VETS: We Do Not Need Your "Thank You for Your Service"

in #hive3 years ago

I joined the military on January 21, 1979 when a senior in High School. It was not a really a political or patriotic thing, just a kid that was washing dishes in a Greek Restaurant in South Jersey.

Over the years I spent in the Marine Corps (if you have followed me over the years, you know how I ended up there).

I DID what I thought best. A Non-Commissioned Officer (NCO).

I don't have ALL THE ANSWERS. What I share? My experiences. I do not OUTRANK anyone.

I will LISTEN. I will share my VIEWS.

G_D bless you KIDS. Share your views with me!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 41 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Congratulations @sgt-dan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4250 replies. Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Agreed. It always makes me uncomfortable when people say "thank you for your service"

Spent many many years without people ever saying it. It is almost like they say it out of shame, for not having the courage to serve themselves

My G-D bless you my friend and your G-D bless you better. We did what we did. I won't claim the title of hero, just a guy that wore the uniform as many of boys and girls did. Don't demand respect* but will demand that everyone knows what serving in war is.

Welcome home my friend and brother in arms. It sucks being a warrior, but some us boys and girls had to do it. We do what we are? BEST AT.

Topics for discussion:

⁉ Is it important to agree with someone just because they are a military Veteran?

🤣 Serving? One can do so without having served in the military and still be a Patriot? (Yep, I think so. Don't you?)

I think thanking someone for their service is not lip service and I mean it when I say it. I don't say it alot.

If you feel awkward thanking someone then don't say to them. But I wouldn't expect you to get your nose all wrinkled if you hear someone saying it.

What is the matter @themarkymark? You want to downvote because your pussy hurts? What a punk. Thank you for your service (playing in the band. Someone had to do it. The rest of us were doing stuff).