Follow Friday: PUDding

in #hive3 months ago

The news

The crypto world is having a moment as $BTC takes off again. Various coins are seeing big gains, but $HIVE is a little slower off the mark. A 12% rise over a week is still not to be sniffed at. All our votes gained value.

$HIVE data from @coingecko

Today #FollowFriday coincides with #HPUD. Usually you would get a comment from @hivebuzz when you power up, but with @hivesql still being down that may not happen. The latest news I have seen is that it should be back up next week. I rely on it for the #BritList, so that will be delayed.

Power up

I still wanted to power up. I am aiming to buy some $HIVE each month. I got £50 worth this week when the price was a little lower. Some went to power up other accounts, but the bulk went to my main one. That takes me past 112k HP. I should get well past 120k this year.

Friday Follows

  • The first winners in the Vibes music contest were announced. It was great to see some brand new Hivers up there including @attabotty @iamlosi @fondew. This is a weekly contest, so encourage your musician friends to get involved.
  • @oldmans has some cool old photos of ski jumping in Los Angeles in the 50's. The made their own 'mountain' for it.
  • @dreemsteem have been running a Deal or No Deal game and my friend @brijwhiz made a poem about it.

These people get a share of the rewards on this post.

The Dog House

In my time on Hive I have seen plenty of people get upset when they received downvotes. That is part of how the platform is protected and if you are seen as causing it harm then you may get them. I am in favour of forgiveness if people can change their ways, but some just throw their toys out of the pram and make it worse.

There have been various schemes that could be considered as selling votes, which is frowned upon. That may be why a certain set of accounts with negative reputation are spamming the blockchain. Oddly they do it with upvotes, but the amounts involved are so tiny as to be insignificant. They have been posting dumps of transaction data too, but I am unsure what purpose that serves. I have muted them to reduce my notifications. Peakd does not show votes below a certain value anyway.

I will not give this person any publicity by mentioning names, but be aware of what can happen if you try to fight the community.

The End

Enjoy this crypto 'spring'. Things can change so fast, so do whatever you think is best for you. I choose to keep investing time and money in this platform as I believe in the good it can do.

What is next for Hive? Do you have plans to make it bigger and better? I will promote projects and events I hear about.

Hive five!

The man behind: @tenkminnows: Helping good Hivers level up

@proofofbrian: A bot that checks for tag typos

#BritList: A monthly list of Hivers in the UK

Sort:  

Nice roundup and thanks for the mention. 👍

You're very welcome. !BEER


Hey @oldmans, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

thanks for the shoutout @steevc I do hope people enjoy the poem and not feel shortchanged :) It was done for a lark.

About PUD, I did it too - I had tried out the exchange by buying 500INR worth of HIVE and I staked only part of it earlier as I wanted to get involved in PUD :)

I am waiting for HiveBuzz to come online and see the actions completed :)

It is silly I know but gamification does get you :D Rationally i should have staked the hive long ago. in fact I was not even clear abou PUD till the Terminal team explained it to me today :)

Staked HP can earn nicely for you. Of course HBD savings can make more, so I don't blame people for doing that.

HiveBuzz does add some nice gamification and I miss it. I hope this event will encourage people to make such essential services more robust.

!PIZZA

I did my power up and monthly review post that has become my tradition. Whether HiveBuzz is running or not, I enjoy the habit.

I still think downvotes should be reserved for spam, plagiarism, vote farming, and other similarly abusive behavior. What are your opinions regarding people who seem to consistently comment with nothingness? It looks like engagement at first, but has no real bearing on the post content.

My investment in HIVE has always been time, not fiat. I don't care so much about number go up as I do about seeing people create the content and interactions that give our chain value to keep operating through slumps and downturns.

Those people who comment for its own sake get nothing from me. I think most downvotes are intended to discourage bad behaviour, but it needs to be done fairly. There are also some personal disagreements, but they need to sort that out between them. We don't want to scare people off.

I'm not spending much on crypto, but it can accelerate my account growth so I can help more people. It has to be fun for me anyway.

Wow, that's a great power up for HPUD!
I think I ran across that person dumping posts full of transaction data. I was tagged in it a couple of times and even commented asking what it was for, and got no response, so I just muted them. I don't understand it, either. Maybe they think people will just upvote anything they are tagged in? I hope it's nothing more nefarious that I just can't imagine.
!BEER

I expect that account is mostly automated. It's sad to see.

Vibes is exciting. I think it's a genuinely good idea.

I have seen those transaction data dumps for ages. I muted them long ago but I think they switch up which account posts it as I sometimes get a notification

Vibes is bringing in new people and that is exactly what we need. If each of those brings in a few more then it could explode!

Those disgruntled people can hang around for a while. One was sending me DVs for years! He seems to have gone now though.

Sometimes you think they are gone and they pop right back up!

I did a bit of a power up, but I am trying to keep some Hive liquid so I can move it into HBD if the price gets to a certain point.

I don't worry too much about optimising my earnings. I'm happy enough with what HP earns me, but I do have a few other things going on with small amounts.

Vamos Hive llega a 3$ como lo hiciste en Nov 2021 , Hive la mejor

That would be great, but could take a while. We have to keep adding value.

claro que sí ..

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@steevc(2/10) tipped @brijwhiz

The price of Hive is making sense
I’m glad!