Sort:  

The Rappeh party has got coverage in major Israeli media, most of it quite negative, but coverage nonetheless. The party leader was front page of a major newspaper (again negative).

I haven't yet seen media coverage of protest but there was certainly plenty of media there. I don't read Hebrew well so won't see it until it gets into the English language Israeli press.

I actually served as an Aussie soldier before immigrating to Israel and was too old to do military service here.

But this reminds me of a story a family member told me of his service in a tank on the Golan Heights in the Yom Kippur War. He was the driver of the tank and had just immigrated and had poor Hebrew. The commander gave the order reverse right and he reversed left. Seconds later an enemy shell hit right where the tank would have been if he'd correctly followed orders.
He only found out about this 30 years later at a reunion as the tank was hit later and the crew dispersed.