You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five Years on Hive - I'm Not Sure I'll be Around Much Longer

in #hive β€’ 2 years ago

Hi @justclickindiva

Sry this response is a little late, some IRL stuff distracted me from all things online for a few days... good IRL things which was nice πŸ™‚

I'm glad that more people do read my fiction on here than maybe I realise. It's great to hear that you are one of them.

I don't think I told you how much of an inspiration you have been in my attempts at short fiction. Your precise, descriptive words leap from the screen and scream at me whenever I'm dragging my thoughts down a flowery path with no end or purpose.

Reading this makes me feel incredibly honoured if any of my short stories have inspired you πŸ™‚

You should maybe revisit some of your unfinished ones and consider finishing them and publishing some at The Ink Well or Scholar & Scribe.

My advice, as a writer who is massively self-critical, as I talk about in my post, probably more than people might think; is to re-read e.g. 10-20 of those unpublished (unfinished) short stories that you felt were your best, then choose the one that captures your interest most and finish it. Then, and if you feel able, do some editing if you can see where it is needed, as often time away from fiction allows you to see these types of things easier and with less emotional connection, Then just publish it. Even if you haven't edited it.

That way you break the cycle you've spoken about.

There is no way to take a swim if you don't jump in the sea.

Thanks again for your lovely comment, and also your generous tip on my post.
If I do achieve my goal of breaking my procrastination and write my fantasy trilogy, and it gets picked up I shall return to hive at the very least to promote the books and I shall return that tip tenfold πŸ˜‰

Also, hoping to see that you've published a few more of your short stories at least.

Best wishes πŸ™‚

Sort: Β 

Thanks so much for your expert advice. When you do return, I'll be able to say that I knew him before he became a millionaire author!

Best wishes.

When you do return, I'll be able to say that I knew him before he became a millionaire author!

I wish, it is incredibly competitive in the mainstream market... but I have friends from the same degree I did who are now authors, and a few who write scripts for the BBC. So you never know, that is the dream πŸ˜‚ to write a trilogy and then have Netflix offer a big ass fat check for the TV rights. Won't know unless I try.