Follow Friday - Can I get a witness?

in #hive3 years ago

First of all a warning. If you see comments promising you $HIVE for voting on the Leofinance witness, do not click on the link! If you enter your owner key there you will lose your account and any funds you hold. The only time you should need your owner/master key is to change your keys. Many people have had this happen, so please spread the word.

The News

Another turbulent week in crypto. $HIVE is back under 30c and 260th place on @coingecko despite us getting through another hardfork with no interruption in service and some nice new features.

Witness time

I was discussing witnesses with @dickturpin and had a look into what you need to be one. It seems you need a reasonably beefy PC, but nothing too excessive. I have seen people say the energy requirements are not too high and it seems you can run one on a domestic broadband connection. I found a post by @shmoogleosukami with his rig that may be over-specced for the job, but it looks great. I will borrow his picture here and he will get a share of the post rewards.

Server

If I had the hardware available I would be very tempted to join in.

I would hope people are using their witness votes. Support those who you think do good for the platform. The top twenty do not change much, but it is up to the community to decide who gets there. They will get most of the rewards with others having to share the rest. Most witnesses will be running their systems at a loss, but they still want to support the platform.

Some who rank fairly highly are inactive and a fair few are not updating their price feed. You should check your votes periodically. I believe the latest hardfork has a change so that the votes of inactive users will stop having an effect after a while.

Witnesses

The witnesses really do matter. We elect them to have a say in the future of Hive.

Followings

Here are my selections for this week. Please add your own in the comments or a #FollowFriday post.

  • Bassist @verhp11 posts a lot about music as well as other things he and his family get up to in the Netherlands.
  • @graemesaxton is a Scottish musician who just came back to Hive with a new song.
  • @thetroublenotes are a fun band based in Germany who are off on tour. Live music has been in short supply for a long time, so I am sure they will get a great reception.
  • @elias15g is an artist who seemed to almost lose his account to the phishing exploit, but managed to keep it. @keys-defender has been commenting on accounts who may have been hacked. We could do with general blacklist warnings to reduce the issues with bad actors.

The Doghouse

Well obviously the phishing crooks belong in here. They are using accounts they take over to spread their dodgy links. We can expect them to vary the messages over time, so watch out for any offers that seem too good to be true. It is very rare for people to give money away and it is considered bad form for a witness to buy votes like that. You should never give your keys to a site you do not trust. Most sites should use Keychain or Hivesigner which do not expose your keys. Your security is your own responsibility.

The End

I have no idea how the next week will pan out. I will keep on promoting Hive to anyone who will listen. People participate in the weekly #HiveChat on Twitter every Tuesday. That can get us some extra attention. If you recruit anyone then let us know and I want to hear about any new Brits to add to my monthly #BritList.

Stay well, stay safe and have fun.

Sort:  

Good advice Steeve.

And that’s a pretty awesome rig @shmoogleosukami! 😎

About HIVE, among 1000 blockchains that don't work, HIVE is practically the only one that really works, with a very large and very interesting eco system. I still don't know why the token value is so low. Furthermore, now the token is not even in the top 100 on the Coin market Cup ranking

Thanks for recommending a couple accounts to follow, always like seeing that.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If you see comments promising you $HIVE for voting on the Leofinance witness, do not click on the link!

I already heard about these scams. Sad to see these.

Another turbulent week in crypto. $HIVE is back under 30c and 260th place on @coingecko despite us getting through another hardfork with no interruption in service and some nice new features.

The problem is maybe the "community". Most people are not commenting, most people are not supporting each other, most people focus on their own posts. There are too much content creators, but almost no content consumers. The average number of comments per post is 2-3, and most of those comments are bot comments. And most of the curation are automated. Many curators do not even actually see the content they curate.

This is "an interruption in service" made by the users of the platform.

I see you saying the same things over and over. Hive will not change overnight, but if enough people can keep doing what they think is right rather than just serving themselves we have a chance. I do not see the situation as being as bad as you paint. I get lots of engagement, but I have worked hard to get it.

!BEER

I see you saying the same things over and over.

I know. I am insane (insanity is doing the exact same fucking thing over and over again, expecting shit to change).

I do not see the situation as being as bad as you paint.

I say my personal experience, what I see on the blockchain + statistics.

I get lots of engagement, but I have worked hard to get it.

People should not have to work hard for engagement on a so called social network. It should come natural. Despite this, I also comment a lot. I was in the top 10 of the engagement league multiple times in the previous month. And it still did not helped.

I assume that you do this full time.

By the way, thank you for the beer. Have some !PIZZA.

You have to remember that Hive is tiny with just a few thousand people active. There are various cliques and people cluster around those who share their interests.

People should not have to work hard for engagement on a so called social network

Why not? People will engage with what they like. I know you have been active, but maybe it's not so effective. A negative outlook will turn some people off. I am not saying we should say Hive is perfect, but you need to find some balance between saying how things are and making people want to follow you. There is no magic button you can press to make it happen.

Why not?

Because it should come natural. This is why "social network".
People should use it as it is supposed to be used, but nowadays many people focus on their own posts.

A negative outlook will turn some people off.

I would rather say realistic. And this turn off only those people, who do not like honesty. The lack of engagement and the selfishness and the greed is turning much more people off. This is why the user retention of this platform is so bad.

I am not saying we should say Hive is perfect, but you need to find some balance between saying how things are and making people want to follow you.

I say only the truth. I am not going to lie. Even if I could earn followers with it. I prefer honesty. Even if I lose followers because of it.

What people 'should' do and what they actually do can be influenced by various things. The money aspect of Hive distorts the social one. Plenty of people are desperate to make anything. I am lucky I do not have to worry about that, but I do okay anyway.

It's best to be honest with yourself at least so you can stand by what you write.

Some of us do not have huge influence on how things will go, but we can still do something to build community. Have to find people who want to be social and work with them. I try to make it fun for myself as I am not taking money out for now.

I do have concerns about the state of Hive that I express at times. It should be much bigger by now, but I find it hard to recruit users. People are busy elsewhere and they want to be where their friends are.

I would not have stuck around for nearly 5 years if my experience was all negative. You have to make of it what you can. The people matter to me.

Have to find people who want to be social and work with them.

To be honest, this is the rarest thing on this platform. A real challenge, unfortunately.

I would not have stuck around for nearly 5 years if my experience was all negative.

Sometimes even I do not know why I stuck around for more than 4 years so far.

You have to make of it what you can.

Nowadays I am really trying. I was in the top 10 of the engagement league multiple times. Although I honestly tell you that there were times in the past, when I left the platform because of my disappointment, but I always returned to it so far. Most of my followers (more than 1200 people) did not. They left the platform long months/years ago, and they are inactive nowadays.

The people matter to me.

To me too, but usually this is not mutual. Sometimes people notice me, but they often leave me when they realize that my upvote is basically worthless (nowadays my upvote is worth approximately $0.006). A lot of people focus on (getting) the attention of the whales. And also a lot of people focus on their own posts. As I see, I matter to people as long as they can profit from me. Unfortunately many people experience the same. Even in the real life.

Connect

Trade


@steevc! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @xplosive.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (5/10)


Hey @xplosive, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Two things that really benefit for a witness node: RAM and an SSD. You don't need too much of either, either. 32GB of RAM and a 1TB SSD is enough for a while to come. Note: the blockchain is getting close to not fitting on a ~500GB drive. A faster NVMe drive can be useful for decreasing replay time, but a SATA one is plenty. CPU speed barely matters, you just want to get one that can address enough memory, and anything modern can.

Sweet chassis.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken.

First of all a warning. If you see comments promising you $HIVE for voting on the Leofinance witness, do not click on the link! If you enter your owner key there you will lose your account and any funds you hold. The only time you should need your owner/master key is to change your keys. Many people have had this happen, so please spread the word.

Thanks for the info,it will save alot of people from the phishing attack


Posted via proofofbrain.io