You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A bit of a rant.

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

The piano hanging above Hive in the form of exchange custody tokens can't snap and instantly fall. It's more like a grandfather clock weight, because now there's a 30 day period during which any potential stake-based attack can be calmly evaluated and mitigated.

I'm still not comfortable with the potential economic fallout that exchanges risk by not bothering to use cold accounts (Binance, Bittrex, and more). And to be clear, their cavalier and lazy token handling isn't a big risk to them, but it's a risk to Hive and those who own the tokens. I don't like how that risk is externalized to us and we haven't done more to strongly remind them of better security practices.

Sort:  

I'll be sooo glad when our dex's replace the cex's.
I've been using blocktrades for anything hive related and stealthex for other coins.
If one of those exchanges was 'hacked', a soft fork could mitigate this?

I'm betting a 'not your keys, not your coins' day would burst some cex bubbles.
What happened to those, anyway?

I'm most worried about a bot army coming out of nowhere and running amok.
Or, being here already and getting large enough to eat the rest of us.
I'm guessing code is available that can exclude any accounts involved in such an attack once implemented by a soft fork?

Is anybody watching?