You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Questions That I Couldn't Answer, Can You?

in #hive3 years ago

One more question:

Is it correct to upvote my own posts? How about to upvote my own comments? How about to comment on my own posts? Why is it good (or not good) to do these things?

Thanks again!

Sort:  

It is not seen as good to upvote your own posts and comments, because it is seen as you aren't engaging with the community instead you post or comment because you only want to "milk" the reward pool. If you do it, you'll be a target of larger stakeholders and downvoting you.

You can comment on your posts, no problem. If you always think your actions are to engage with others or explain things, I think you won't have any problem.

Also, you can post-edit your comments and posts.

Regarding the rest of the article, I'll try to answer some later ;)

I don't know if you already know but, peakd.com has a section for a FAQ: https://peakd.com/about/faq. Maybe some of them you find answers there.

Also. You should probably go to the discord of hive: https://myhive.li/discord
And discord of the peakd.com team:
https://discord.gg/Fy3bca5

Another helpful resource, thank you @marc5 ! :)

Edit: Also thanks for replying/upvoting/reblogging, I really appreciate it!

Thank you so much for explaining!

So I'll include in the guide:

  1. Don't upvote your own posts or comments if you can avoid it. Focus on upvoting the content of others.
  2. Feel free to comment on your own posts, but it's usually better to just 'edit' the original post.

I didn't know about that FAQ, I'll see if it answers anything, thank you.

Is it correct to upvote my own posts?

I usually don't do it unless I set a beneficiary. People have differing opinions, but people are mocked for liking their own stuff on other social media, why should Hive be any different? Voting your stake should be about rewarding others, not yourself IMO.

How about to upvote my own comments?

Normally no. One exception would be if there are many comments under your post and you want to float an important one to the top.

How about to comment on my own posts?

This is fine in circumstances where you want to add some information, but don't want to muddy the waters in your post. Under most circumstances though, you can simply edit your post.

Thanks for replying (and even quoting my questions so nicely, great touch.)

So to make sure I understand:

  1. Lean away from upvoting our own posts. If you've set a beneficiary, that's the 'best case' for upvoting one's self, but opinions differ.

  2. Lean away from upvoting our own comments, unless maybe there's an important one that needs to float to the top of thread.

  3. Self-commenting is fine, but editing the original post is likely better (this matches with @marc5 's answer too.)

Very helpful and insightful, I'll include this in the guide. I've yet to see it explained clearly for beginners. Thanks for replying/upvoting!

Ooohhhh good questions! You always think of good questions. I was wondering about this too the other day and didn't mention it while we were editing. hmmmm my bad. But glad you got answers. I read the ones below!

I've learned so much with your guide already. I hope others can answer some questions in Your post too. Looking forward to seeing it full realized. ❤️

~love, Cyn

Thanks, you added to my 'good questions.' And yes, so good of people from the Hive community to enlighten me and any other beginners who get to see this guide.

I'm thrilled you're learning anything from it. It's approaching completion :)

❤️❤️❤️