You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If I were Hive Dictator for a Day...

in #hive3 years ago

I still think Hive's unique offerings are relatively easy crypto onboarding and distribution. So I disagree with the drastic reduction in reward pool inflation.

Because it's a balance between security and reward dilution, I think if you increase the number of witnesses to 30 there should be an increase in rewards. And voting for only 20 witnesses with 25 required for a hard fork is reasonable. But would the extra cost of those witness positions be worth the cost to inflation elsewhere? I don't know.

I remember years ago you argued strongly against high staking inflation, and granted Steem's was pretty ridiculous. But at this point trying to chase the current staking mania seems too little too late. Lessons should be learned from elsewhere in the cryptospace, but I don't think Hive should follow in the wake of crypto trends. They tend to be short-lived.

Sort:  

"Because it's a balance between security and reward dilution, I think if you increase the number of witnesses to 30 there should be an increase in rewards."

What I proposed would double the pool for witness rewards. And increased staking rewards would naturally add to those rewards.

"But at this point trying to chase the current staking mania seems too little too late."

I don't think 10-12% is chasing the mania. The current mania is about yield farming absolute shitcoins on BSC that mostly just get rug-pulled or "hacked." Giving people actual competitive staking rewards is something that PoS chains have been doing for years. I think it would be great if Hive finally joined the club. In addition to the other things I mentioned, there's plenty that separates Hive from other chains and that can be build upon.