Follow Friday: Hitchin Post

in #hive9 months ago

The News

I am going to hijack my own post to publicise the meetup this weekend. I was trying to think of a pun for the title and there were a few options.

Prices

I will start, as usual, with the price chart. $HIVE has crept up a little lately. The other coin had a spike, but soon fell back. We know that one has no real value, but their whales will try to manipulate the price.

Hitch' Hike

I posted about the meetup a few weeks ago and several people expressed an interest. I will provide a few more details here.

We will be meeting at Hitchin Station (fire.pasta.lung) at 11am on Sunday 23rd July. I am using what3words locations for those who use the app. @daniellemurray will be guiding us on a walk that will end at the market square (worm.below.leaves) by around 1pm. There are several cafes around there and we should be able to find space to sit inside or out depending on numbers. We can hang around as long as people want to.

There are direct lines to Hitchin from London, Peterborough and Cambridge. If you are driving then it costs £3.30 to park all day at the station or there are various car parks that are free on a Sunday.

Parking

The station is top right and the market square bottom left.

The weather is a factor. I would hope it will be no more than showers, but be prepared for rain. Given the uncertainty of the British weather you may also want to bring sunscreen. If it looks really bad then we may shorten the walk.

Hitchin weather

The object of the exercise is primarily to meet fellow Hivers and perhaps some potential users to talk about this exciting technology. I have been on here for almost seven years, but I still learn more whenever I get together with other Hivers. I know people will have questions. The area is quite picturesque, so you should be able to get some good photos for a post.

In the last post I mentioned prizes. Those are still up for grabs if you come along. I was also hoping to have some Hive shirts that @tibfox has sent me, but those are stuck in a DHL depot somewhere in the UK. I have contacted them to try and find out what is happening with that.

Parcel tracking

Those who have expressed an interest in coming along include @awah, @stav, @shanibeer, @anna-newkey, @todayslight, @gillianpearce, @atma.love and @alonicus. Some of those I have not met before. Please feel free to bring along friends who may be curious about Hive or who would just enjoy the outing.

For updates on the day I plan to try and use LeoFinance Threads. I will post updates as we go along. You can run this in the Hive Keychain browser on your phone. I will use the #hitchinhike tag, but I am not sure how well it handles following tags.

If you cannot get there then I encourage you to organise something. All you really need are a time and location. In Europe we have the @hive-eu account that will help publicise events. #meetup seems a standard tag to use. Feel free to let me know of events and I will publicise them.

The End

So I have a busy weekend ahead of me. I am also marshalling at parkrun tomorrow. I do mention Hive in my Strava running posts. We can each do little things to spread awareness of this blockchain. If each of us can reach a few more people then we will see growth. The success of Hive can depend on what you do.

Hive five!

Sort:  

I've uploaded some background info about the walk we're going on -- it's all from an extensive geographical, botanical and even historical survey of the area carried out in 1993 by the National Rivers Authority. Screenshots available HERE.

Thanks for leading us today. I got to see some new places and everyone seemed to enjoy it. We bumped into Steve O in town. Enjoy your jam session.

!HUG

It was a pleasure hacking through the jungle with you all!
😀

It was something like this.

untitled.gif

😂

Dear @daniellemurray, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @steevc.
(1/3)

Sadly I won't be joining you tomorrow as my Mum is coming to stay for a few weeks from Monday. She had a fall a couple of weeks ago and broke her wrist so we're currently prepping the house for her. I hope the weather holds out for you. Have a fun time.

That's a shame, but I hope your mother recovers soon. I hope we can get more meetups going so there are more opportunities to get together.

Thanks. Yeah. It would be good to get back into the swing of a few meet-ups. It's been a while for me.

I will try to make it :)

Hope the weather was kind to you...

It was. Just had a few drops of rain as we sat by a cafe at the end. Nice to meet some new people.

Saludos mi amigo eso quisiera yo conocer otros Hivers y poder crear contenido, hacer intercambio de ideas, aprender del ecosistema, pero se me ha hecho un poco difícil. Éxito con su proyecto, y choco los cinco🤝🤜🤛.

Seek out people where you are. You can meet in a park or a bar. It really doesn't matter where as it is about the people.

Thank you sir, I will do so, I will take your recommendation into account.

So I will be missing out of the meetup 🥺

It's a long way to come, but as I said you can do your own.

Best of luck with the meetup. Sounds like a good group of people you have attending there! I'd love to make it to one some day.

Good luck with all of this Steve!
!BEER

Looking forward to this - it'll be the first meetup I've been able to get to. I'll make sure I bring an umbrella and raincoat, that should guarantee bright sunshine all day 😁

If it's just spitting like it is today we'll be fine. I'm looking forward to it.

!BEER

Just setting off in a minute. It occurs to me that I don't know what anyone looks like, but I'll be the one in the jeans, white shirt with narrow stripes and grey woollen jacket standing by the station looking lost and confused 😀

I will be wearing some Hive branding, so should be easy to spot. I'm assuming you don't look like a cat.


Hey @alonicus, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

I myself can't go now because there's some problem going on but I'm also very keen to meet the people I've been working with for a long time.

I don't expect people to fly in for this. Organise a local event and you can meet people.

A person also enjoys meeting new people.


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.