Updating the UK Hivians list

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

Until about six months ago @pennsif was maintaining a list of people who were active on Hive and based in the UK. Unfortunately he himself has not been active for a while. I hope he is doing okay.

I thought it would be worth reviewing the list. I think I have seen some new people who were not on his list. When the list was compiled on Steem there were up to 121 people and 90 were listed as being on Hive in May. I am checking if the accounts have been active in the last month. If they have at least posted something on Hive I will list them as inactive. Some may be voting through automatic means.

Please let me know of anyone who should be listed or if you wish to be removed from this list. I may include additional accounts run by these people if they seem UK relevant.

London & the South East (29/7)

@adetorrent, @andy4475, @atomcollector, @basilmarples, @bleepcoin, @chris-uk, @cryptogee, @dannyshine, @donatello, @fleur, @gillianpearce. @kgakakillerg, @lloyddavis, @maneco64, @molometer, @nakedverse, @nathanmars, @nickyhavey, @nicolcron, @redrica, @rmsbodybuilding, @robbieallenart, @sergiomendes, @spectrumecons, @stav, @steevc, @stickchumpion, @ultravioletmag, @winkandwoo

Inactive: @dronegraphica (voting), @ezzy (voting), @kabir88 (voting), @markangeltrueman, @rosa33 (voting), @teodora, @todayslight

The Midlands (21/3)

@abh12345, @article61, @brianbrogan1960, @dannewton, @dawnsart, @dickturpin, @ellenripley, @fastchrisuk, @gribbles, @jaytaylor, @neilru75, @neopch, @opheliafu, @revisesociology, @richgaynor, @rimicane, @rthelly, @shanibeer, @shmoogleosukami, @starkerz, @ura-soul

Inactive: @bettynoir, @leighscotford (voting), @martaesperanza, @skaarl (voting)

The South West (5/3)

@davidlionfish, @jonboka, @sharpshot, @sunsethunter, @wolven-znz

Inactive: @adambarratt (voting), @jimbobbill (voting), @perceptualflaws,

The North (13/5)

@adamfryda-art, @ashtv, @c0ff33a (plus @whiterosecoffee), @darrenclaxton, @dizzydiscovery, @goblinknackers, @lastravage, @pcste, @slobberchops, @someguy123, @stevenwood, @teamhumble, @vraba

Inactive: @artonmysleeve (voting), @cryptocurator (voting), @jskitty (voting), @mckeever, @raj808 (voting)

Scotland (7/2)

@barge, @cadawg, @camuel, @epicdave, @jubei333, @kevmcc, @meesterboom

Inactive: @btcvenom, @danaidhbee,

Wales (5/3)

@grindle, @louisthomas, @stevelivingston, @theturtleproject, @welshstacker

Inactive: @elizabethharvey, @pennsif, @p-props (voting),

Northern Ireland (0/1)

Inactive: @silverstackeruk (voting)

Somewhere in the UK... (4/2)

@fadetoblack, @mudcat36, @raymondspeaks, @tommyrobinson

Inactive: @gmuxx (voting), @pjau (voting)

Expats (9/2)

@cryptoandcoffee (South Africa), @diveratt (Philippines), @jeffandhisguitar (SE Asia), @livinguktaiwan (Taiwan), @millycf1976 (Philippines), @minismallholding (Australia), @nathen007 (Thailand), @rycharde/@accelerator (Thailand), @scubahead (Philippines)

Inactive: @biggypauls (Philippines), @tggr (Singapore, voting)

I make that 84 active in the UK plus 9 expats, so the numbers are down even after I added a few (mostly in the Midlands). I am sure there must be more out there, otherwise we are literally one in a million (more or less).

Hive five!

Sort:  

Brilliant idea bringing back this list, it's a shame @pennsif went AWOL although the Social Isolation is pretty strict in Wales.

With the economic fallout of Coronavirus it is no surprise a few have gone silent, when just trying to carry out your daily life is a challenge peripheral activities are going to end up on the back burner. Hive as we know has huge potential, and while HF24 brought some minor glitches that are being ironed out what it has done is made the Blockchain far more accessible to app developers - running a node to access the data they need is now really affordable and I expect to see by early 2021 a whole load of new Hive Blockchain backed apps running.

Plus we have a new UK Witness - congratulations to @nathanmars for getting his Witness up and running - I hope all our #teamuk members back him with Witness votes 🇬🇧

Hi @c0ff33a, @steevc,
Can we have a list of UK witnesses added please?

Maybe that is something for another post. Who else do we have as witnesses? I think there is @someguy123 @ura-soul @cadawg and I see @whiterosecoffee is one too. There are lots of inactive witnesses that still have votes. People need to review them.

At least six then with @c0ff33a and @nathanmars :)

It is weird that now that many of us are stuck at home. We would assume that we would all be super productive but what I'm seeing and experiencing myself is the exact opposite!? Getting anything done takes a real effort.
Is anyone else feeling this way? I'm not depressed just a kind of malaise?

I'm stuck at work more then home, in fact I spend so much time in work I really ought to just stay there - for sure if any of the family come down with the Covid I'm moving into work so I don't have to self Isolate!

I know what you mean though, with the future so uncertain and very little to look forward to - it's really hard to be inspired when you know a tiny little virus could end you at any time just because you decided to call in a shop to buy some milk -_-

I know it's nuts but we are living in strange times. We have been in total lockdown from two weeks before the official UK lockdown was announced god knows how many months ago.

My wife has a compromised immune system so no contact with anyone is allowed. We live on a farm miles from anywhere which helps and everything is delivered and we have a flat in London.

London is a joke. No one is socially distancing or taking any precautions? I'm glad we are out of there.

I'm expecting the London cases will skyrocket. They should never have sent the kids back to school and college. That was the dumbest move ever.

This virus is only just getting started. Stay safe.

From my experience the precautions are widely ignored, I have been avoiding going anywhere unless essentials are needed - and because I need to drop parcels for work at parcel lockers I tend to call in the small convenience stores they are outside for bread, milk etc if we need it at home. I always put on a mask before entering, but I never see anyone else wearing them - mum's with small children, middle age, even older folk - no interest at all in wearing masks or trying to even social distance (not that you can in small corner shops).

I have been really worried since the schools went back because my 10 year old effectively became the main way it would infect me - and I really can't be isolating for two weeks. I know they are keen to keep the education up but they could do a far better job with online learning - it's not if but when with schools - because as soon as one brings it in to class they all have it - and then take it home.

Yep it's a god awful mess out there. If it is at all possible please do keep your kids home. People just don't seem to think it will get to them? I'm a teacher and haven't been teaching since this whole thing kicked off. I just can't risk it.

A lot of my friends are still teaching but it is a absolute nightmare. The kids are mixing all day long and some schools have started to keep the kids in the playgrounds for large parts of the day as if that is going to help?

As soon as someone tests positive the whole class or year group is sent home including the teachers that came into contact with the person. It is causing total chaos.

This of course is not being reported in the press? But its a proper clusterfuck and now head teachers are calling for a total shutdown until well after Christmas. Jan Feb maybe.

The kids can be taught online if they have the equipment but amazingly and sadly millions still don't?

Kids can learn at anytime in their lives. It doesn't have to be right now. Don't drink they cool aid they are pushing about the kids are missing out on education. It's total bullshit.

it's pretty much the same here in the Philippines. The locals act as if it's a foreigner disease and are quick to call out a foreigner for not wearing a mask but hardly any of the locals do. Funniest thing I saw though was a woman riding a scooter with her 3 kids on it none of them wearing helmets but she was wearing a mask haha. Not sure she has her priorities straight there.

Yep people are quick to judge 'others' and play the blame game. Government encourages division.

3 kids on it none of them wearing helmets but she was wearing a mask haha.

Maybe she is one of those billions of people who believe in fate? 😂😂👍

I'll do that today. He's a busy bee is nathan

Lemme add a few more

@scubahead from Leicester currently in Philippines

@millycf1976 is his wife

@diveratt is from the UK up north somewhere and is also in Philippines now

@rycharde is in Thailand originally from London, but he posts via his alt @accelerator

@steevc Cheers for adding us to the list🤗

Cheers. I have added those to the expats.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Cheers for adding us to the list🤗

Cheers for the mention @steevc , couple of things. @revisesociology has emigrated to Portugal and I believe @livinguktaiwan is stuck in the UK ! @spectrumecons lives in London I think and @epicdave who has religiously posted once a day on Actifit since it started is a Scot in Scotland, and a very nice bloke.
Looks like you have your self a new job mate! :-) Thanks

I know @revisesociology plans to move, but he's still in temporary digs for now. I can make him an expat if he wants. I added those others, but I am happy for people to say what their preferred location is.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Interesting to see. Thanks for the update. If you'd done it last week you might not have found me. I've been more active in the last couple of days (outside SL at least) than I have been the whole time since Hive began. 😂

Well it's good to see you are still around. Hope we can meet up again next year.

!ENGAGE 20

Yeah. Hoping there will be some extra meetups to make up for all the missed one this year.

Hi Gillian, good to see you back

Aw. Thanks @molometer. 💙

Not exactly back but commenting here and there and definitely up for some more meet ups once when we're able to get together again.

Yep it's all I can do to make one video a week. It's dire. This is a super weird situation we find ourselves in. I hope we meet again some sunny day. I feel a song coming on lol

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hey, just a small fix, I'm actually not from the Scotland(or UK at all). Its just a joke with @cadawg who believed I was for a few minutes till he realized he could check the birth records and couldn't find me in there. I'm actually from America.

Though, @cadawg I'll take this as official confirmation that I'm from Scotland. Nothing gets more official than this.

I'll have to take you off the list or it will just confuse people. I need to do better checking.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

It's too late now, you have been assimilated 🇬🇧🤖

I'm still around in the South East until Bitcoin or HIVE or LEO goes stratospheric, then it will be New Zealand 😃

Well let me know and I'll make you an expat.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I am still active, but not so much as I used to be here on Hive ~ I still live in Surrey, England Uk ~ about 1 hour (by car) from London City. 🇬🇧

  • Thanks for the mention √

Maybe we can meet up once that is possible again. I've been to a few events in London, but only one small one this year.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

This is great - I will go check some profiles.

It was interesting to see them as I do not know them all. When it's possible we ought to have some regional meetups again.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

May be less but nice to still see many of us UK folks about. Hope to meet some of you guys someday!

I do have an update for myself though, I'm back in the UK. Residing back in my home town in the South West 😊

Thanks for the update. We are thinly spread across the country. There are quite a few others with accounts, but some have never used them. I hope we can get more of a buzz going somehow.

!ENGAGE 20

I'm sure with time we'll be able to generate more buzz, now I'm back home I'd be up for trying to help as and when I can between my other project. We're in it for the long haul. ^_^

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Small fix ... I'm actually from the Midlands. 🙂

No problem, you have been relocated.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you. 😊

I was invited to join by my good friend @barge in Scotland. He also posts as @krunkypuram, but more on Leo Finance with that handle.

Cool. The numbers are creeping up. I've already updated this post a few times. I hope we can find a few more.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

another name you have missed from the midlands is @brianbrogan1960... who is still reasonably active.

There are some more accounts (we all joined near enough at the same point) but a lot of them are currently not active for various reasons

Thanks. I know you had a cluster around your way. May be the biggest outside London. We need more of that to raise awareness. There are people with accounts around here, but they are not active.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I still check in, but not really blogging. Im not really doing any social media anymore except for direct contact every now and then.... this covid pandemic has been strangely helpful in reducing my perceived need for interaction. Life is profoundly simple without all the drama and sensory input of people

Well I hope you are doing okay. Having been stuck at home for months I quite welcome a bit of interaction. You can dip in as much as you like.

Just for the record I changed name.I use the celticheartbeat account now.

I might post video game related content on this account and musical posts on the celticheartbeat account.

@danaidhbee will likely come back soon we plan to get new content from him soon,he lives in a different city from me and covid is putting a damper on everything right now.

Do you want that account to be listed under Scotland?

I saw this account got flagged. I don't know what that was about, but if it's a one-off then you don't necessarily have to give up. I've been hit by some big accounts too, but only because I called them out on abuse. If you do good stuff then others will support you.

Hi Steve! Been off for awhile, I'm back now :-)

Good to hear it. We need active people on here. Hope to have meetups again next year.

Good morning from me in Derbyshire! I hope you're all well. I've been busy writing new material and have released a lot of songs recently.
Thanks for compiling this list Steve!

Check out the new songs on Spotify, Amazon Music, Apple Music, YouTube, Tidal, Deezer, Napster etc.

Stay amazing people!
DC

https://linktr.ee/darrenclaxton

I never expected to see @pennsif's account inactive. I've been missing him and hope he's okay.

I'm on a break from regular blogging @steevc, mainly for health reasons. But I check back into hive every now and again, and it is great to see many people still active and carrying the torch 🙂

Seeing this post pop up on my discord notifications, and also seeing a new 'finish the story' post from one of my fav writing communities has inspired me to post later today.

All the best from up north 😉

That's cool. I have you on the list, so my script will pick up if you have been active. I will post a fresh list every month or so. I hope we can find some more Brits out there.

Looks like pennsif might be leaving hive:

image.png

hopefully I'm wrong and we see some more pennsif in the future. Thanks for updating the list!

That's a coincidence that he has done that since I checked his account this week. I'd love to see him come back.

Love that you broke it down into regions too. Nice!

@pennsif had done that anyway. It's useful if organising meetups, when you can. I have met quite a few of these people in person.

Hi @steevc,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Here!

Although hoping that 'Midlands' changes for me soon :)

That is cool that you are picking this up. Nice work. It is too bad that the numbers are down, but I guess that is kind of happening across the board right now.

It would be a bigger job for some countries. I hope to add to this list as it goes on.

I'm here!

Yup still here, chugging away in the North :)

Found another one https://peakd.com/@vraba

Cheers. Not sure where I draw the line and start a fresh post. I may do one each month.

How could you miss me ? lol

Might be moving back to Japan to be with my Family next year but London is my home

Oops. I had assumed you were already there. You make it up to a round 80!

I'm still alive and check hive every now and again!