You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follow Friday - Can I get a witness?

in #hive3 years ago

I see you saying the same things over and over.

I know. I am insane (insanity is doing the exact same fucking thing over and over again, expecting shit to change).

I do not see the situation as being as bad as you paint.

I say my personal experience, what I see on the blockchain + statistics.

I get lots of engagement, but I have worked hard to get it.

People should not have to work hard for engagement on a so called social network. It should come natural. Despite this, I also comment a lot. I was in the top 10 of the engagement league multiple times in the previous month. And it still did not helped.

I assume that you do this full time.

By the way, thank you for the beer. Have some !PIZZA.

Sort:  

You have to remember that Hive is tiny with just a few thousand people active. There are various cliques and people cluster around those who share their interests.

People should not have to work hard for engagement on a so called social network

Why not? People will engage with what they like. I know you have been active, but maybe it's not so effective. A negative outlook will turn some people off. I am not saying we should say Hive is perfect, but you need to find some balance between saying how things are and making people want to follow you. There is no magic button you can press to make it happen.

Why not?

Because it should come natural. This is why "social network".
People should use it as it is supposed to be used, but nowadays many people focus on their own posts.

A negative outlook will turn some people off.

I would rather say realistic. And this turn off only those people, who do not like honesty. The lack of engagement and the selfishness and the greed is turning much more people off. This is why the user retention of this platform is so bad.

I am not saying we should say Hive is perfect, but you need to find some balance between saying how things are and making people want to follow you.

I say only the truth. I am not going to lie. Even if I could earn followers with it. I prefer honesty. Even if I lose followers because of it.

What people 'should' do and what they actually do can be influenced by various things. The money aspect of Hive distorts the social one. Plenty of people are desperate to make anything. I am lucky I do not have to worry about that, but I do okay anyway.

It's best to be honest with yourself at least so you can stand by what you write.

Some of us do not have huge influence on how things will go, but we can still do something to build community. Have to find people who want to be social and work with them. I try to make it fun for myself as I am not taking money out for now.

I do have concerns about the state of Hive that I express at times. It should be much bigger by now, but I find it hard to recruit users. People are busy elsewhere and they want to be where their friends are.

I would not have stuck around for nearly 5 years if my experience was all negative. You have to make of it what you can. The people matter to me.

Have to find people who want to be social and work with them.

To be honest, this is the rarest thing on this platform. A real challenge, unfortunately.

I would not have stuck around for nearly 5 years if my experience was all negative.

Sometimes even I do not know why I stuck around for more than 4 years so far.

You have to make of it what you can.

Nowadays I am really trying. I was in the top 10 of the engagement league multiple times. Although I honestly tell you that there were times in the past, when I left the platform because of my disappointment, but I always returned to it so far. Most of my followers (more than 1200 people) did not. They left the platform long months/years ago, and they are inactive nowadays.

The people matter to me.

To me too, but usually this is not mutual. Sometimes people notice me, but they often leave me when they realize that my upvote is basically worthless (nowadays my upvote is worth approximately $0.006). A lot of people focus on (getting) the attention of the whales. And also a lot of people focus on their own posts. As I see, I matter to people as long as they can profit from me. Unfortunately many people experience the same. Even in the real life.

I've heard all these points from you before and that could be part of the problem. We have to find solutions and not just assume this is how it will always be. It is quality of interactions that matters more than the quantity. Fishing for votes can be more work than it is worth as whales will be choosy with their votes and they may not have time to interact much.

There is value in talking to other small accounts if you share interests. That's what people do on other platforms.

I find plenty of people who are happy to chat. You have to seek them out. As I have said there are just a few thousand active people here and some will just be after the money. We have to grow to be a viable platform and so I am always looking at ways to help that.

Life is not just about money and Hive does not have to be either. It's just inevitable that people will focus on it.

There is value in talking to other small accounts if you share interests.

There is. I did not said that there is no. But that is how others think. I interact with various accounts, including plankton/redfish, minnow, dolphin and whale.

That's what people do on other platforms.

Yes, on other platforms, but usually not on this one.
YouTube is the best example. Even the smallest YouTubers (and even the occasional video uploaders) are getting real human comments. And you know that the people are there for the content.

I find plenty of people who are happy to chat.

I find only a few. Even after I interact with various accounts.

As I have said there are just a few thousand active people here and some will just be after the money.

Some? I would say most. I am also doing this mostly for the money, but not only for the money. I like real human interaction too. Even if it is rare on this platform.

We have to grow to be a viable platform and so I am always looking at ways to help that.

I agree with this one. This platform should grow.

Connect

Trade


@steevc! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @xplosive.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (5/10)