You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Brit List: December 2021

in #hive2 years ago

I don't really want to remove people based on how the list is used, but if it's what you want...

I think this is the first time this has happened. By being on Hive you are open to being tagged. You can always mute people.

Sort:  

Thanks, I'll mute the chap in that case. Next I'll be getting tagged in posts by religious shi'ite fundamentalist jewish rastafarian monk's musings about how John Lennon is still alive. It would be nice to have tools to deal with this sort of thing because it's certainly open to abuse under the guise of freedom of speech. If it were a Chinese govt. propaganda unit posting this kind of thing, there'd be outrage. Just saying' :-)

I get tagged in various things and it's not always with the best intents. What's worse is when they edit the post and I get notified again.

So should I remove you or shall we just see how it goes? It was not my intent to create something useful to spammers. As I said, this is the first case where my list has been abused. If/when Hive grows to millions of users then we may have other spam issues to worry about and the tools will need to improve.

That's what I was thinking, the tools would need improvement. But please keep me on your list, it's quite useful for the right reasons. Let's remember this conversation for when the monk's come a callin' :-)

Cheers. I really hope the list can be useful for things like organising meetups.

I do think tagging can be over-used. If it's in a reply to that person they get two notifications.

Let's hope the monks are busy elsewhere.