemaniego7 and kept pushing them to be active too.

I sent them an extra long step-by-step message on hwo to create an account and some general knowledge about Hive and how it works.

I also learned that I could claim my own rewards after a week after posting and either do 50/50 or 100% power up.

I've been blogging on WordPress for years, but unable to post about my other passion because it's going to clash with my literary theme on my WP blog.

It's here on Hive that I was able to post my first farming-centric blog posts which was a small achievement for me.

In just a month, I learned so much. Today, out of curiousity on how money moves around, I tested exchanging currencies from PhP to ETH to Hive—that I used to power up and gift to @dzawn for joining me.

I've been seeing @blocktrades on my sneaking to other accounts' wallets which led me to its site.

While checking on the supported cryptocurrencies, I found that it can exchange ETH to Hive, and I have ETH, so there should be a way to move my PhP to Hive and vice versa.

Coins PH

This was my experiment, I exchange a few PhP to ETH using my Coins PH account and waited for a few minutes—I was a bit hesitant at first because of all the safety notices, but I pushed through.

Then I went back to BlockTrades and exchanged ETH to Hive, waited for a few minutes—and that Eureka moment, I did it! Finally, it was successfully reflected to my Hive wallet.

BlockTrades

Then I tried powering up and it did!

Then I tried transfering Hive and it did.

All transactions were smooth.

Can't deny I'm a newbie here, everything just seems so shiny and otherworldy. I hope to grow with Hive and invite more people to join too.

This is just the beginning, I hope to contribute more from my knowledge about art, farming, and software development.


Aside from art & farming, I also do a bit of CMS, IoT, ML, and automations, if you're also interested in programming follow me for more about making coding as your friend.


Curious about Crypto?
Buy and Sell on Coinbase
Get Started


About Me

@oniemaniego is a test engineer, but outside work, he experiments in the kitchen, writes poetry and fiction, paints his heart out, or toils under the hot sun.

Onie Maniego was born in Leyte, PH. He grew up in a rural area with a close-knit community and a simple lifestyle, he is often visiting his father's orchards during summer and weekends, which has a great impact on his works.

Don't forget to vote, comment, and follow me.


Not yet on Hive? Earn while blogging.
Sign Up

Sort:  

Good morning @dzawn, @rosemaniego7, @tadsss, welcome to Hive! Don't forget subscribe to your favorite communities and to post quality contents in Hive.

Read this post to learn about Hive, or you may check this external WP blog for more learning resources.

GiftGiver just delegated you ~20HP to boost your Hive experience. Don't forget to visit GiftGiver/faucet for free 0.001 HIVE, available every 1 hour.

yeah, hahaha, this was a great read. i get it! it's a bit convoluted, but have you checked out hiveonboard.com? it's meant to help make onboarding so much easier.

Thanks a lot, will share this with my invitees too, we still have a lot to learn, haha!

we have re-blogged this for more visibility, nice and authentic blog post.

Thank you so much @hivepeople 🐝❤️

Hive can is a very daunting at the beginning, but yeah you learn from experience and through the community as well. Congrats on your first power up!

You might also want to post your articles in communities so you they get more audience/exposure.

Thanks @arrliinn! Everyday is a new day for learning here on Hive. Right now I don't know how to share to communities and if doubt I'm allowed to do that. Is it Ok? I subscribed to some communities, right now I'm still observing how things are done there.

You have to write your post to the community itself. If you are using peakD, it will look like this. Just look for the community you would like to share your post to, then click "write a post". It's almost similar when you are using hive.blog.
image.png

You can cross-post your article to the relevant communities too, but don't overdo it. hehe

You are writing very interesting articles. Sayang naman kung hindi makakuha ng audience.


If you haven't already, we are inviting you to subscribe to HivePH. We encourage you to post through the community as well. Don't forget to follow Hive PH trail on hive.vote as well. Chat and interact with our fellow Filipinos in our Hive PH discord channel .

Thank you so much @arrliinn subukan ko, hanap muna ako ng relevant community for my next post :)

Well congrats on your achivment :)
Great read!

I would even sugest you to do an reintruduction post, hive edition, to gice you a bump start.

Thanks a lot @dalz, I'm still learning a lot. A few people here on hive have been helping how to do things here too, last time I learned how to post on communities.

I will try it. Thanks again 🐝