Sort:  

It’s why I am choosing the @ecency app and front end more and more over @peakd. That feature is EXTREMELY unfriendly.

As for the zero out culture and the “rebalancing” that’s been going on (not to mention “downvote dusting”... those are strangling the life out of all that’s good about this blockchain.

This is it.

Time for people to put their foot down and DEMAND a fundamental change to the blockchain... before it’s too late.

That feature is EXTREMELY unfriendly.

I love that feature! Its amazing we can block people who don't know the rules. But newcomers do need more chances :)

I also love @peakd's "hide tag" options, so I don't see any shit from @dbuzz :D

What is "downvote dusting," @wil.metcalfe? I wish there was something to be done about ritual downvoters who do it without reason. Most of them have little impact from a rewards standpoint, but I don't think they do anything good or positive for the blockchain.

Hi Jayna!

I have been meaning to get back to you since waaaayyyy back but life has indeed managed to keep me busy!

I’m so glad you took the time to read and comment here.

“Downvote Dusting” or as I like to call it “Spam Downvoting” is the practice of locking a bot onto someone so that it automatically downvotes EVERYTHING they do on the blockchain. Be it commenting or making a post. Good bad or ugly it doesn’t matter because like a house fly 🪰 the bot unceremoniously will downvote irrespective of any thing the account owner does.

This happened to me awhile ago when I was wrongfully accused of “comment farming”. Another madeUP term I see flying around here often... I have a name for that as well. Officially it is called “Comment Ranking”. Comment ranking is good for Hive as it encourages engaging and actual readership of people’s posts. A comment is proof that the post was impactful enough to read. It’s also a real world effort where someone took their time and decided to connect with the author.

So yeah! After 7 days the posts rewards are held in place and the comments are also cemented in place in the order they were valued at... this often means that (unless someone comment ranked) these comments will often sit ranked below a bot’s auto-response, etc.

So what I do is I read over all the comments and rank them with 100% votes to the ones I like best or think add the most to the content created. This is what “Comment Ranking” is and I believe that it is a special opportunity... and all too often people don’t take the time to value comments.

If you would like to read more about the “downvote dusting” incident that happened a couple months ago I’ll leave a link to the post I made about it bellow this comment.

So again!

Thank you for asking me a question in the comments. It’s much appreciated!

@wil.metcalfe

Thanks for that great info, @wil.metcalfe. I'll check out the link you provided.

This is so interesting. I have learned so much this week. Not all positive, but still.

This

you do know that community muting is not a peakd feature? It's part of how communities were constructed to give community owners a way to moderate their community.

Completely understand the positive uses... however Shadows... there is a mounting presence of less that friendly uses of the feature. The pros and the cons need to be weighed IMHO.

I really don't see why the concern. Anyone who doesn't want to see a community using muting, can simply not be part of that community. We all have our own blogs to post on. I almost never post in a community as I rarely even think to.

The muting only is in effect in that community. The post can still be found on the blockchain. I've recommended more than once to people that if they do post in a community to crosspost to their own Hive blog. So if something happens that a community decides to mute the post, it's still there for all to easily see.

Loading...

Muting is amazing when people don't follow the rules.
Newcomers should be given more chances though :)