You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follow Friday: Hive Responsibly

in #hivelast year

If I come across someone who is getting downvoted, and it is not obvious why, I always go and check with HiveWatchers. Two accounts that commented on one of my posts recently were getting downvotes and it turned out that their accounts may have been compromised in some way. I passed on the info, then Hivewatchers helped both accounts to sort out the problem.

Sort:  

I know they can be responsive on Discord, but not everyone will see that. It is not an easy job, but more transparency would help people understand what is going on. They do some posts that list posts they dealt with, but those are not very readable. They don't accept proxy appeals, so if people won't go to Discord then the downvotes may continue. The punishment needs to be proportionate.

I agree and I have challenged them about posts that were getting downvotes and those accounts have been removed from the blacklist. I'm also not mad about some of the more cult-like requirements for transgressors. But at the same time, I feel a better solution approach is going and speaking directly to them when you see something that you don't agree with.

I know the Cast Garden guy has reached out. In this case it's hurting the podcast creators, even if some don't realise it.

Okay, I get that. I'm not going to take up this particular case as I don't know enough about it. I'm not only talking about the people directly affected by downvotes talking to Hive Watchers, I'm talking about any of us. As you say, some of these activities have an adverse effect on Hive. I personally wouldn't run the service as it is being run, but then again, I'm not prepared to take it on. So I have to work with Hive Watchers and help to change things where I can.