Follow Friday: Lucky For Some

in #hivelast year

The News

Happy Friday 13th! I am not superstitious, but I know some people freak out over it.

Prices

We can consider ourselves lucky that the $HIVE price is on the way up. It seems to be settling over 31c. You can go to Coingecko and tell them you have confidence in it with the button under the chart. I see someone has added some extra information about Hive there. People need to be more educated about what it can do for them.

Coingecko

I have just been learning about the projects from @agorise which @kencode is working on. One of those is a podcast hosting platform. I have been thinking about reviving my podcast and so got talking to him yesterday. The podcast page is up and old episodes should appear soon. Talk to him if you are interested. He is doing other cool stuff, so follow him for more.

Friday Follows

  • On my search for Brits I found @makerhacks who has been on Hive a while, but just moved back to the UK from Canada. He is into all sorts of maker culture including laser cutting and 3d printing.
  • As well as being a find singer and guitarist @iamdarrenclaxton also posts about crypto.
  • @filmmaking4hive are making a film about Hive and they just completed the first draft of the script. @killerwot and @thedeltron have been working on it.
  • @psyberx are posting about developments with their 3d shooter game that is built on Hive.

The Doghouse

I have seen some people start posting again after being driven away from Hive. There will always be disagreements about what is valid content and behaviour, but I think we need to look at the bigger picture of what will bring more people to the platform. If someone has hundreds of thousands of Youtube subscribers, but some people here think they are a jerk should they get downvoted? The person I am thinking of has said he does not care so much about the rewards here, but wants to reach a wider audience. Another one went on the attack after getting some downvotes and has just burnt his bridges when it comes to getting support.

I will not name names, but I do worry that we sometimes drive away people who could be good for Hive in the long run. I do not expect to like everyone here and there are some who I would disagree with on most things, but I just ignore them. I reserve my downvotes for those who abuse the platform and show no sign of changing. With some you can show them that what they are doing is not good and they can be prepared to change. If they do then I think they should be given a chance. If Hive really does take off then I can foresee us having major spam and plagiarism issues to deal with, so we need to be prepared for that rather than holding grudges.

The End

Are you optimistic for the $HIVE price continuing to rise? It may just be following general trends, but there may be opportunities to promote Hive. We do tend to get more activity when it is higher even though whatever you earn in the lean times can gain value. I keep posting regardless.

Have a great weekend and Hive five!

Sort:  

I've never been too hung up on Friday the 13th. I have had just as many bad days that weren't the 13th, so it isn't a huge deal to me. It is nice to see the price going up a bit finally. It's surprising how many podcast projects are integrated into Hive.

Thanx so much for the mention @steevc it's a labour of love. :) The Cast.Garden (podcaster hosting) site is still brand new and I'll pretty it up over the next couple weeks in my spare time. This weekend, and probably monday too though I have to finish the server upgrade, so by tuesday everyone's podcasts should start importing again.

@bozz I too am surprised there are so many Hiveian Podcasters, I had no idea. Glad to see them using the hive-tube tech on cast.garden. Doin my best to help more people get the exposure they deserve on here :)

btw, speaking of youtubers, check out Joost's page on youtube (youtube.com/@frameorder). He has over 6 Million followers and Jade at Beetoons brought him to Hive. His cartoons are called "Frame Order" (beetoons.tv/c/FrameOrderAnimation) and I think the name of Joost's animation company is Cartoonbox @cartoonbox so be sure to say hello if you get a chance and maybe he'll write a little #introduceyourself post too.

I do have some reservations about the $HIVE price right now though, I see this as being a bit of a trap. Charts are telling me that BTC still has a 51+ percent chance of a massive retest of the 7K range, which of course will drag all of us down with it for a short bit. The good news though is that all those damn cex's are going under, giving the true DEX's the green light for growth. imo, accs (htlc, ilp, etc) is the future. No more middlemen touching our keys!!! #mykeysmycrypto

The big Youtubers are probably happy where they are, but those who struggle to make much there may find Hive interesting. It's a case of whether the rewards are good enough when the audience can be quite small. If Hive got to 10x the current users it would start to be more attractive.

It would be good to see $HIVE break out on its own merit and not just follow BTC. I like that it has actual utility and I'm not interested in just buying things in hope that they appreciate.

!BEER

Me too, the utility, use-cases and the stuff I can build, have built, with Hive are WAY better than the opportunities presented by pure PoW coins. I've been working in the point of sale world since around 1993 though so I am a bit biased towards the merchant and businesses side of things.

Yeah these youtubers have traditionally made their living by relying on paypal, and patreon. Now that both of those companies are banning, shadow-banning, and even holding their funds (and i've heard of much worse), the youtubers are desperately seeking more income, but the majority of them are still thinking that all cryptos are a scam.

By getting at least 1 or 2 famous youtubers or podcasters to say publicly how much they like crypto (let alone Hive), is a really tough uphill battle because it is easier for them to just dismiss it and even poopoo crypto rather than actually looking into it for a day or so and giving it a try. The learning curve of crypto scares away a lot of people.. "the fear of the unknown".

Frame Order was the first major Influencer that I know of who made the leap to at least try Hive, and he is still with us, so that says something. Once you send and receive your funds in 3 seconds somewhere without anyone being able to stop you or make you pay fees, you're hooked. Especially once you pay a couple of bills with your Hive, that imo is when it really hits home. Hell, I can remember making over $7000 USD PER POST on steemit in the early days and that's what hooked me on the PoW/PoS hybrid of Steem and now Hive, exclusively. Granted, I still love the DEX over at Bitshares, but being able to earn Hive and spend Hive completes the economic circle which is what the world really needs right now imo.

Free of the central bankster constructs.

I do find a lot of scepticism about crypto in other places. Some of the open source people talk about it as though it's all scams, when they ought to be interested in something like Hive that is open source and decentralised. I see similar attitudes on Mastodon. We need a few people with a decent following elsewhere to give it a go and spread the word. I have limited reach on other platforms.

Thanks for all your efforts. Having all these dapps makes Hive a more attractive platform.

!BEER

Yes and indeed! 💪


Hey @kencode, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.


Hey @kencode, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks for the mention mate, it has been a hard road to walk but we can see a clear path and the end of the road is closer than we could believe now, it is going to be a great thing, not just for Hive, but, in general!

I think I can count on one hand how many downvotes I've given, one that I remember was someone posting sketches that "they" drew which I liked, I saw they were new and was trying to help them a bit by giving pointers on getting out there, sure enough, Hive Watchers commented on one of the pictures I liked, so I turned the ole' vote upside down.

Also, regarding the Hive price, I don't know how it's going to go, but, I like seeing movement amongst the portfolio, no matter how meager... well, I mean, I like to see the movement if it rises I should say haha, I have to say though, it being low right now is okay in my book, it's a good time to accumulate some more and power up.

!PIZZA !LOLZ !LUV

What do you call a corrupted IPhone?
A bad apple.

Credit: reddit
@steevc, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @killerwot

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(3/8)

I don't expect everyone to downvote. It can lead to retaliation and I've had plenty of that. I don't do as much as I used to. For now the abuse seems fairly limited, but it could easily take off again.

I didn't know about that button on coingecko. Woohoo, I go off and press it :0)

The sagas of downvoting. The big YouTuber is apparently not so big bit he does have a following. I think the problem is that he has been hyper critical of hive in the past and made some enemies.

I admit it's easy to get carried away with downvotes but I always try not to go overboard. I am no Saint though 🫤 but I am always willing to listen to reason

I can see cases where downvotes are justified, but I try not to use them out of anger. I need Hive to stay fun for me, but I will try to protect it.

Yeah, I never do it out of anger. In fact it's hard for me to get angry about anything internety. I do like to protect hive though which is always my main driver.

Go see my page for downvotes. It’s ridiculous.

How did that start?

My name was mentioned …. in a video by @jerrybanfield ….

I told him on Twitter to check out Blurt 🤬

I still love Hive ♦️ And promote it like crazy.

I am sorry it's happening to you. There is room for all chains. All peoples, keep posting and it will pass.

I will try again.

The funny thing is… @azircon told me to sell all my Steem… So, I sold all my Steem and bought a ton of Bitcoin around 16,000 …. So I owe him big time. I’m not going to complain about the $20 I lost on Hive.

Think of it as a temporary loss. Gainz to come in the future!

Absolutely. Hive is awesome.

Are you optimistic for the $HIVE price continuing to rise?

At the moment things are too volatile to tell in the short term. But long term, it'll be going up, and that's when it'll matter :) $10 Hive when I have the chance to build up a significant fund now? Yes please!!!

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Some good Friday Follow suggestions @steevc

Regarding downvotes, I really detest them and in my five years here I've never downvoted a single post, nor will I or least that's how I feel now.

I understand downvoting plagiarism but down voting is often used for tit for tat bickering and often affects very very good posts which irks me.

I have said many times that I do not expect everyone to downvote, but it is a necessary part of Hive. The freedom we have here means people can fight, but they are a tiny minority really. I do hate to see good people get caught up in that. You may have seen that it was worse in the past, but some of the nasty people left. I'm all for peace and reconciliation, but I have no control over what others do.

Ya @steevc I completely get it and I am all for free will and I do see the need for a mechanism of this sort, but when it is abused, perhaps that account should be suspended from downvotes for a month? Something like that maybe, though it would be hard to police and decisions to downvote are of course subjective. What I don't like seeing is a detailed post that someone has clearly poured five or six hours into getting downvoted or a post where someone opens up their heart about something like bereavement or something like that and then they are downvoted by an account who clearly has not even read the post they are downvoting.

It's hard to put limits on what people can do without reducing our freedom. Who would get to decide what is allowed? Anyway, people can downvote less than they can upvote, so the damage is limited.

Anyway, people can downvote less than they can upvote, so the damage is limited.

Ah right, I did not actually know that, as I have never used the facility, but good to know that it is more limited than upvoting, which should help a lot with it getting abused. Thanks for the info.

Yeah. I had 7 days of posts downvoted to zero because @Jerrybanfield mentioned me in a video ???? Ridiculous. But I still think Hive is awesome. 😂 Go Hive Go. To the moon 🌙

I always say good positive things about Hive. ♦️ Everywhere I go.

I promote Hive like crazy on Twitter.

Hive has my incorrect Twitter link though ???? How do I fix that ?

56AD79D2-5CAE-4B9B-BD84-7EE6008C6119.jpeg

I think these feuds do nothing to help Hive. You do well to keep your spirits up, but then they cannot stop you earning from curation.

I am not feuding with anybody. 😂 You know that.

Sounds like a positive start to the year. Let’s hope it’s a trend. I’ve been away for a couple of weeks and nice to check my wallet after that time. I’ve gained some more HP for doing practically nothing. I’ll be following your podcast forays with interest. I’ve always fancied giving it a go myself.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @steevc ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @steevc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 500000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 510000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2023
HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive Austrian Community in Graz
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@killerwot(6/10) tipped @steevc (x1)

Join us in Discord!