You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive’s future as a 2nd layer blockchain network

in #hive4 years ago

A great read, even if a good bit of it went over my head. 😅

One minor nitpick:

Anyone can write their only 2nd layer Hive application…

Should this instead be …their own 2nd layer…?

Sort:  

Yes, you're right, I meant "own", not "only".

When I started studying Mandarin a few years ago, I think my brain got rewired to process words more by sound than spelling. Previously, words had a strong visual association, rather than a sound association for me, maybe because I used to read a lot.

But now, words seems to be tied more to the auditory processing section of my brain, and I often find myself writing a word that sounds something like the word I mean to write. I used to take a lot of pride in my ability to write with relatively few mistakes, so I find it annoying how often I make such mistakes now. When I instant message now, I often find myself making mistakes like that every couple of sentences.

Anyways, I appreciate the heads-up, and I've fixed it now!

switching ideas between languages seems to be more difficult than moving tokens between blockchains? lol.

中文是很靈活多變的,但也因此有不夠嚴謹的缺點。^_^

Moving tokens between blockchains is easy. Moving them trustlessly is very hard. I guess switching ideas between languages is probably easier than either, based on the number of competent translators out there, but in my own case, I'm pretty sure moving tokens is easier...

As far as Mandarin goes, I think it's structurally much more logical than English, but I think the lack of a truly phonetic alphabet makes it difficult to learn the written language. But I'm by no means fluent enough to even begin to comment on how good it is at expressing new concepts with clarity.

I do love the infinite shades of meaning that can be expressed with various word choices in English (because of the sheer number of English words), but that's more of an art consideration than a practical one. It makes for good literature, but it probably makes English harder to learn. There's probably an analog there to Mandarin, where the Chinese appreciate the artistic beauty of handwritten characters, and non-native speakers fear them.